Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique accommodation within a bird rescue centre

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Covienient location if you have a car for access to Cambridge and Huntingdon. Very good value
Cons: The furnishing and decore is a little tired and dated.
Staying for family event and only accomadtion available locally,but lovely place arrived just before 5 so was able to check in at the entrance to the bird centre, and then have a key so we could come and go as we liked. An old fashioned American motel type of accomadtion is the best way I can describe it . The room was large, furniture basic but clean and comfortable , a bit old fashioned but functional. A basic kitchenette with microwave ,fridge and toaster ment we could have breakfast in the room before the cafe opened in the bird centre .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Great with free entry to birds of prey

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Near St Ives - lots of restaurants here but you need to book for the more popular ones in a weekend.
Really good value for a family room given that the accommodation price includes free entry to the raptor foundation with birds of prey, fish, meerkats and reptiles to see. All rooms include a mini kitchen (fridge with small freezer box, microwave, kitchen sink, worktop, kettle & toaster) which meant no need to trek out in the evening for a restaurant meal. Very quiet at night. Rooms comfortable and modern. Free WiFi (collect code from gift shop) but poor signal as it's out in the sticks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth England

Nice place to stay in peaceful location.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: We are quite happy with it just as it is.
Location: Close to St Ives and only a short drive to Cambridge but a quiet rural location.
We were very pleased with our accommodation at the Falcons Nest which was clean,spacious and well equipped. It is in a quiet rural location which is exactly what we wanted having become tired of bland and often noisy chain hotels. We travel to this area frequently and will definitely be booking this accommodation again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay while passing through

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay at this Hotel for one Night while passing through. Next town is 10 minutes away by car. Big room with kitchen. late check in via safebox.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Really don't bother

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I stayed at Falcons Nest for four days whilst working in the area, the kitchen had no tea towels or dish cloths, on returning back the next evening I discovered that no one had been to the room to make the bed, empty the bins, or replenish the tea/ coffee , I discovered that this was never done for my whole stay, as this is supposed to be 3 star establishment I would have expected this as a minimum, I will never be staying or recommending this place to anyone it was dire. Very disappointed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Peaceful, relaxing place .

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Staff were unobtrusive and respected our privacy.
Cons: Microwave containers to warm food up would have been very welcome. Also security lights when returning to room at night.
We were checked in by a pleasant gentleman at reception who also escorted us to our room. We stayed in room 5 (Merlin) which had some basic kitchen facilities ( sink, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster )and some kitchen drawers and cupboards that contained cutlery, tin opener, glasses, cups, plates and bowls and tea towel, ). Some complimentary tea bags/coffee, sugar and milk were also provided along with some washing up liquid. There was a small breakfast bar which had two stools. There was also a TV. There was a shower room which was spacious and shower gel and shampoo were provided by Falcon's Nest which was fortunate as we had forgotten to take some. As there were three sharing the room it was composed of a double bed and a sofa bed that had already been prepared. The bed linen was crisp, fresh and clean as were the towels that had been provided. The free wifi was easy to connect to and we had no difficulty with any signal strength in this room on any of our devices. Falcon's Nest is a peaceful place and very relaxing. Although we did not have the time to visit the bird sanctuary it was a delight to see the rabbits bobbing about in the early morning and evenings in the surrounding grounds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Very good value but a little strange!!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This is a Raptor Centre with 8 rooms and, unless you book in by 5pm your key is left in a coded box. Not a problem - except it wasn't too easy to find when you arrive in the dark. Directions (maybe emailed to make it easier for everyone) would have helped. Room itself was great (though not sure the kitchen area had been checked.) We hadn't expected a kitchen area but this was presumably the deluxe category - all they had left. We were not sure about breakfast arrangements and no staff were around in the morning. Room wasn't serviced on Saturday (wasn't sure if this was usual) and we left on Sunday having handed a key over - first time we saw anyone! Strange experience but good value. We have a daughter in St Ives who doesn't have space for all of us, so if the local places don't have room, we may consider it. Thanks
4 out of 5
by Sergio from Torino

Un posto molto particolare

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Posto incredibile, sembra di dormire in uno zoo, con pro e contro. Camera spaziosa con angolo cottura e bagno molto grande. Affaccio su cortile interno del Raptor Foundation con vista su gabbia di pappagalli e di suricati!!! Visita alla struttura inclusa nel pernottamento (non perdete la dimostrazione di volo di gufi e falchi!!!). A 30 minuti di auto da Cambridge e da Ely (bel paesino, eccellente cattedrale).
4 out of 5
by Aurelien

TB avec des enfants

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nous avions une chambre familiale pour 4 soit 1 lit 2 places et un canapé lit. Celle-ci était spacieuse, ainsi que la sdb. La chambre était équipée d'un coin cuisine (micro-onde, frigo, vaisselle) bien pratique. La literie était médiocre, notamment celle du canapé-lit, particulièrement inconfortable ! La sdb était propre. Les chambres sont attenantes au refuge pour rapace, dont la visite a fait le bonheur des petits et des grands le lendemain matin. Attention : Arrivés après 17h, la réception, liée au refuge, est fermée. Il faut alors appeler au numéro indiqué et converser en anglais pour obtenir le code de la boîte qui contient la clé de la chambre... Bon à savoir pour qui ne se débrouille pas en anglais : soyez à l'heure ! Séjour d'une nuit très positif dans l'ensemble, notamment grâce au cadre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels