Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gower coast

Business trip

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Cons: Whole experience
Location: N/A
Rather tired old inn , needs updating badly. Staff pleasant , but service slow . Rooms extremely tired also .
4 out of 5
by Robert from Woodbridge

Really Nice Hotel in Huntingdon

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Friendliest staff we've found anywhere! Especially want to mention Nina and Paula. We were made to feel at home. Great location in the heart of the city and near the bus terminal and railway.
5 out of 5
by Sean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nick

Enjoyable stay.

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Good for overnight stay,food good could not fault,night porter top man.
4 out of 5
by Iain

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portugal

An old favourite in Huntingdon

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: An old friend from past visits.
Cons: Remove the more modern pictures from the dining room.
Location: Huntingdon is the birthplace of Oliver Cromwell. Home to both the Earl Of Sandwich (Hinchingbrooke house) and Samuel Pepys (Brampton).
The George is an old coaching inn, renowned for the annual "Shakespeare at the George" event held in July. It is an hotel full of character and history. Located in Huntingdon, the birthplace of Oliver Cromwell. The George hotel represents good value for money and deserves a visit. Food is basic but good and the rooms may appear a bit creaky (the floorboards are very old) with plenty of character.
4 out of 5
by Dennis from Fakenham Norfolk

A good value hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
good value in the restaurant, the floor in the bedroom was a bit uneven but we managed o k.Bex waited on us and was really good and very chatty which we liked
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, very nice comfortable room
Great hotel with very nice rooms and a very homely feel. The staff were very nice and the person in the morning was very nice rushing around trying to give me some breakfast even though I was leaving before 8am when breakfast is served.
4 out of 5
by Roger from Lichfield

George helps to put Oliver's town on the map.

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Very good. Nice, comfortable hotel. No plug in the wash hand basin though. So not easy to shave in the morning ! Apart from that really enjoyable. Ideally situated in the centre of Huntingdon within easy walking distance of the railway station. Would gladly go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price but not good value

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
All staff were polite and helpful as far as their policy would allow. Food was adequate but the chef can not cook stake. The decoration is tired and some fittings in the room were broken. The stairs to the top floor, where most rooms are, were steep with narrow treads; I slipped on the way down. OK for just a one night stay although this place is best described as a pub with rooms.