Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PS

Quiet hotel far from the City

Posted May 13, 2017
Hotel does not provide lift access and staff were not so approachable. They seemed to be preoccupied with their own work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet Hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Quiet location
Cons: Better kettle, varied menu at the restaurant for lunch.
Location: Oxford University is 3 miles from the hotel.
The hotel is some 4 miles away from the Oxford Main Line Station. No restaurants or shops nearby, so I could not buy milk for my tea. The breakfast was good, but the lunch was not good and expensive. The reception staff were helpful. The room was clean. The hotel located in a quiet area which is essential for me as I do not like traffic noise.
4 out of 5
by Neil

Listening to customers

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Having had a disappointing stay at a Holiday Inn in Watford about a year ago I had fairly low expectations for my stay. I was however, very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was nice with good facilities and helpful friendly staff. Most of the issues I had last time had been addressed! Great to have Starbucks coffee available and late breakfast! Holiday Inn have been listening to their customers and it's made a difference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My room was upgraded to a quiet area

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Can accommodate all types of visitors
Cons: Open breakfast early on Saturday for those going off to work
The very helpful receptionist upgraded my room when saw that I was tired and away on business. This meant I got a full night's sleep away from the numerous families who were enjoying half term together. Much appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Ruth

Friendly place to stay

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely friendly staff, fast service, great breakfast, but a cold room, and we needed an additional heater as the air con did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Good hotel for affordable family stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We wanted an affordable stay in the outskirts of Cambridge with our teenage son, rooms for 3 are difficult to find! It is a little tired in places but comfortable, quiet, easy to park and wonderful pancake machine for breakfast!
2 out of 5
by Bruce

Not best experience

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Well not overall a real good experience. Internet was Very weak, could not even pull up my email most nights. Bed was very uncomfortable, Food in bar was terrible, and a lot of noises at night made for unpleasant overall experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, North Yorkshire

Convenient location from M11/A14 and Cambridge

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly accommodating staff. Lots of room and space in the reception area for us to gather as a family (there was 20 of us on the Sunday morning!)
Cons: General decor - the hotel looks very tired in some places and there is even a feint smell in the bedroom corridor which reminded us of an old mop!
Location: We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Cambridge (not the Holiday Inn Express) and this was close enough to Cambridge that we could easily visit.
This was a family gathering with 5 Double Rooms booked to accommodate my grown up children and grandchildren for a family gathering. The hotel was very convenient for access and, in general, the facilities were very good. The Junction Restaurant offered a reasonable range of options and we thought the standard of the food was good. The staff were very helpful and tolerant of the very young children we had who were doing what kids do - making a noise!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Deficient Toilet Cleanliness

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: There was no noise so we could rest all night.
Cons: Definetly the cleaning in all the toilets.
Location: Was ok.
Unfortunately was a horrible experience. Well about of staff was ok, however in the room I found things that I didn´t like it. The kettle took a lot of time to heat the wáter. The TV turned on and turned off by itself several times. But the worse was the toilet. There was a black ring of dirt around the tap of the washbasin and the tap in the tub had the black ring of dirt too with a lot of lime. And I know that dirt is not a single day. Unfortunately the bathrooms at the reception were just very dirty too.
5 out of 5
by Assuntina

Hotel , high standard at all levels

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was really great, wonderful staff at the Holiday Inn . Spa was amazing.