Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beware of the noise for basement rooms

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Clean bedroom
Cons: Sound insulation between the basement floor and above, there should at least be rugs put down on the kitchen floor which was directly above our room.
The hotel is in a good position, close to the park and station. Upon booking, I was aware of the shared bathroom condition but when we arrived the shared bathroom on our basement level was out of order. This meant double up of people needing the facilities and at peak times in the morning this did prove challenging with other disgruntled guests. Beware of being booked into the basement rooms as there is severe sound leak from the above floorboards, unfortunately it sounded like a heard of elephants walking above our bed. The interior design looks deceptively comfortable, however the walls are very very thin and does not make it value for money, we did not have a restful stay. I did write to the manager who was dismissive about this. So hence, I really must warn you about the risk of unsettled sleep if you're in the basement rooms in particular. Our room was also directly under the kitchen with wooden floors. The general cleanliness and staff on site are good, it's very unfortunate that we encountered a 'out of use' shared bathroom issue and noisy stay. Online, the 'boutique hotel' looks visually appealing and where it is situated is also a draw but it's not worth the money, especially for a basement room which would serve better to be a stock room. Not ready for guests, you really must be a heavy sleeper to endure it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Call in advance if arriving late

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Nice hotel, but the front door is locked at night. So if you do not call in advance when arriving late you can get locked out and it can be a bit difficult to reach someone to get in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Excellent location. Spacious room and washroom. Firm mattress. Veey good room sevice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, unique hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
The Regency is lovely actually, especially for a quick stay in Cambridge. It is less than a 15 minute walk to the train station and also about 15 minutes to the center of town. It is in a perfect location to explore. The house is unique and well done. Everything was super clean. I arrived before check in but was able to leave my bag there while I wandered around Cambridge. It is is a fine area and walking at night for me was not a problem. As others have said, this property is not good for those who can't do stairs or if you have lots of luggage. The stairwell is narrow and the rooms are efficient so there isn't much extra room. Also, you have to share a bathroom which is fine when you are just staying a short while. It was always clean while I was there, which impressed me since not everyone is always neat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warning call ahead if arriving late

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Lovely bed and breakfast. But if you arrive late without calling ahead you can find yourself locked out. There is a phone number you can call but I had to ring it several times to get someone. Other than that it was a nice place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A posh hostel. Perfect for a budget centre break

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Slightly confusing start as it is a self service arrangement but once I understood how the new idea works it suited me well. There are no full time staff on site, you have a code to get in and a room within a house style setup. This suited me as long as you know it works best as self service. Breakfast is availble at an extra cost next door. The building was only a week old so very modern and nicely done inside and the old exterior was left intact. Shared bathroom but it was only 2 to a bathroom so there was no wait. Overall I was very happy as I like my privacy and no fuss from eager staff. It is well situated with bars and restaurant on the same street or at the back of that street and there are 3 local shops close by. Parking is easy in a multistory car park 2 mins walk away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The single room is too small considering that $160 has been changed for one night.
3 out of 5
by Yani

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark from Boston

good value for money

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking for a cheap, no frills, clan comfortable room in the heart of Cambridge, with easy access to the main attractions and the train station. The regency Guest House fit the bill perfectly. The other guests were quiet and the shared bathrooms worked out well.