Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fading grandure

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location. We asked staff to turn off the background music in the lounge so that we could talk more easily - and they did ! It was great.
Cons: room heating control in our room - our friends in another part of the hotel had no similar problem.
We booked one of the larger rooms. The room was spacious and elegant. The weather was about normal for March, but the room was way too hot, and the hotel staff were not able to turn down the heating. For our second night we were able to open the windows and control the temperature that way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired, plumbing in bathroom not working

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Half marathon road closures besieged in hotel staff did not advice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Has been a v good hotel in its time

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast very good
Cons: Decor and furnishings
Location: Good location a short walk to the shops etc
Overall quite a good hotel but decor very tired furniture at least in my room looked like a throw back to 60s Great breakfast Smile transplant required from lady in the restaurant All other staff were in my view were fantastic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Small cold room noisy radiators single glazing good location but hotel used manly for events
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Good location for visiting Cambridge

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Welcoming and comfortable.
Location: Near centre of Cambridge. Museums, cafes, shops, market all very close.
Easy walk from the train station. We were welcomed at the hotel and our room was spacious and clean. Comfy bed, wide choice at buffet breakfast. Nice lounge area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location with parking out back but dated.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location, building, parking, staff, cleanliness, warm in winter.
Cons: Less useless furniture and a bigger bed.
Parking overnight was 15GBP and there are plenty of spaces. Room was dated but clean with really crisp sheets. Bed was tiny for a couple used to a Cal King. Water pressure was low but room was nice and warm and quiet for being facing a road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for the town centre.

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was OK, except that the hot tap in our bath didn't and wasn't fixed despite asking. We thought the car parking charge at £15 per day was expensive. Very well situated to walk into the centre of Cambridge
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby, noisy and dangerous

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Shabby, noisy party into the early hours and electrical socket shorting out in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Conveniently situated Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Convenience to the city centre
Cons: For a 3 star hotel it was fine.
Location: As noted the hotel is convenient to the colleges, the Fitzwilliam Museum and the city centre.
Entry to the car park was simply operated and booking in for our stay was carried out efficiently. We visited the Fitzwilliam museum which was about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Later we ate at a busy restaurant in town. We concluded our visit to Cambridge by making an early start the following morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont expect too much.

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
The fact that they need all customers to wait till 2:00 pm for check in is a bit too inflexible, I have stayed in a few 3 stars to 4 stars hotels during my visit in UK, all of them have rooms prepared and I am allowed to check in before the official check in time. However, Royal Cambridge Hotel has this rigorous rule of check in at 2:00 pm which is not wise thing to do. Also, the staff that greet me is not that friendly which makes the whole issue worse. Otherwise, room, toilet and wifi are ok.