Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Good location for visiting Cambridge

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Welcoming and comfortable.
Location: Near centre of Cambridge. Museums, cafes, shops, market all very close.
Easy walk from the train station. We were welcomed at the hotel and our room was spacious and clean. Comfy bed, wide choice at buffet breakfast. Nice lounge area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location with parking out back but dated.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location, building, parking, staff, cleanliness, warm in winter.
Cons: Less useless furniture and a bigger bed.
Parking overnight was 15GBP and there are plenty of spaces. Room was dated but clean with really crisp sheets. Bed was tiny for a couple used to a Cal King. Water pressure was low but room was nice and warm and quiet for being facing a road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Close to university

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Locality
Cons: we ate at the hotel and found the food to be average could improve the menu and make sure items advertised where available.
Location: Cambridge is a great city with plenty of local attractions to see and visit
the hotel was pleasant and the staff friendly however the restaurant left a lot to desire. the menu did not have much choice and they seemed to have run out of things I asked for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great Location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Refurbishment
We had a nice couple of nights at The Royal Cambridge Hotel when dropping our son off at University. Great location next to the city centre, easy to explore Cambrigde from this base. The hotel is a bit tired and old now, and could do with some maintenance. However, the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the bar staff. The food was excellent too both breakfast buffet and evening dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwood, MN. USA

Nice hotel in town centet

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Small but nice room close to town center. Decent price in an expensive town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Worest hotel ever in my life

Posted Sep 22, 2016
When i did check in, the receptionist told me the breakfast is including then they suddenly asked me to pay the breakfast charge.!. The receptionist refused to give me the invoice after that he said I should take the invoice from expedia website!. The hotel is old, dirty and terrible smell. Just imagine that, while i was sleeping at around 10 morning, i felt there is weird sound over the window, then i saw a man tries to clean the window and open it.!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Tire and Worn

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Great location, 15 minute walk to the train station
Cons: A top to bottom renovation would be in order.
Great location, but the Royal Cambridge is a tired and well worn hotel. If you do book a room make sure it's on the top floor. Any other room and you will hear the quest above you walking around. Very annoying, especially when it's three in the morning! Not really worth the price I'm afraid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great Location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Cons: Fixing the faucets in the bathroom shower, very sticky and hard to turn on and off.
Location: Punting!
The location was great, near the main colleges and river. The hotel was pretty traditional, english style which I liked because you don't see that a lot anymore. What I didn't like about this hotel was the bathrooms. The shower and bath faucets in our room were nearly impossible to operate, I think they are in need of some maintenance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Okish

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very basic and dated. Stains on the walls by the table and tatty door frames
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very posh cambridge hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Very posh, with a lot of character. Room was clean and comfy.