Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dim dark hallways and Islamic breakfast. Yuk!!!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Cambridge
Dismal but cheap. Ya get what ya pay for!!! It's OK for workers but would not stay if on a break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Nice hotel in a nice location.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The free internet, free parking. The fact you could come and go anytime without the front door being locked, unlike in other hotels.
Cons: That there was no one in at check in. I pressed the buzzer a few times, it didn't seem to do anything. I ended up phoning, someone said they'll be there in about 10 minutes, but didn't arrive for nearly 30 minutes.
Location: The hotel is off a main road, but set quite back so there wasn't much traffic noise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Family get together

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Looked nice on the picture
Cons: Everything
Location: Shelfords great
More youth/student digs than guest house. If bedding hadn't been clean and the tiny bathroom not clean then would have walked out. On plus side bed linen was clean and bed comfy. No bedside lamps or even a mirror, dried hair looking in door handle. Breakfast was an education!! Olives, cream cheese, cold baked beans no staff serve yourself!!!! Litter strewn grounds, beer bottles etc Not to be recommended
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from World traveller

Dirty

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Could be a charming hotel but SO dirty. Hairs from previous lodgers all over furniture, towels stained, bathroom bath mat has never seen the washing machine. It smelt bad. Eating area dirty. Spills not cleaned up. Run down and dirty.... nothing a lot of cleaning couldn't take care of to make it a charming hotel but owners obviously not interested in trying.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money with friendly staff

Posted Oct 6, 2016
This hotel is really well located to commute into Cambridge, and whilst it was a little bit old fashioned, it proved to be excellent value for money. The hotel owner was very accommodating and friendly and went out of his way to make me feel welcome. The room itself was large with a comfortable bed and all the standard facilities you would require. This hotel is certainly not glamorous but it is good value for money and a perfectly pleasant place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

For 2* it is OK

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Bed was comfy; staff were very pleasant and helpful
Cons: Bathrooms need some TLC but they were not unclean just shabby and looked unloved.
Location: Very close to Addenbrookes so if you need a B&B for any reason it is worth considering. Very close to Cambrdige and the sights there.
For a 2* B&B so close to Addenbrookes and at a very reasonable price it was OK. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a small choice but fresh and plentiful - bread for toast you make yourself, scones, 5 types of cereal, a tea/coffee (black, latte etc) machine which was quite decent (I drink black coffee), yoghurt, baked beans. There is a fridge to bring your own food and microwaves to heat things up so perfect if you need to eat cheaply in the evenings. Bathrooms were shared; shower was fine. All a little dated and silly things like the wallpaper was not matched when it was done give it an unloved feel but it was clean, towel was fluffy, bed was one of the most comfy I have slept in. TV was good for what I needed. The only disappointment was the WiFi was very patchy and in the end I stopped using it and used my 4G but it was not a big issue. Parking was OK - a bit tight but everyone was very accommodating. Overall, if you need a cheap and relatively quiet OK B&B near Addenbrookes then it is OK for a couple of nights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Avoid at all costs!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We arrived about 5pm and the front of the house looked lovely. But.... there was noone there to check us in, just some keys and a list of expected guests in a cardboard box on a table inside the side door. We had to move an abandoned hoover to get to our room door. There was noone about. The toilet appeared to be unflushed, there was a puddle of dirty water under the wash basin and the mat on the toilet floor was filthy. There were a lot of dead and squashed woodlice on the bedroom floor. We rang the owner and told him of our findings and said we would not be staying but didn't expect to be charged. He didn't sound at all surprised but offered no apology at all. He did confirm he would not charge us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Christine from South Derbyshire

Give it the body swerve

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was quite clearly the remnants of a care home. The room was small but would have been sufficient for a one night stay but there were no tea and coffee in the room. You were expected to go to the breakfast room to help yourself. The room wasn`t very clean (apart from the bedding which was spotless) The bed was uncomfortable with only one flat pillow each. The bathroom was even worse and in very poor state, the toilet seat was hanging off with cobwebs and more in the shower. Breakfast was absolutely disgusting. The water machine had mould on the drip tray. Cupboards and trollies were dirty. In general quite revolting!!!!!
1 out of 5
by Heather from London

A HEALTH AND SAFETY HAZARD

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Booked online. Arrived 15:30. No-one at reception desk and left 2 messages asking for contact. During this time we looked around the hotel. It was dirty, kitchen was a Health and Safety hazard (see pics), mould growing in picture frames. THE EMPLOYERS LIABILITY INSURED ON DISPLAY EXPIRED IN JULY 2016! After 25 mins a receptionist arrived. He agreed to cancel our booking but appeared to take no responsibility for the condition of the hotel.