Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

1.6 out of 5
6% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Centre of city but the dodgy part.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I expected frugal room. But it could have been better. No bedside lamps. Kettle has to live on the floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

It's a mistake of the universe, avoid at all costs

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Do not sell rooms at nights where you have all night parties. Or change title of B&B to "B&B available after 4am only"
Location: Search for a hotel nearby and avoid this castle at all costs
If you are ok to sleep in the middle of the dance-club you might be ok with the B&B, otherwise avoid this place at all costs, and do not agree to stay there even if they pay to you. This B&B fails at both B's: it was absolutely impossible to sleep there due to music playing ALL NIGHT in the dance club below you, so that your bed will jump at each sound. So Failure on Bed. And in regards to Breakfast - that is the second failure - there was just no breakfast available as there was nobody in the hotel to serve you in the morning. There have to be some commission in UK that checks allowed level of noise at B&Bs and there is no chance that these guys will ever pass it, it was just unhuman and illegal to them to sell rooms there. I've made a mistake of booking with reading - but other people, please read comments and avoid this place at all costs!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dreadful hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything
Terrible, worst hotel ever. Staff are dismissive and there is a nightclub directly beneath the room so there is no sleeping to be had before 4am
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

A cheap city centre stay.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Bedding and room were clean.
Cons: Shared bathroom facilities.
The Castle is a city centre pub that stays open until 3am on a Friday night, so don't be surprised by the late night noise. Showers available were not really very usable due to broken parts.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Good Location Terrible Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing - we were hoping being closer to our daughter's house it may be one we would regularly use but I think we will go back to the Travelodge.
Cons: The staff could be more obliging when we pointed out things to them and not say they would e-mail the manageress, who then did nothing!
Location: Good location near to shops, river and daughter's dance college.
Hotel is in a good location and when we arrived the room was clean. That is the best comment we can make! On Saturday and Sunday nights there is a night club below the rooms which goes on until 3am when you may get some sleep and you will be woken up by the recycling which arrives at 6.30am. The staff were non English and weren't interested when I pointed out that in the room it says that full english or continental breakfast was included in the price of the room, however they wanted to charge an extra £4 per person for English breakfast. After discussion they waived the fee. The TV in both rooms will never work without a freeview box and a good ariel connection. The room furniture came from the local junk shop (serviceable). New shower heads were fitted but they will never fit the existing holder which has been broken by people trying in both of the shared bathrooms. The door handle was held on by one screw which was never going to hold and came off. The bannister rail at the top is not attached to the wall posing a real risk to the infirm. This is the worst bed and breakfast place we have ever stayed. If you are looking for very cheap one night accommodation and even youth hostels are not available you may strike lucky! If you want a pint go elsewhere as the beer is very expensive and a very limited choice.
1 out of 5
by John from Suffolk

Dreadful hotel, please avoid!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: 150 characters are nowhere near enough!
Location: Cambridge Corn Exchange, but stay somewhere else!
Awful room, TV didn't work, but the manager "is aware and will fix it one day"! Shared bathroom which was cold and draughty. Bedroom overlooked the main street and because of the poor insulation and lack of double glazing I didn't sleep until the noise outside had subsided, at about 3AM. Then at 4AM I was awoken by an HGV making a delivery next door! To add insult to injury I was charge £78 for this experience. I feel like I've been mugged!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast is okay but no shower

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and Wi-fi.
We could not get a shower two consecutive days. The hotel person is not friendly at all. The elevator is not equipped that is very tough fortravellors.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Diabolical

Posted Mar 5, 2014
The booking confirmation said I needed to inform the hotel if I was going to check in after 11pm. As it happens, I did need to check in after 11pm so I rang them. No answer. Rang again. No answer. I rang about 20 times throughout the day without an answer. I looked for a website. There isn't one. I looked for an e-mail address. No email address. I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to check in at all if I didn't get there before 11pm so I was forced to leave a dinner in London earlier than I had planned. When I got there, I rang the number again. Nothing rang. I asked the barman/receptionist if I had the right number. Yes, he said, but the phone doesn't work. In the room is a TV and freeview box which only has radio stations on it. The windows are ancient and single-glazed, allowing both the cold and the drunken shouting of students to fill the room effortlessly. A few superficial touches, such as cushions on the bed, could not disguise the fact that it was poorly maintained, with broken plug sockets and broken door handles. After a truly terrible night's sleep I got up to shower. Despite the price, there is no en suite toilet or shower. Nor was there any hot water on that cold March morning. I don't mean it was tepid. It was ice cold. And it came out of a broken shower head. This B & B thinks that putting a few tasteful paintings on the walls turns a doss house into a boutique hotel. Avoid.
1 out of 5
by jo from HK

No hot water for shower in the cold winter

Posted Feb 23, 2014
The TV inside room was out of order. The staff said it would resume one week later. The shower room has no light, flooding in shower room. The most terrible was no hot water for shower in the cold winter. I stayed two nights with no shower for my family. I made complaint to the staff but they could not help.
1 out of 5
by Song from s

The hotel is not far from one of the college .

Posted Oct 12, 2013
I booked the hotel called "the Castle"and the address is 37 st Andrew street, Cambridge , Englang , CB2 3AR, which is for 05/10/13check in and check out on 06/10/13. But at 5pm I was informed by the Castle staff to go to 140 Tenision road check in . I thought I got the address of the Castle wrong . I went 140 Tenision road . The build has got no name and it is not "the Castle" . Me and my family went to room as instructed on the phone by The Castle staff . The room was dirty , the beding was used by somebody else . We can still found lots of hair on the bed . We were worried and scared ... Did not no what happened ? Why we were placed in a strang place , which is not the hotel we booked . So I rang "the expedia " to find out what is going on . But the gentleman called Amid trying to contact with the Castle and told me there is no answer and advise us to stay where we are . We had a terrible stay in the hotel . There suppose cooked breakfast , but Monday there to cook breakfast for us . We went to the kitchen in the morning and noted the juice in the fridge is moulded , no opening date on the Carton . There is nobody there we could ask . So left the key in the room and went out of the terrible hotel.