Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

1.9 out of 5
6% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated boarding house above a bar.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Good location for Cambridge University.
B&B without the breakfast. The barman checked us in. No one to check us out until bar opened at 11am so we had to find cleaning lady to store our luggage. Bare essentials: bed (bad mattress), towel, shared bath (updated, clean). We were on top floor (3) with only one way out; this was very unsettling. No a/c, hot night, had to keep only window open which is above entrance to the bar so very noisy until 1 am then the delivery truck noise started about 6 am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never again

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
grotty room with constant noise all night. So noisy we got up at 0430hrs and left
1 out of 5
by Renato Alvaro from sao paulo

Do not recommend!

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Check in at 4PM, dirty room. Noise!!!! Never more this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Centre of city but the dodgy part.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I expected frugal room. But it could have been better. No bedside lamps. Kettle has to live on the floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Molli from Lowestoft

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Room was very cold, free wifi wasn't very good at all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Live like an impoverished student for £75 a night!

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Unbelievably grim room. Up several flights of stairs, through coded security doors, to a room with peeling wallpaper, cobwebs, cracks, a massive tv (?) and rotten carpet. There was a pink plastic washing up bowl in the room. It may have been a commode because the nearest bathroom was several flights down. That bathroom was like something from a halls of residence: shabby bath, Lino, and a shower curtain turned brown with age and rusty water. Oh, and the place is billed as B&B but breakfast has to be purchased at the stinky weatherspoons next door. Make sure you get an early night (if you can; the pub downstairs is open until 3am) because security will hound you down if they think you don't belong there.
1 out of 5
by Robert from London

Over priced

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Nowhere near worth the price. They call it B&B but don't provide breakfast. Worth about £50.
1 out of 5
by Peter from Whitchurch

Charged twice for the room, no reimbursement

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
When I turned up at the hotel, the manager insisted I had not paid, and that when I had given hotels.com my credit card details, this was just for confirmation. I didn't have time to argue ( was running late for appointment), so I had to take the manager's word and pay. It turned out on my next credit card statement that I HAD paid when booking by telephone with hotels.com. Customer services promised to "look into this" 2 months but so far I have received no reimbursement. So it turns out I paid £85 twice for a room for one night with not even toilet! Won't be staying there EVER again, or using hotels.com.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

It's a mistake of the universe, avoid at all costs

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Do not sell rooms at nights where you have all night parties. Or change title of B&B to "B&B available after 4am only"
Location: Search for a hotel nearby and avoid this castle at all costs
If you are ok to sleep in the middle of the dance-club you might be ok with the B&B, otherwise avoid this place at all costs, and do not agree to stay there even if they pay to you. This B&B fails at both B's: it was absolutely impossible to sleep there due to music playing ALL NIGHT in the dance club below you, so that your bed will jump at each sound. So Failure on Bed. And in regards to Breakfast - that is the second failure - there was just no breakfast available as there was nobody in the hotel to serve you in the morning. There have to be some commission in UK that checks allowed level of noise at B&Bs and there is no chance that these guys will ever pass it, it was just unhuman and illegal to them to sell rooms there. I've made a mistake of booking with reading - but other people, please read comments and avoid this place at all costs!