Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.9 out of 5
6% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Centre of city but the dodgy part.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I expected frugal room. But it could have been better. No bedside lamps. Kettle has to live on the floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst housing experience I have ever had.

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: There obviously were no staff at the place during the night, otherwise this wouldn't had gone on for so long, so that would be a place to start.
The place in itself was as one would expect. I have two nice things to say about The Castle: The hosts were friendly and helpful upon arrival (although I didn't know I should just go right into the bar), and the (shared) toilet and shower was newly fitted, which was nice. The wifi was next to useless (the connection was flaky at best). But I unfortunately also had a very bad experience. During my first night some of the other guests were very drunk and loud, coming up from the bar (that was presumably closed). They spent the good part of an hour playing loud music in their rooms and running around in the hall way, knocking on doors (including mine), shouting, and laughing in a uncomfortably hostile and aggressive way. One or more of them later came back home obliviously drunk, and having lost his key starting battering on what he thought was his friend's door (it wasn't!) shouting at the top of his lungs to let him in. Somehow, he finally went to sleep, and so did I. Of course I could have asked them to keep it down, but they were so drunk and aggressive, that I didn't want to get into any confrontation. I came to Cambridge to work. It shouldn't be possible to have people behave like that in a place where other people also want to get some rest. I am aware that this was a B&B on top of a bar, but still... I expect to be able to sleep at night, not being kept awake (in terror) by extremely loud and drunk guests. I moved out the following day (no refund).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Molli from Lowestoft

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Room was very cold, free wifi wasn't very good at all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Live like an impoverished student for £75 a night!

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Unbelievably grim room. Up several flights of stairs, through coded security doors, to a room with peeling wallpaper, cobwebs, cracks, a massive tv (?) and rotten carpet. There was a pink plastic washing up bowl in the room. It may have been a commode because the nearest bathroom was several flights down. That bathroom was like something from a halls of residence: shabby bath, Lino, and a shower curtain turned brown with age and rusty water. Oh, and the place is billed as B&B but breakfast has to be purchased at the stinky weatherspoons next door. Make sure you get an early night (if you can; the pub downstairs is open until 3am) because security will hound you down if they think you don't belong there.
1 out of 5
by Emil from Stockholm

En hemsk vistelse!

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Detta "hotell" var hemskt! Direkt ovanpå en nattklubb som spelade till klockan 03:00 på natten med bargäster som stod direkt utanför fönstret och rökte, oj jag menade skrek. Varje natt var det likadant, slagsmål och höga skrik då polisen fick tillkallas. Men man kan ju alltid säga till i receptionen? Nejnejnej, för det fanns ju ingen reception, det var ju baren och de tog mer än gärna din beställning på öl. Det delade badrummet skulle ligga på entt hyfsat privat ställe men de gjorde den verkligen inte. Det var en trasig dörr emellan alla nattklubbsgäster, vi och badrummet. Detta resulterade i att nattklubbsgästerna stod utanför vårat hotellrum och skrek för att gå på toaletten. Detta var ytterst obekvämt och det mest fruktansvärda hotell som jag någonsin har besökt / hört talas om och jag önskar att ingen annan någonsin får uppleva detta.
1 out of 5
by Robert from London

Over priced

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Nowhere near worth the price. They call it B&B but don't provide breakfast. Worth about £50.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from taiwan

很可怕的旅館

Posted Jul 22, 2015
離劍橋遊康河很近呦! 剛入住要準備好確定是否有付費、我剛找到旅店很累、人員跟我說我必需付現金來不及思考、已經傻傻給現金、還好晚上11:00休息時才確定已用信用卡付款、趕緊下樓要錢。這間沒有電梯、樓下的城市酒吧人員會幫我們扛重行李、彎彎繞繞才到像迷宮般的房間、內部乾淨有鄉村風味、第一次來有點害怕感覺好像恐怖旅店、還好有看到其他外國家庭旅客才稍安心、晚上很好睡、滿驚恐、有趣的ㄧ晚。
4 out of 5
by Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Peter from Whitchurch

Charged twice for the room, no reimbursement

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
When I turned up at the hotel, the manager insisted I had not paid, and that when I had given hotels.com my credit card details, this was just for confirmation. I didn't have time to argue ( was running late for appointment), so I had to take the manager's word and pay. It turned out on my next credit card statement that I HAD paid when booking by telephone with hotels.com. Customer services promised to "look into this" 2 months but so far I have received no reimbursement. So it turns out I paid £85 twice for a room for one night with not even toilet! Won't be staying there EVER again, or using hotels.com.