Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

This might be the friendliest pub in England.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Nice country pub - the kind exist more often in movies than reality - with comfortable rooms, a decent restaurant (and a GREAT breakfast), plus super friendly staff. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Lovely hotel with really great staff

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Had a lovely weekend at the Exeter Arms. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a really enjoyable one
5 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Simon from Blackburn

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very good pub/hotel. food really nice , staff excellent . only issue I could say was the tv had BBC1 due to bad signal . otherwise ace
4 out of 5
by Peter from Headley Bordon

In need of a good kip !

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
I was visiting my daughter and her family at Stretton. I love my noisy grandsons, but needed a good nights sleep too. I got that and slept like a log on all three nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Stay at the Exeter arms

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: The bar and food
Cons: The room
Great pub for food and drink, but would not stay again, at least NOT at £100/room. It was NOT a £100/night room, a dividing door into the adjacent room made it feel like someone was sharing the room with you - every snore and snuffle was heard, and walking out of the room down what is basically a fire escape to get to the bar is not on. At least not for £100. Overall therefore....disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather pricey considering what it is

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Room was OK though it was rather noisy as it was directly above the kitchen and they seemed to have things running all night. Room wasn't much bigger than the large comfy bed but room seemed clean enough. Shower was impressively powerful, which was an expected bonus. Not many staff evident on arrival. We had a frustratingly long wait at the bar just to check in as, unfortunately, as we arrived someone saw us with our cases and nipped up to the bar ahead of us to order (what seemed like) a pint for everyone in the entire pub. The barman seemed to be alone, bar some kitchen staff I could hear next door, and he did not try to speak to us to check if we were checking in or waiting to be served at the bar until after he'd completed the gent's ten minutes or so after we got to the bar. Breakfast room is small but the food was quick and tasty. The room rate was quite high for the size and quality of the accommodation. It was a business trip so I wasn't footing the bill. If I was spending that amount myself in the Stamford area I'd much rather pay to stay at the George which is a wonderful hotel and was a similar price for a much lovelier room exactly a year ago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Close to A47 so some road noise but did not effect my sleep
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pretty and friendly Inn

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
This very pretty Inn is situated on the edge of a lovely village with honey coloured stone houses. We received a very friendly welcome and our bedroom (Room 6) was large and comfortable, beautifully decorated and with its own outside entrance up a flight of steps. The bar areas and dining rooms are nicely decorated and cosy and the service excellent. We were a bit disappointed with dinner however, which was 'not memorable' and rather expensive. Breakfast on the first morning was excellent, with a large choice and nicely cooked but on the second morning the Full English was missing several elements and the service a bit slow and erratic. Also, be aware that the Inn does not serve dinner on Sunday night and the bar also closes early, so you need either to have lunch there or find somewhere else to eat in the evening. This was not mentioned when we booked. Having said all this, we really enjoyed our stay, would certainly come here again.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Danbury, Essex

Exeter Arms near Stamford

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great country hotel with wonderful food and service