Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Hotel set in a lovely village,

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Situation, the 'feel ' of the place.
Cons: I didn't stay long enough to comment
Location: Great location,, wish I could have explored more...
Wish I had had more time to enjoy my stay, from what I saw I would like to visit again. Room was great though I did have a noisy spring in the mattress.. Great to have the choice of a bath & a shower. One 'downside' for me was the outside staircase, Had I have been staying longer I may have asked if it was possible to change rooms.. I should say my ankles were the problem not the staircase.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield

Good and bad points

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Good old fashioned hotel, and wonderful staff. It's clean and plenty of functionality, such as free wifi, hairdryer, iron and trouser press
Cons: change the beds, get double glazing and air con
Location: Sleepy village with its usual pub. not far from Peterborough and access to the A1.
Booked here on recommendation for a 4 day business trip. Well located for me in a sleepy village, for which I expected peace and quiet. Was clean and tidy with friendly, polite and professional staff. The food was excellent too. But the good points were sadly let down in other areas. The beds in my twin-bed room were wooden slatted and the slightest movement created creaking that was loud enough to wake the dead, let alone the neighbours. No air-con and single glazed windows, which I couldn't open because the A1 runs along behind the hotel. The village is quiet but the rooms are at the back and the A1 traffic is continuous throughout the night. The food was really good, but the wine was tainted because the glass hadn't been rinsed. All I could smell was the dishwasher cleaner. And whilst the menu stated just 4 items for the main course, with a standard 19,95 for 2 courses, when I got the bill, I found they added 5.95 for having the steak, which was one of the four. If you want a really good steak for much less, there are several places better in the area. Overall, I've stayed in worse, much worse, and I've stayed in many hotels around the UK. This may be OK for one night, but I wouldn't want to do a whole week again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a nice hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The size of the rooms was good and the food was really good and the staff were really helpful
Cons: the bathrooms need a refurb and the beds need fixing so that they don't creak very time you move and wake you up
Location: the location was great, really near to Stamford, the Nene valley railway, Peterborough, Oakham and rutland and Burleigh house.
The haycock is a nice hotel in a great location. The staff are really friendly and the food is very good. There is plenty of parking space. Its a nice hotel and is good value for money. Its not an amazing hotel as the courtyard and garden could be better laid out, the bathrooms really need a refurb and the beds are really creaky although they are comfortable
2 out of 5
by Lesley

Was expecting much better

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointed. Hotel needs a refurb.Room very dated. Dusty and cobwebs. Sofas in hotel lounge worn on arms showing filling. It's a shame as has potential to be beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A rather disappointing stay.

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely looking hotel but the room was outside reached by a stone stair case very hard to climb for someone with walking difficulties and also slippery. The room was very stuffy and windows so high that they were hard to open. The shower leaked. Apart from this the room looked beautiful and the beds were comfortable but duvet much too hot.
4 out of 5
by asha from Leicester

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
my stay was lovely. The only downside to it was the boiler had broken down on my side of the hotel and reception failed to mention this until I rang up to enquire. They did offer me another room on the other side to take my shower, but it was a room that had just been vacated. other than that, a perfect place and idyllic location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Good quality hotel . not outstanding.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The location and old world charm. But it could do with some investment in upgrading facilities.No water in rooms.
Cons: The food in the restaurant was good, but the menu choices were very restricted. The restaurant lacks atmosphere and the breakfast room is dingy.
Location: Lovely village but not much there. Excellent for a short stay .
Nice hotel . I like the location which is surprisingly nice even though it is right next to the busy A1. Good staff.
4 out of 5
by Keith from Devizes

Haycock Review

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
lovely location, quiet area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful venue for our daughter's wedding

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location and grounds. Self-contained ballroom suite for the wedding with a private garden for the guests. Friendly caring staff
Cons: Rooms look a little tired, could do with some renovation
Location: Set in a lovely village in open countryside, but adjacent to the A1 for easy access
We stayed here for two nights for our daughter's wedding. The arrangements all went smoothly and the staff could not have done more for us. From the time she chose it until the time we checked out everything was great and everyone was so friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Martin

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed with hot breakfast.