Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location and atmosphere.
Location: Pretty village location so nice retreat following meetings.
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Excellent food available in the evening and breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east midlands

Would stay again.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Booked overnight stay after visit to Newmarket races.Made very welcome by staff on arrival and we had a great meal in the evening. Great food and good beer,couldn't ask for more. Room was a little on the small side but perfectly clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely thatched country pub

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The food, the staff. the location and the atmosphere.
Cons: A larger TV would be nice, and more breakfast choices.
Location: Great location. Very close to Imperial War Museum at Duxford, Audley End House and Gardens, RSPB Fowlmere, easy access to Cambridge.
Lovely thatched country pub in quiet village. Good food and two other pubs a short walk away so plenty of beer to sample. Accommodation is in rooms in an annex at the back of the pub by the beer garden and car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from essex

Relaxing break in a great location.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and food.
Cons: Bathroom update and new beds.
Location: Cambridge and Saffron Walden easy to get to.
This is the second time we have stayed here and would book again. All the staff are lovely at this little gem and make you very welcome - thank you. Food is delicious, tasty breakfast and good selection on the evening menu. The accommodation is in a little need of updating, bathroom facilities and new beds needed but very clean. Highly recommend this lovely place and look forward to staying again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Lovely local Inn with a great atmosphere

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Comfortable clean beds, characteful as named after pilots from the airfield, with a very tasty breakfast and well cooked meals in the evening plus very pleasant staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester

My favourite place near Cambridge

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Overall an excellent pub/hotel made even better by the wonderfu staff
I travel fairly regularly to Duxford on Biusiness and the John Barleycorn is always the first place I try when booking accomodation. The atmosphere, food, staff and overall experience is excellent and I only hope that I can get in on my future visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A great change from the bland hotel chains.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent and made my stay very pleasant and enjoyable. Good off road car park. Very handy for Duxford IWM. Good selection of beers.
Cons: I could nit-pick about odd details but that would miss the point that as rooms available at a characterful pub this location has a lot to like.
Location: The Imperial War Museum at Duxford, about a mile away is terrific, if you like that sort of thing - I do. Well worth a visit. Good for kids too.
I enjoyed my stay. My room was in a glorified shed but had all the mod cons and was very comfortable. The room faced out onto the pub garden so was convenient for staggering about 10m to the bar and restaurant, but I would imagine that in the summer the room could be noisy from drinkers at the garden tables until 11pm plus. I stayed in March and had so had no noise problems. My room was good if a tiny bit tired, but that did not bother me in the least. I ate from the lower cost options on the menu, which was fine but nothing to write home about. The range of beers was good and I did not sample any of the wines available. Breakfast was also very good but not great. What really shone through was the helpful friendliness of all the staff. I would very happily stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Ok, but ......

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed with nice linen. Good food. Friendly staff
Cons: The bathroom needs some money spending on it to make it a fresher, cleaner place.
Location: Duxford Imperial War Museum is very close which was amazing.
This hotel has great potential. The rooms are in a row of buildings to the rear of the pub. It's all quite charming, touching on the theme of the nearby Air Museum running throughout. The bed was comfortable, breakfast was good as was our evening meal in the pub. But crikey, the bathroom was not a nice place to be. It's is long overdue for a refit. There is no excuse for great gobs of mouldy mastic in the shower, black around the taps, corroded fittings and a general feel of staleness from the 90's. There was a distinct drain smell in there too. I didn't want to touch anything. For this reason I wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

The best in Duxford

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, Service, atmosphere & Facilities
I often heave to stay in Duxford on Business. I stay in the John Barleycorn whenever I can get in (it's not always easy). The staff are friendly, helpful and really efficient. The food is really good and the pies are to die for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hitchin

Evening away.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Its location and overall facilities.
Cons: Water pressure in bath hot tap and cistern very low.
Location: Pretty village and nearby war museum
An excellent evening meal and breakfast. Pleasant staff and service. A lovely location.