Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wr

Great place to stay, eat and drink.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
I've stayed here a few times and it's always my first choice when working in Duxford. Wonderfully helpful & friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, NSW

Nice thatched pub in a village close to Cambridge

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The staff could not be more helpful. Great people.
Cons: There are only 4 rooms. They are "cosy", and lovely and warm while we were there (it was -5C outside and frosty). No a/c so maybe not for summer.
Location: Cambridge is not far (by car). Village is peaceful and quiet. There was a delightful Advent market while we were there. The river Cam is nearby.
Great staff, great atmosphere, good food (and ale) and cosy (and quiet) rooms out the back. What's not to like?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Good location for Duxford Musuem, park and drive for Cambridge close by. Friendly, welcoming staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Village pub lodges almost next door to Duxford

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Handy for Cambridge and Duxforf
Fantastically warm welcome by staff, nothing too much trouble throughout our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Great atmospheric foodie pub

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: IWM Duxford speaks for itself, always enjoy - otherwise was a family visit thing.
Just loved it. Accept other reviews comments about rooms a little "tired" etc but if you use a room just to kip and shower then the rest certainly makes up for it. Hospitality first class, nothing to much trouble - so rare these days. A credit to the Boss and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Duxford air museum

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Perfect proximity to Duxford air museum. Rooms are a bit tired but the cozy inn with great local atmosphere and yummy food is a perfect way to relax after a day on your feet. Staff really friendly and helpful. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corbridge UK

Last minute respite from motorway chaos

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Staff, Restaurant,Ambiance
Cons: Bed and TV
Location: Very close to Duxford Imperial War Museum, just off motorway M11
After driving south for 7 hours came to total gridlock near Huntingdon.Decided to find somewhere close to motorway for a meal and stopover.Found this attractive looking small hotel on Exp website. Very friendly welcome ,booked meal and checked into our bedroom.Clean and tidy ,tiny Tv and very small double bed. Had very pleasant meal in restaurant -2 excellent rib eye steaks at very good prices. Bed proved to be very small /narrow for 2 tall people . Lovely english breakfast in morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great experience

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The staff. The rustic charm. The location is green and peaceful.
Cons: Maybe the bathrooms could be updated.
The staff really makes you feel like family. They are polite, helpful, sweet and friendly. I travel for business so I'm usually not in "vacation mode" and generally not really relaxed during my trips but at the John Barleycorn, I felt like I could work and be on vacation at the same time. It was really nice. At one breakfast, after the manager had taken my order, I had to take an important phone call so I ran out of the room. When I came back, 30 minutes later, the manager smiled and says he'll bring my breakfast out now. He didn't want it to get cold while I was outside on my phone call so he had put it in a "hot cabinet". And two seconds later when he brought out my food, it was still hot and perfect. They care! And that's awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Great stay, highly recommended. Excellent food, drink and atmosphere in pub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very friendly . typical English pub with good food

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: food. accommodation. staff.
Cons: o
Ideal for I War Museum. car park . some history of WW11. A very enjoyable visit.