Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchestef

great hotel in perfect location for Cambridge

Posted May 14, 2017
This is a very modern hotel the staff were lovely and the rooms were excellent and spacious. Loved the cafetière coffee in the room. The roof top bar is great with views across Cambridge. Breakfast had everything you would need and have to say there about the best croissants Ive had. Cambridge was a lovely place and I would defiantly stay at the varsity again, thanks for a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

But for construction pleasant stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The view from the restaurant.
Cons: Staff training and empowerment to provide a solution beyond an apology when dealing with a complaint that goes to the core of what good hospitality is
This hotel advised that their elevator was down, and that was not a problem, we were fine with walking up and down the stairs. What was a big problem was that they were drilling new stair treads into the central staircase throughout the day making a very necessary (after flying in from Canada) nap on the two days we were there impossible. We realized that they could not change their construction schedule but when it was brought to their attention the lame apology was not adequate. The pricing of the room was indicative that hospitality of a high standard would be provided - this we were not given. At the minimum there should have been some effort to make amends by either discounting the room, buying at least a drink or dessert, even a bottle of wine - but nothing. Otherwise this property was fine, and the view from the restaurant is excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

In the centre of Cambridge,

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A working lift. Nearby, non-valet parking.
Location: The River Cam is a stone's throw away. I was busy during the day but wandering around in the evening was pleasant.
You need to budget an extra £20 per night for valet parking since there is none nearby. The lift was being replaced during my visit. I think that the website should have mentioned it. And a discount would have been a good idea. My room was on the fourth floor and I had to plan my trips up and down the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: View from 6th floor restaurant
Cons: Some staff attitudes would benefit from improvements
Location: Central - great for exploring Cambridge colleges.
Nice room, good views, excellent breakfast. Lift currently being upgraded. While staff will carry your luggage you have to climb up and down up to 5 floors every time you come in and out. Once new lift fitted it will be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Night in cambridge

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Lovely hotel, great location. Restaurant fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice hotel close to river

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We only had a one night stay but will return when we are next in Cambridge. Room small but very well appointed and very comfortable. River and Six restaurants both well worth a visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Posted Feb 28, 2017
This is our second stay but this time we found the Reception staff not friendly although the staff who park the cars were lovely. The lift was not working which we were made aware of but this was not a problem. The staff in the restaurant were professional and pleasant. The views from the restaurant are amazing. Our room was ok but we could hear the room next door and the room above. We stayed on the 4th floor. We didn't use the spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Lovely hotel with good facilities but the lift is out of order for a while and that may make a difference to many people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Perfect position just North of the city

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Very brief stay due to travel delays. but comfortable room. Helpful staff and lovely breakfast views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Location: Good location
Nice breakfast in roof top restaurant. Friendly staff.