Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of character and a wonderful location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Staying at the William Cecil was lovely. Staff are really helpful for the moment we walked in. The room had loads of character however it was a bit cold as the window did not shut fully. I know that with old buildings you expect it to be a bit unconventional so I didn't mind too much, however, I would say there is benefit from investing in better mattresses and a choice of pillows to improve the experience for the guest. Breakfast was lovely but again let down by lack of attention to the guest. I had to call staff over twice and was served tea without milk. It could have been that there were fewer staff that day so I don't want to base my whole rating on that one issue, just want to make the hotel aware...the quality of my food...amazing! Two perfect soft boiled eggs :) Thank you for a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very nice characterful hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Lots of little rooms to meet friends or have a drink. A nice garden to sit out in if the weather permits and peaceful.
Cons: Some of the bathrooms need improving. Also, possibly an earlier start to dinner in the evening.
The William Cecil is a really interesting hotel with a lot of history Ideally located for Stamford town centre, but also only about a mile away from Burghley House. The staff are friendly and accomodating and the food is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Great hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Quirky charm. Warmth. Feels like a treat.
Location: Easy walk into Stamford - and to Burghley House grounds - which suited us.
Great hotel. Warm and friendly staff. Cosy luxury. Quiet. Walking distance into Stamford. Loved it. Would happily stay at the William Cecil again - and will recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful, the food.
Location: Burghley house grounds can be accessed on foot from hotel. Rutland Water nearby in car and shopping in Stamford.
The hotel is a short walk into Stamford which saves on battling with the traffic. The hotel was decorated in a quirky style with old and modern features. The room was warm and cosy and clean. The food was delicious and to a high standard. We ate in one evening and really enjoyed the wine and food. Breakfast was also delicious with a cold buffet and then hot food to order. We also had afternoon tea one day which was £30 for two people. There was a lovely selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones. Just the right amount. Definitely would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Rose

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel with in walking distance to town centre

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Good clean hotel room,helpful staff, good food. Comfortable bed,
3 out of 5
by John

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
changed the bedding from feathers to non feathers but took a little time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff. On-site restaurant. Good breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Shower only 3/5 !!!Tv no signal part of the time..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Very pleasant. I was only there one night for an event. Room was very comfortable and staff were very nice.