Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnville, United States of America

Cross the bridge to North Belfast

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Closeness to family who live in Lincolnville, ease of finding, especially on a dark and stormy autumn night.
Cons: Frankly, nothing, really, honestly.
Location: Belfast Maine is a wonderful small town with a vibrant downtown. Belfast is an hour from Acadia National Park, Bangor Maine (airport).
My brother and sister-in-law were visiting from the Midwest. We don't have room for them at our house, and so found this place, only 10 miles from our home. It was affordable, clean, pleasant, had a great staff, a super view (although it did made me wish I could have afforded a cottage closer to the shore). The motel is right on the highway, Route 1, but has a pretty buffer of vegetation and so feels less like a roadside place of last resort. Room was small but very comfortable. No breakfast or options close by, but that just encouraged us to seek new adventures. The Hide-Away Diner in Northport has fantastic breakfasts and my visitors loved the corned beef hash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it there could have stayed longer!!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Went to antique shops.
Very cute!!! Enjoyed our stay!!! A+++++ 😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Conn.

Stayed many times over many years

Posted Oct 19, 2016
We come back because of the beautiful oceanfront and views. Cabins used to be really old and rundown, but now have been remodeled and are very clean. Do not understand why the floors were not leveled at the same time! The floor in Cabin 19 was so tilted that it was close to dangerous. Motel rooms are newer and OK, but pretty cramped. Still a good location near Belfast and a good jumping off spot to Acadia....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice place to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The proximity to Camden, Belfast, and Acadia National Park. The property, right on the ocean, is fantastic as well. I love the private decks too.
Location: Acadia National Park, Historic Belfast, and Camden.
I had a motel room, not a private cabin. It had a very slight musty aroma but it sounds worse than it was. This place was quite nice and very relaxing. The room was great and very comfortable. The property itself is fantastic. I definitely want to come back and stay again, preferably in one of the cabins. Downtown Belfast is close by. The drive to Acadia National Park is pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Nice place for a quick stop over. Rooms were great, nice view from the veranda.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

We love Colonial Gables! Maine's best kept secret!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Location was central to everything! Acadia National Park, Moosehead Lake, Antique shops, Leaf Peeping! And we fell in love with the town of BELFAST!!
Our Cottage was right on the water! The cabin and property were very well kept, and updated! The cabin was VERY CLEAN! And the staff were helpful and friendly! Stay at Colonial Gables! We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Cozy cottage overlooking Penobscot Bay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Easy access off US 1 - beautiful view of the bay on the Atlantic Ocean. Recommend the individual cabins with kitchenettes; tidy and comfortable.
Location: Beautiful Maine seacoast - near Belfast Harbor and Acadia National Park is about an hour-and-a-half away.
Anniversary trip included coastal Maine from Portland to Bar Harbor. The hotel is located near the charming village of Belfast, near Acadia National Park. A beautiful time of year to visit New England!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant place for an overnight

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Convienient
This was our first stay at Colonial Gables. We spent two nights and enjoyed our stay. It was convienient to Belfast and the surrounding area. The staff was very pleasent and helpful. We plan on returning next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean and Comfortable...wonderful people!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Staff went WAY above and beyond to help us. Room was very clean; comfortable bed; airy, New England style decor. Great view from balcony. Lovely!
Cons: Would be nice if hotel rooms had refrigerators. Bathroom designed for tall people. At 5'0" I'd need a step stool to use mirror or reach top shelf.
Location: The town of Belfast is delightful; much less touristy than Bar Harbor. Marshall Wharf Brewery; working shipyard; unique and quirky shops; great folks!
We booked 3 nights at Colonial Gables as part of our Boston-Maine vacation. This was the closest we could get to Acadia Nat'l Park without exceeding our budget; we also wanted someplace comfortable with good reviews. Colonial Gables fit the bill and then some. The bed was very comfortable, and the room had a pleasant, New England style decor. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms. When we return to Maine, we will definitely stay again but might try one of the cottages instead because they are closer to the water. There is a fire pit right on the beach; the owner sets it up each evening so guests can relax and enjoy. The grounds are charming; each cottage is unique and they all have an ocean view. On our first full day at Acadia, I had a terrible fall on a sidewalk. I broke my nose, lost one tooth, loosened another and cut up my face something awful. Received wonderful treatment at the local Bar Harbor hospital ER, but the next morning needed to find a local dentist to re-set and stabilize my teeth. We had no cell reception inside our room, so we went to the hotel office to ask to use their land line. The girl at the desk not only let us use their land line; she also made several calls to help us find a dentist who could see me immediately. When she was having no luck, the maintenance man actually drove to a nearby dentist office that he knew to see if they could take an emergency patient. With their help, I was able to see a great dentist early that afternoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Nice hotel, close to water and Belfast

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: clean and comfortable
Location: just a couple miles from downtown Belfast which is full of shops and restaurants
We had a great night in Belfast and at the Colonial Gables hotel, especially after our week in a "rustic cabin" on Mt. Desert Island. We'd love to come back and stay in one of their cottages for a few days