Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
All water view rooms, beach access, nice breakfast, usb ports, flat screen tv
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great views of Penobscot Bay. Close to attractions

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Stayed mid January. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Easy jump off point to Belfast and Searsport for shopping. Beautiful views of Bay and the sunrise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield, MA

Hotel in bad need of a renovation

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The view, thats it.
Cons: EVerything. Rooms are in massive need of some updating.
Location: Location is nice. Cute shops in Belfast center.
We were in the bottom floor and the conditions were pretty poor. The room was grungy to say the least, mold in the shower, peeling paint. Frame around mirror was broken. In bad need of some TLC. Also, the maids were in the hallway, yelling to each other and swearing about their episodes the night before. Just poor work ethic and with kinds in the hotel they certainly don't need to be hearing the F-word in the hallways by the staff. Disappointing stay overall and its too bad because the views are amazing from the hotel. I can't wait until the Belfast Harbor Inn reopens, way better value for the money and immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful water view fro the balcony of the room!!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: I honestly didn't see anything that needs improvement. Its a very clean and cozy place
Location: It was a short visit for me, so I only was able to eat at the Anglers Restaurant but it was fabulous
Amazing experience from check in until check out. The staff was over the top friendly, the place was clean and cozy. The rooms have balconies and you can sit and look at the water. There was an indoor pool that looks out towards the water too. The continental breakfast was much more than I expected and quite tasty...I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice view

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The view and access to the water was great. Location close to town.
Cons: Booked with Expedia and it was the first in our travels that the gentlemen checking us in referenced online booking when I requested a room on the third floor. He stated they were booked (not) and made it clear that this was the room that Expedia chose. We referred to it as the basement, next to the laundry room. In desperate need of a makeover, including the exterior. Must say however that the view was lovely. When reading the hotel info book I realized how much they resent online booking. Never saw that before.
Location: Outside of town, short drive. Loved the town! Perfect for exploring. One of our favorites along our coastal vacay, don't miss it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Tired Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The view.
Cons: Cleanliness and hospitality.
Location: Belfast is beautiful; lots of nice shops and a few good restaurants; didn't have time to explore much beyond that.
The saving grace of this hotel is the view - so that's why I gave it an overall "OK". We kept the window open the whole time - it smelled. The carpets were suspect and worn; the bedding seemed fresh enough though. The bathroom was small and the shower curtain was moldy. The staff weren't overly excited to see us - not expecting a party, but at least a smile and "so happy you are joining us tonight - welcome!" Even if it's not sincere ... I really hesitate to give bad reviews, but all I can say is, we won't stay here again, even with the view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

A little overpriced

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Nice location
Our recent stay was ok- but it wasn't quite worth the price. The hotel is an old Days Inn or similar that has been rebadged by current ownership. The location is nice- right near the water with a wide expanse of lawn separating the hotel from the shore. The hotel needs updating both inside and out. Our room had cracked ceilings, old hard beds, and was in need of a new toilet seat. To be fair, the room was clean and the hotel was quiet. But it was overpriced- probably due to the season. Wouldn't stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The lobby smells like a sweaty locker room.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Located on the bay. Near Belfast. Small town charming mid coast Maine.
The room was nice. The mattress not so comfortable. Besides the lobby's first impression, overall acceptable accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Nice Hotels good for weary traveller

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The views
Cons: Chairs dirty could use a cleaning
Location: Great seafood area
Was pleasantly surprised at the ocean front views and convenient restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Right on the coast, small town
Cons: All was well.
Location: Easily to get into town, lots of shops and many great places to eat. I can't believe I didn't gain weight. But Belfast was so easy to walk so got my
The hotel is a bit older but very well maintained and nice. I loved the fact that I could go out my back door to a great huge lawn down to the beautiful ledge over looking the bay. I sat in the shade of a beautiful tree and read for 30 or more minutes until I realized I was getting chilly. This is Aug. I'm from San Antonio, Tx. This was why I hated to leave Maine. Although I will return next yr and I would be very comfortable to return to the Fireside Inn.