Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn,ME

Very nice hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Great hotel. Very nice pool and hot tub. Great terrace to see the stars and the moon over the Bay. Frustrated the staff left the door open at night to the terrace and let in tons of mosquitos. Other than that, I would highly recommend a stay here and we will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from EAST AMHERST, NY

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: WE LIKED EVERYTHING THE HOTEL OFFERED
Cons: POOL AREA COULD HAVE BEEN IN BETTER CONDITION BUT IT WAS OKAY
Location: REASON WE CHOOSE FIRESIDE WAS BECAUSE IT WAS CLOSE BY TO THE PLACES WE WANTED TO VISIT - SKOWHEGAN AND BAR HARBOR -
ROOM WAS CLEAN - STAFF FRIENDLY - REALLY ENJOYED OURSELVES - WILL RECOMMEND TO FAMILY AND FRIENDS - PLANNING ON RETURNING IN A FEW YEARS WILL DEFINITELY MAKE RESERVATIONS WITH FIRESIDE AGAIN.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in mid-coast, Maine.

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The location, staff, accommodations.
Just a 2 day getaway for a couple of western Mainers needing an ocean fix. First stay with Fireside, but we'll be back. A fine comfortable room with balcony and ocean view. Walk to the beach. Friendly, helpful staff. Dinner and service at Ocean Side Restaurant was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aroostook County, Maine

Nice walk to the beach

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Very Comfortable and large rooms, very friendly staff.
Cons: Pet friendly rooms smell like animal scent.
Location: We scouted all the consignment shops in the area. Had a ball, with a lot of lucky finds. There are ferry rides and a trip to the Observation Tower.
All rooms have a view of the bay, and your own personal door to exit and enter from. We sat in chairs outside the door then decided to take a walk down to the sea shore. Very relaxing view of the bay with 2 chairs sitting down by the beach. The room was clean except for the bathroom floor. But, they told us that they gave us a pet friendly room, and we didn't bring any pets. I assume that is why the bathroom floor was a bit dingy.We used towels to stand on. Other than that everything was great the resturant was convenient, and the food was OK. If you want you can have your food served outdoors. There was a beautiful indoor pool and hot tub on premises with an upper lounging deck. Very nicely done. We will stay again but this time without the pet friendly room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Decent hotel, great views

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great views really made up for basic beds and older looking rooms , hotel staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean but could use some updating and beds weren't the most comfortable but enjoyed my stay
1 out of 5
by Basil F.

Hotel Sucks !!!

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Will not allow cancellation due to Blizzard Jonas... I had a reservation when they flooded several years ago and they cancelled me out.
4 out of 5
by Corinna P.

Thanksgiving with family

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Orbitz
Overall great value for the money, very pretty view! The breakfast buffet was superb, something for everyone.
4 out of 5
by Tomcat

Maine Midcoast Getaway

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Orbitz
Clean, well appointed room with comfortable beds. All rooms face the ocean and have patios or terraces. You can walk a few feet to the pebbly beach. Continental breakfast with many choices is included with price of room. Few tables are available and they are situated very close to the main desk. However, you can also eat out on the patio in good weather. Dinner with a free drink is also available at an adjoining restaurant. Also available are an indoor lap pool and sauna. The lobby area is very small and is furnished with small tables that serve as breakfast dining tables and with very few lounge chairs. The location is excellent--just a couple of miles from the downtown area of Belfast and not far from Camden, Lincolnville, Rockport and Rockland. I was impressed with the friendly, cheerful, and accommodating clerks. Yes, for the value, comfort and location I would choose Fireside Inn again.
3 out of 5
by Gladys M.

A smelly night

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Orbitz
We were on a 2 week vacation driving New England. We want to visit Belfast, so we booked one night at the Fireside. When we registered, they had me sign a paper saying we will not smoke in the room, we are not smokers so that's great for us. The first room they gave us had an awful smell of cigarette smoke. After complaining, they did change our room. The second room they gave us had a smell of mold, dog, and floral deodorant. By then, we just stayed in our smelly room. Thank goodness it was only one night.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Norridgewock, ME

Our stay

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
This was the best stay we have had anywhere. The hotel was super clean and the staff was beyond friendly! We plan to make this a yearly trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Barry, Hotel Management
Wow, "Best stay anywhere". That's a big deal to us. We will continue to work to earn your trust every stay.