Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Fine, but not as advertised

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: It was fine.
Cons: 1) Lying on the website about the amenities. 2) Tell guests it's not in the main building. 3) Cleanliness!
Location: Cute town.
Our main issue with this hotel is that it advertised itself as essentially a luxurious/upscale inn and it certainly was not that. It was fine, just not as advertised. Main issues: --Our room wasn't in the main building. They hadn't even mentioned there were multiple buildings, so that was weird right from the beginning. To get to breakfast or ice, etc., we had to walk outside. --It was tacky--from the decoration in our room to the attitude they exuded of wanting to sell add-on after add-on, it was just a tacky experience. They even had large toiletries in the bathroom with a sign saying not take them home with you --- but they're for sale in the bathroom if you want to buy some! Ha. --Cleanliness-- the floors were disgusting. I knew immediately and to demonstrate to my husband, I took a tissue, wet it a bit in the sink, and wiped it on the wood and bathroom floors -- the tissue came up a dark, disgusting brown. Plus the carpet looked like it had never been washed. --They advertised the room as having "scenic views of Mt. Battie" -- the only views were of a garage. For cars. I'm not joking. --They advertised the room as having a "Jacuzzi tub." It was just a bathtub, in the bathroom, with little plastic "jets"--- NOT a Jacuzzi tub. --They advertised it as having a refrigerator. There was no refrigerator. And remember, we needed to go to a different building to get ice. Overall, an extremely disappointing experience. Stop with the false advertising!
5 out of 5
by Paul

Great B&B

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable rooms great staff walk to town
5 out of 5
by Tara

Amazing!!

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing accommodations and staff. We were so welcomed and will definitely be back. Exceeded all expectations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

outstanding food & great location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Nicely appointed very comfortable suite in a great central location; just leave the car parked and walk or cycle around town. The food and service are outstanding The staff and owners provide a memorable stay; wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Camden
5 out of 5
by Martin

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
You need to stay here! Everything was great! My wife and I stayed just one night and I wish it could have been longer!
5 out of 5
by Andy chun Yao

would return to same hotel

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly people and service. Staffs know the town well and gave us good recommendations on where to visit. Room is clean and house keeping is friendly and fast. Hotel itself has good historical charm. We stayed in the secondary building, The Hideaway, less than a two-minute walk from the main hotel. The Hideaway is tucked away from the busy street so its nice and quiet at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Never Disappointed

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nada
Location: Smack in the middle of town, you're in walking distance of all the shops, and a 10 minute stroll away is a trailhead up into the mountains.
At our 3rd stay we remain enthralled with the Hartstone. Some of the best food that we've ever had has been here. Breakfast is exquisite; their are cordials, cookies, specialty drinks, wonderful dinners... one could live here. Nearly everyone we talk with is a returnee. The service is impeccable (special cheers for Orry). This is a must experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Inn with very gracious innkeepers. The food was amazing as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome place to stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Staff were very gracious, breakfast was excellent, ambience cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from portland maine

Gorgeous Victorian in the heart of Camden Maine.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Warm and casual and lovely
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Camden and Rockland in mid-winter are gorgeous and plenty to do and see. Something about Maine in winter... Forget the gym a walk around the harbor!
I am a picky traveler and the Hartstone Inn was just perfect! I like warm and cozy and clean and this has it all. Full breakfast was included in our stay, served in the dining room between 8-10 AM. Comfortable beds and bedding, quiet and secure lodging. Had other plans for dinner but the breakfast was excellent and beautifully served. Foodie / Chef's Tasting special dinners, which require reservations, are offered. Loved it all.