Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location in Camden, ME.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Given an upgrade without asking. Best breakfast ever and it was included.
Cons: no
Location: 5 min.walking distance to Camden center.
Great experience from first phone call to last goodbye.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

we booked a king bed

Posted Jun 23, 2016
they did not book a king bed for us via Expedia, so they had to put us into two rooms with a king bed. breakfast was wonderful, property staff very nice and really tried to make us feel better
4 out of 5
by Patricia P.

Holiday Weekend getaway

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on CheapTickets
Our stay at the Hartstone was delightful. The people were very attentive and eager to make us feel welcome. The location is great - right off the center of town and the accommodations were comfortable and fun - altho our room, Taley Hoy was very small and the bathroom was separate. I did not know this but we got a very good deal so it seemed fair. Breakfast was included and was just fabulous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

B&B

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Bathroom ventilation
Location: Downtown Camden, harbor, shopping and dining
Very disappointing service from a very snotty staff person. Bathroom across the hall had no window, poor ventilation fan and the shower was an exercise in misery. Evidently requires a dinner reservation days in advance which was not noted in reservation process so we were unable to have dinner there. We won't be going back to this B&B
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver

Terrible management

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Room was beautiful
Cons: More flexible and nicer management staff
Management was completely inflexible when I had to change one night of my reservation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great Camden B&B

Posted Mar 5, 2015
This was the second time we stayed at Hartstone and we remain impressed with the service and the food. Unlike many B&B's this is a true inn, so there is a cocktail hour and dinner at the Inn. the breakfast that is included with the rate is wonderful and guests have a choice of entrees from which to choose. The people working there were welcoming and very accommodating. And the location is within a few blocks of the waterfront, with the marinas, shops, and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Discovery!!!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The many cocktail offering at $5 during the daily happy hour.
Cons: Only if they were closer to our NY home.
Location: A good hour drive up the coast to Bar Harbor for a nice day trip.
Last minute reservation. Turned out to be an exceptional discovery. The room and staff could not have been better. The true discovery was chef Michael Salmon and the restaurant in the Inn. We enjoyed two wonderful breakfasts, included with the room, Eggs Benedict and Egg Cordon Bleu. We also enjoyed dinner at the Inn both nights. We both ordered the Tasting Menu the first night and were blown away with five courses, each prepared to perfection. The last night we ordered al a carte, Lobster appetizer served five ways which we shared. My wife enjoyed lobster tail over risotto while I enjoyed the Lamb Chops (6). Both meals were beautiful presentations with all local fresh ingredients. We enjoyed this stay so much that when we returned home to NY we made reservations for April to participate in one of Chef Michael's numerous cooking classes. We highly recommend the Heartstone Inn for all they do provide the highest level of service. The town of Camden is a short walk from the Inn and has always been one of the best coastal towns in Maine with many wonderful shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel near downtown Camden.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The location was great, and the staff was warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the various cocktail hours and complimentary cookies.
Cons: Overall, we were not that impressed with the breakfast. It would have been nice if a list of the courses had been provided so we knew what to expect.
Location: Easy walk to main street and the harbor. State park with great lookout of the bay just a short drive away.
Check in was a breeze. We were greeted and given a short tour before being shown to our room. The room was very nice and the bed was super comfortable. We especially enjoyed the warm cookies waiting at check-in, the afternoon cocktail hour, and the late night sweet tooth cordials. The hotel was just up the hill from the main strip and the harbor which were only a few minutes walk away. We went on a boat tour of the bay on the Lively Lady, which was a lot of fun. We only stayed a day in Camden, but wished we had even more time to explore.
4 out of 5
by Gwith

Enjoyable weekend stay

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Orbitz
My husband and I were attending a conference in the area and found the Hartstone Inn to be convenient as well as comfortable. Our room was in the main house and had a private bath across the hall. Comfy bathrobes were provided. The staff were very accommodating, addressing any problems promptly. The food was good although my preference would be for less sweet first courses for breakfast (the first morning included a fruited rice pudding and the second morning a cream-stuffed muffin with a strawberry sauce.) The main entrees for breakfast were sized just right and delicious.
5 out of 5
by Meg from Canada

Perfectly lovely.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Rooms are spcacious and tastefully furnished; bedding and pillows are wondrously comfy; bathrooms are well-appointed (bathrobes provided), toiletries are well-thought out; staff is friendly, gracious and hospitable; food (restaurant dinner and complimentary breakfast) are delectable and innovative, location is central in town, and town is a fairy-tale jewel on the water, especially at Christmas-time. With two stays this winter, the Hartstone is fast becoming my favorite stopping-point in Maine.