Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
First the good: Everything was beautifully decorated and clean. Now the bad: This was our big splurge on our Maine vacation because it was recommended by friends who had stayed here before. Our room, however, was so tiny it was ridiculous! At over $200 a night, I expected much more. We had a double bed with hardly enough room to walk around it. The bathroom is tiny, with a pedestal sink and absolutely no room even to put a toothbrush on it! There was a small refrigerator in the closet, but no microwave. Also, the breakfast was buffet style but was served in tiny little bowls, for example, there were scrambled eggs, but there were about four bites in each tiny bowl, so if you wanted more you had to keep going back. There was a small carafe with hot water, but it held only about three cups, so we had to keep waiting for it to be refilled. I asked for sweetener, and the person taking care of the breakfast area brought out only a few packets. It was kind of like everything was being rationed. The theme of our stay seemed to be "tiny."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2015
The updating of the inn lost the old charm that we enjoyed many years ago. The rooms were clean. The dining room staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Very accommodating. The first room we got was noisy and they quickly moved us to a more quiet room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Mixed experience, with severe negatives.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: Alter air conditioning. Open up closet to give direct access to small fridge and coffee maker. Make it into a single bed roomnot Queen.
Location: Camden a tourist city surrounded by beautiful Maine countryside.
Good location, nice common rooms/porch atmosphere, excellent restaurant, good breakfasts, room bathroom pleasant. Not so good: a. tiny room with air conditioner that blows directly on the bed. Had to surround the AC with luggage and pillows to direct the difficult to regulate cold air flow upwards and away from bed. A real pain in the neck. b. no place to reasonably put luggage of two people, again because of tiny size. c. small fridge and coffee maker were in the closet?? d. very overpriced for these negative features.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Maria from Sanford, FL

Hip and Historic Gem!

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Love, love, love the Whitehall! This hotel was a wonderful surprise for a visit to Camden. The location is wonderful since it's surrounded by other lovely historic homes. Walking distance to downtown made it easy to get around. Breakfast was delicious with a unique selection of items. Coffee was delicious! There is a welcoming feel to the hotel. I plan to visit again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nostalgic Maine?

Posted Jul 17, 2015
We have stayed at white Hall for 4 years but missed last year. Decor and food dramatically changed. Lobby Furn very modern. Bought out by Lark Hotels. 3 story hotel; no elevator. No phone in room...if prob, must traverse stairs to advise front desk. Room was very comfortable. Some bathroom size issues-be sure to chk how arranged. Menu was limited and weak. Bar was a great addition! Front porch is still great! Emma, Gretal, Matt & Jacob-A+
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kimberly from San Diego

Maine trip

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff, good food and darling place except the rooms are very small. Beautiful location .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Ouray, Co

Loved It!

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
This place is awesome. Classic old-style inn with rooms upstairs. Beautifully remodeled in a funky modern style. Cozy in the front and back outside. Amazing restaurant within and the coolest small plate breakfast ever! Conveniently located just a bit out of the downtown area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marc from East Kingston , NH

Whitehall Inn

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Whitehall Inn twice recently and both times it has been fantastic. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms bright and clean, and the Pig and Poet Restaurant delightful. I look forward to my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Karen from the Heartland

Great staff!

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
We had some issues with noise, but the staff was very accommodating and helpful. It seems that there are still some bugs to work out, since this newly renovated place has not been open long. The basic queen room is quite small, so would suggest going for the bigger king, which also has a better bathroom arrangement. The morning breakfast was interesting with some not so usual offerings. It was tasty, however. A little far from town center, but a brisk walk will get you there in about 10 minutes. Great common spaces.