Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, close to downtown

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Cons: Get AC fixed
Decent hotel, close to everything in town. AC was broken, and was hotter in the room than outside, was very uncomfortable with the intense heat. Room was clean, staff was nice as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Absolutely garbage

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Do not stay here. From the terrible check in I was informed that the hotel was under construction and that there would be no hotel staff around. I entered my room to find the room had not been cleaned as there was no cleaning staff. I phoned the front desk and they offered me new blankets but that I would have to come to the front desk and get them. I went back to my room and had a shower, only to have the bathroom leak all over the place. I again phoned the front desk but no one answered for at least 20 minutes. After reaching someone, I was told to use my towels to clean it up. I then cleaned it up and used the toilet, which clogged up and overflowed. I used the towels again to clean up, but phoned the front desk to request more towels to no answer again. After quite some time, I reached the front desk and again was told I would need to come to the front desk to get my own new towels. Now I was ready for bed, but it was the most uncomfortable sleep. If the area was not fully booked up, I would have immediately left and gone somewhere else, but as I only needed the room to sleep I thought it would be ok. Needless to say, I was wrong and will never stay at this location, and I highly suggest you don't either.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Cheap stay. In town location. Clean sheets.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Reasonable Rate, clean sheets, staff ok but overwhelmed and not concerned with PR.
Location: Community centre, dining nearby, expensive hotel, nice breeze off water.
No available rooms in town. I booked April with Expedia but due to a mix up lost my reservation for August was lost in the shuffle. No choice. There is better rooms in this hotel but I didn't get one. Room not clean but the sheets were though and the black out drapes worked well, After midnight someone entered my room with a key. I wanted to hide but yelled " you have the wrong room". They yelled "Oh sorry" and left. They had a key to my room. Not a place for the feint of heart. Liquor store next door, strip club out back but it may have shut down as the surroundings were quiet. Get the feeling wrong time of year to arrive without reservations that are confirmed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Old, run down hotel. Blankets were stained. Room was dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I couldn't even stay went with my daughter for a medical appointment and when we arrived we left right away to find another hotel. There were people doing drugs outside and people puking on the sidewalk. Horrible experience with the hotel and this website I won't use it again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Setting the bar low

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Checked in at 4 pm ,room was not ready . Room was dirty and had a strange smell . Sat on end of bed to find it would tip up like a seesaw . The fitted sheet was loose causing me to get up and remake the bed in the middle of the night . Towels smelled of mothballs . Even the bars of soap would crumble making them near impossible to use .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Hague, Holland

The Harbourside Inn is a nice hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The management and its location.
Cons: Put more often clean sheets on the beds.
Location: We visited the Museum of Campbell River (xxxx), the Elck Fall (xxxx), the Maritime Heritage Centre (xxxx for interested people) and a salmon hatchery.
The two of us stayed there for five nights, while visiting relatives in Campbell River, who took us around.The management and its location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.C.

Dissappointing

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Central location . . good parking
Cons: What i mentioned above
Location: Center of town close to amenities. . Close to the seaside
It was very hot outside with no air conditiioning in the room, room was quite uncomfortable. . Bottom bed sheet had a 10 inch diameter yellow stain. . Hallway had dirty linen and garbage bags piled alongside until late in the afternoon. . Parking was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo B.C.

Cigarettes and Fire Alarms

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Our room was in need of renovations, and when a guest stands for 2 hours in the rain, in their pajamas, the hotel needs to offer recompense.
Location: The location was good.
This is a welfare hotel with permanent residents, so the halls and rooms stink of cigarette smoke. There are places in the floorboards where your feet almost go through, and the bathroom was in horrible repair. Although the hotel staff was very nice and the rooms were clean, we were offered no recompense for the 2 hours spent standing in the rain while the fire fighters checked why the alarm went off. My guess is one of the permanent residents was having a "sleepy" smoke.