Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Relaxing weekend

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Grounds and beach location.
Location: I went to Musicfest, while my husband took our dogs to nearby beaches and parks.
Kingfisher was our base for my attendance to Musicfest this year. It provided a comfortable and peaceful haven after a day of walking and listening and being with crowds. Our room was right on the main common area, beautifully landscaped. We had brought our dogs, and there were bowls for them, and clear directions on where they could be on the property. We can especially recommend the bistro restaurant. Excellent breakfasts and dinners. When we checked out, I had forgotten some personal items, and the staff very kindly mailed them back to me within the week. All in all, a very good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by The Kingfisher Resort Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you so much for your perfect score review. We are proud of our excellent guest service and will make sure to pass on your praises to our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regard, The Kingfisher Resort Management Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short term stay only

Posted Jul 11, 2017
It wasn't what we expected but we made it great. The spa and dining were incredible as well as the staff. Sadly the beach was all rocks. You could definitely hear people in other rooms and our bed was broken.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable review. Please know that we have staff on duty around the clock in case any mishaps like a broken bed need to be looked after. We would love to offer our guests a sandy beach but unfortunately the beach is crown land and there is nothing we can do about it. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Best Regards, The Kingfisher Resort Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, awesome spa and great views.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Everything was awesome but the restaurant could have had more health focused options to tie into the spa vibe. Everything else was fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the great review. Your feedback is very valuable and shared with our culinary team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, The Kingfisher Resort Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner by the ocean.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The awesome views
Cons: Everything was perfect!
Kingfisher is a beautiful location with wonderful rooms, great views and wonderful food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the excellent score on your review! "First Class" is what we strive for everyday here at the Kingfisher and our great location adds to our guest's perfect stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards, The Kingfisher Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location, amazing views, great grounds

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Stayed three nights. Enjoyed the spa, pool facilities and local golf. Beach walking limited-rocky, not sandy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Kingfisher and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, The Kingfisher Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The location and Spa
We had a great time here for the three days we were here. The ambiance, food and spa treatments were tops! Will come again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BCThe location was handy to the Court

Great Find!

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Peaceful relaxing surroundings, cleanliness, comfort, mini fridge and coffee in room.
Cons: Some parts of the property were a little dated and could use a bit of a refresh.
Location: The location was about 10 minutes away from downtown Courtenay and close to Mount Washington.
I stayed for two nights with a friend for a little getaway. We shared one of the rooms on the first floor in the original part of the property. The room was older with a few updates and was well-equipped. We enjoyed the view of the lovely garden looking out towards the ocean and being able to sit on our private patio. It was just steps to the restaurant, spa, and beach. They've created a lovely relaxing atmosphere with music piped into the garden area. We did the HydroPath experience with lunch. I would highly recommend both! The food at the bistro and the restaurant was delicious and beautifully presented and made all the better by being able to sit outside on the patio. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and responsive. A very good experience! Will definitely go back and recommend it to others!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Su, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Hydropath is our signature service and loved by all our guests. Combine that with lunch on the patio and your day is made! Please know that we are constantly updating and we apologize that you came across an area which is not quite done yet. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards, The Kingfisher Resort Management Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cowichan Valley

Great location with fantastic view.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: View, good sauna and steam room. Well equipped workout room.
Cons: Better explanation at check in of how things are run at the spa and workout room. Ensure there are enough basics, like newspapers.
After our last stay, several years ago, we were disappointed by the dated and faded appearance of the Kingfisher. Dirty windows hampered the fantastic view. The spa staff was somewhat surly, warning us at 9:40 pm that the spa facilities were closing in 15 min., so we should get out if we wanted to use the showers (she told us that the hot tub clock was 5 min. fast, but no effort was made to reset it as it was 5 min fast the next day as well). Tried to get the advertised free newspaper at 9:30 am, only to be told they were all gone, despite the resort appearing less than half full. Finally found the entrance to the workout room, only to see a sign instructing me to go to the SPA, a 3 or 4 min. walk away, to get the entrance key code. Would be nice if the pool, hot tub and sauna could be accessible past 9:45, maybe all the way till 11? After all, isn't this supposed to be a spa resort for adults?
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us. We are sorry to hear our staff came across surly as we are known for our friendly staff and we certainly will follow up. At check in our front desk agents point out the fitness room code which is attached inside the key envelope. I apologize if there were any miscommunication. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and please let us know you would love a newspaper so we can set one aside for you. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant surprise

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Comfortable ocean view room with a large ocean view deck. Excellent restaurants, best seafood chowder at Aqua. Enjoyed the hot tub, pool and sauna, the steam room was a bit stinky. If in the area would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your praises! We are very proud of our excellent Chef. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Great room and views including ocean and grounds. Staff very friendly. This property has lots of amenities and is very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by The Kingfisher Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent review! So happy you enjoyed your quiet stay at our Resort. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Best Regards,