Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Colin

Hidden gem, perfect base for exploring the area

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
I had been looking for an affordable mainland alternative to expensive accommodation on Islay, near the ferry so I could do a day trip. I found it! But it was way better than I was expecting. The couple who run it are absolutely delightful - they even made me a to-go breakfast when I had to leave crazy early to catch the ferry. The room was adorable with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Hidden gem! One thing you need to know, the 20 mile road leading to Carradale is not for the faint of heart - a one-lane, two-way road. I didn't know that ahead of time and I was a bit apprehensive that I'd end up in a swamp, but it was absolutely fine. Very glad I booked this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Flying visit

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Owners are lovely! Breakfast was nice. Our room was very clean but the en-suite badly needs upgraded! Overall it was a pleasant stay for a quick stop over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hosts

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We stayed two nights and it was fine, the hosts couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful and kind. It's only their second season and I think they are gradually upgrading and redecoraying. The room was clean, newly painted and new beds arrived as we did. I think it's only fair to say that the ensuite needs doing next, it was freezing and draughty but we left the door open and the heater in the bedroom on to spread some heat, in saying that, it's Easter and the weather was a cold and windy 7' so m sure in warmer weather it'd be fine. Lovely food, great breakfast and good wholesome food for dinner. It's not a fancy hotel but if you want comfy and friendly this is the place to go, yes I'd go back
5 out of 5
by Victoria from Luss

Lovely hosts, scenic location.

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were on a cycling trip with another couple. Ashbank was the perfect place to end a long day! Sharon and John were great hosts - very friendly and accommodating (immediately offered a welcome cup of tea on arrival...before something a bit stronger!). Two of us are vegan however this was no trouble (advised on booking) - we could even pack away our powdered soya milk for the night. Rooms were comfy and got a great night's sleep in peaceful surroundings. Would definitely recommend Ashbank and intend to go back in not too distant future!
5 out of 5
by Gavin from Edinburgh

Carradale escape

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
We went for one night on a whim, but would definitely return to the area and to this hotel. Owners were friendly and informative and no complaints about the accommodation. Breakfast was good and the personalised service is always important
5 out of 5
by les from Middlesbrough

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent so friendly. Will definitely stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted May 19, 2015
Found online pictures to be very flattering. Not much going on. Breakfast very average. Didn't have dinner here but very good pub with excellent restaurant near by. Shower very poor.
5 out of 5
by mrsdingles from edinburgh

Lovely wee place

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff, great food and sweet wee hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Arizona

The hotel is isolated.

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: The hotel was very quaint and isolated.
Location: There are castles and ancient attractions in Kilmartin Glen about a mile drive north of the hotel. The Crinan Canal is near and great to explore.
The hotel is a long drive from Campbeltown, Tarbert and the ferries. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is old and well kept. The breakfasts are good with generous portions. There are many attractions nearby to tour. Restaurants in Campbeltown and Tarbert serve excellent local seafoods, steaks and cheeses.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely place - great service, good food and pleasant owners. Room was a bit small (it was a single) but lovely area to explore so no problem as it still made a good base.