Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Good place to stay, close to Unicamp.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: friendly, convenient, efficient good breakfast
Nice business-type hotel close to campus (10 min walk, then catch free campus bus) and also close to Barrao Geraldo bars and restaurants. Supermarket 5 min walk away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cancelled reservation!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is fine, but I was disappointed to find out that they had cancelled my reservation! Fortunately, they had another room available, but it was upsetting to find that Hotel.com reservation system is not as reliable as it once was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean hotel but..

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: reasonably clean and comfortable room set up. quite a nice breakfast buffet
Cons: staff needs to be more welcoming and friendly
Location: neat UNICAMP
this is the second time I stayed in this year, a few years apart and the first impression from years ago has not changed: the hotel is clean and comfortable (although their plumbing has issues) however the staff is not one to make you wish to go back. They were reasonably ok, but clearly untrusting (not smiling , watching like hawks that nobody who isn;t supposed to enters the breakfast area etc). This is also the second time that my room was entered and cleaned (and things moved) although I had a "do not disturb" sign on the door. When mentioned at the front desk they made it look like they don;t understand my english - interrestingly enough when I said that I am not particularly pleased about this, that it now happened a second time and it's enough reason for me not to stay here again-- all of a sudden his english was completely fine and it was like a switched turned on to be try to be super friendly (of course it didn't come across being genuine...) At check out it took forever to issue receipts for the 4 espressos and a water and when I wanted a receipt for the 2 rooms I had booked on expedia he wouldn't give me one saying that the expedia one was enough.... (you would have thought that they would have made the espressos complimentary as an apology.. it's the only hotel in close proximity to UNICAMP-- you wonder if there is this arrogant behaviour because they don;t have competition? Either way, I will not be back and will to recommend to my friends to check into this
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from london

Business-type hotel close to UNICAMP

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. All in walking distance: supermarket (5 min), UNICAMP (15 min), great bars and restaurants (10 min).
3 out of 5
by Marcos from Vermont

OK no-frills hotel -- don't count on pool or gym

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for a conference at UNICAMP. Relatively close (15-25 walk) to university, restaurants, bars, etc. Everything was merely OK. It should be noted that breakfast is expensive and not particularly good, the pool is super small, and the gym is not on the premises (it was a pretty nice full gym, but was a 15-min walk from the hotel)
4 out of 5
by Alexandre from São Paulo

Great for an overnight stay

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
We spend just one night at the hotel after a friend's party in Barão Geraldo. Hotel is comfortable and clean. Just what we needed before driving back to São Paulo.
4 out of 5
by Mario from Geneva

Nice hotell

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is very convenient for those who have business with the University of Campinas. It is also a short taxi ride away from the Parque Dom Pedro which is a large shopping mall. The staff is also very helpful with providing information around the area. There was a bit of confusion when the car service to pick me up came and the reception staff did not look for me in the lobby couch in front of them
4 out of 5
by Jill from Chicago

I will stay here again

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
This was my second stay, and this place formerly had a different hotel chain name. Pronounce the name of Hotel Matiz as "mah-cheez" or no one will know what you are saying. "Barão Geraldo" is the name of the whole neighborhood. The desk staff is fluent in English and helped me quite a bit by ordering cabs and telling the driver the details of where I was going. Be sure to tell the desk if you need to use a credit card for cabs. I had breakfast at the hotel all 10 days and I loved it, too bad I cannot post a photo...European and Brazilian items, fresh and abundant and some local things like Cashew Fruit Juice that were a treat. I chose to walk the neighborhood to the MANY restaurants nearby and to the two large grocery stores but the hotel does serve other meals. If you can wait until after 8pm to eat, some of the bars/restaurants have live music. My room was plain but very clean and quiet (not facing the street). WiFi was reliable.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels