Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Londo

Perfect place to stay

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Fabulous staff, fabulous facilities, beautiful sea view, amazing food (breakfast and dinner), wonderfully comfortable room. Couldn't ask for more.
Location: Sea view, walks along the sea, close to sea point, table mountain, robben island. A good base for all trips around Cape Town
Fabulous staff, fabulous facilities, beautiful sea view, amazing food (breakfast and dinner), wonderfully comfortable room. Couldn't ask for more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good proximity to local restaurants

Posted May 30, 2017
Cons: Terrible customer service; employees who steal from guests
The stay at our hotel was fine for the first day. Then we were robbed of $500 USD while we were at breakfast at the hotel, by one of the staff members. Our Privacy Please sign was on the door, so no one should have entered the room. Hotel management lied about having cameras that could show who was able to access our room. Took them 2 weeks to "investigate" which really would have taken 2 minutes of reviewing the camera footage. Horrible customer service from a supposed "luxury boutique hotel." Be careful if you stay here, you can't even trust going to breakfast 100 feet from your room without someone rifling through your personal belongings and stealing all of your cash when you were on your honeymoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Gorgeous hotel in stunning setting

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The room and views were the star of the show, truly stunning.
Cons: The staff weren't always as good as at other places we stayed. One guy (Andrew) made us feel really welcome, but otherwise just ok.
Location: Perfectly situated for exploring Camps Bay area, great access to the beaches and nearby cafes and restaurants just a short walk away.
We spent the final night of our holiday at this hotel and were blown away by how gorgeous it was. We had booked it last minute and never expected to be greeted with the level of grandeur in the grounds and room that we found given the rate we paid, fantastic value. We stayed in one of the villas over the rope bridge, which was fun, and from every angle the views were stunning. There is a big crane interrupting the main view from the lawn, but that's not their fault and is easy enough to ignore. The hotel is small in terms of the number of rooms, but has the feel and facilities of a luxury resort, with tennis courts, multiple pools and great access to the beach via lovely walks through the grounds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patricia Davila

Fabulous Hotel!

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel was beyond all of my expectations & was GORGEOUS! The staff was amazing from the minute I arrived, but they should offer 2 keys to those stating in the rooms because it can be a source of contention. The doggie is lovely, as is the owner of this luxurious property which was the perfect winter setting to get away from it all & indulge in yourself! The spa services I cannot recommend highly enough! Three hours & you're in heaven:) The food in their dining room was exquisite & their singing chef - lovely! At Camps Bay Retreat, I felt like family, not a hassle and I left in love with the place & everyone that worked there! I mean EVERYONE! I'll be going back for their next winter (June 2016) for a month next time because it was incredible! Heads up tho. Winter weather can get extreme, it's cold & the pools are closed, but THAT'S the ambiance for those like me, who love that stuff! And their Internet service are limited. High speed in Camps Bay is NOT high speed in the states! But the charm of the property, the staff, the food, the room and the great atmosphere was worth every penny! Loved it! #swat4hire
5 out of 5
by Marcelo from Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Extraordinary!

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
This is a extraordinary hotel! Beautiful property, with views to the mountain and to the beach. The room is very confortable. Nice location for Camps Bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay at this beautiful hotel. Service was great except on Monday morning when everyone appeared uninterested when we arrived for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Western Cape, ZA

Best hotel experience in Cape Town.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: If anything, service in the dining rooms and the bar was slow. We missed a sundowner experience because of that.
Location: Just Google Camps Bay...need I say more?
Absolute fabulous from start to finish. A huge thanks for the reception staff that had the savvy to figure out that we were a family booking into 2 rooms and although Expedia does not afford the luxury to book a minor separate in a room, the hotel staff had put my wife and I in the suite and my daughter in the adjacent room. Great ambiance, great food, great grounds, great walks, great fire places, great staff. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful haven

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
My daughter and I appreciated everyone on the staff. The place is so peaceful. Even with the load shedding, everyone was acommodating. We will be back!!
5 out of 5
by Max from Logan, UT USA

Wonderful Cape Town experience

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights and had a great experience. The staff was so friendly, the food was amazing, and the place was very beautiful. We even made use of the excellent Spa onsite. It is close to the beach and shops, and the grounds were fun to explore.