Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Terence

SA Holiday

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and nice staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mauritius

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel is great peaceful and the staffs were amazing.
4 out of 5
by Franco

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Whilst the Bay remains a favourite this time there was an issue with the electronic key cards which seemed to never get resolved
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing!

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Out of season so I am putting a lot of what we didn't like down to that. Bathroom in both our rooms we're not clean as we found (without looking!) short black hairs in both the bath and shower. Lovely spacious rooms but not relaxing as my room (222) opposite staff service entrance. I was woken up by workmen hammering away before 8 am, which according to reception didn't happen!! I suspect a room very close to mine has had a great refurb!!l So overall I can't in good conscience recommend this hotel. Very disappointing as I think it probably is somewhat better in high season.
4 out of 5
by Polly

Best sunset view in town.

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
We got upgraded to the best suite in the house, 160 square meters. Can't complain. It was so big that one has to think about where the toilet is when getting up to go toilet at night. There is littke choice for restaurant but the restaurant next to the hotel is great. The penthouse has the best sunset view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel ruined by poor service

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The retro styling
Cons: The service from the breakfast staff and the bar tenders/waiters.
Location: Paragliding The V&A waterfront Shark Cage Diving (Great White) Fantastic pubs Hussar Grill (Wow)
I decided to surprise the better half with a week away at the Bay Hotel. The hotel is lovely, it has a really cool retro styling and the location really couldn't be better. Very chic. Thank goodness for online reviews, this saved me from having to put up with a poor breakfast that charges separately for Cappuccino. Instead we went to the Kuai or Vida e' Cafe for a little something. I will say that on the day we checked out we had a breakfast at the hotel and my suspicions were correct, surly waiters that you have to take with a pinch of salt. Very poor service. The rooms are lovely, the shower was powerful and the fittings are in need of an update. During our stay there was some maintenance being conducted and one morning we awoke to the lovely sound of drilling at 6 in the morning. That being said it wasn't every day and the room really was comfortable. I would say this is not a 5 star hotel, there is much left to be desired, although I enjoyed my stay despite these misfortunes. The best part of the hotel is the building and location and the history of the place itself. Stay there but don't expect too much.
3 out of 5
by Chantelle

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very poor service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, very good hotel, but very expensive

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Staff & location
Cons: Why do they charge for wifi when you are paying so much to stay there
Location: Great big beach & lots of good restaurants
Too windy and not much to do without a car during the day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Tired 4 star hotel with glorious location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Middle of the range four star hotel which charges 5 star pricing. Facilities are tired and staff complacent. Silly irritating stuff - charge R50 for wifi, have tip tins for breakfast staff and not a piece of paper or pencil in the room. Breakfast spoilt by the fact that eggs either done wrongly or not fresh and baked beans cold!! The caamils bar upstairs was excellent the bartender is where these ice should be!