Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The Bay Hotel - the only place to go in Camps Bay!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
I stayed here in the winter season - with my brother in a twin room. Such a great place to stay. We were just looked after incredibly. From the staff at breakfast (included and very good - we have been spoilt food-wise and know good from bad), to the room service. There was a menu for our pillows. The staff (I repeat) were so good all the way through, from security to concierge. The facilities were great during our stay - from the wellbeing area for massage etc, to the on-site restaurant and bar. I highly recommend. Oh and security is great if that is a concern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Sadick

Posted Aug 21, 2017
He was the best we have experienced amazing man. His professionalism was unrivaled. Gym was great and pricing was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

Lovely views, comfortable rooms, interesting decor

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The Bay Hotel has a great location - pure white sand beach out front, views up Table Mountain and the Apostles behind. Rooms are spacious and bright, staff friendly, and the owner has an eclectic collection of beautifully restored and custom built motorcycles dotted around the hallways. Caamil's Bar is a great spot to relax in the evenings, there was always an interesting mix of guests to chat with, and Caamil makes you feel like you're staying in his home - very hospitable. Thoroughly recommended, it's 16 years since I've stayed here - I won't be leaving it that long next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mauritius

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel is great peaceful and the staffs were amazing.
4 out of 5
by Franco

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Whilst the Bay remains a favourite this time there was an issue with the electronic key cards which seemed to never get resolved
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing!

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Out of season so I am putting a lot of what we didn't like down to that. Bathroom in both our rooms we're not clean as we found (without looking!) short black hairs in both the bath and shower. Lovely spacious rooms but not relaxing as my room (222) opposite staff service entrance. I was woken up by workmen hammering away before 8 am, which according to reception didn't happen!! I suspect a room very close to mine has had a great refurb!!l So overall I can't in good conscience recommend this hotel. Very disappointing as I think it probably is somewhat better in high season.
4 out of 5
by Polly

Best sunset view in town.

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
We got upgraded to the best suite in the house, 160 square meters. Can't complain. It was so big that one has to think about where the toilet is when getting up to go toilet at night. There is littke choice for restaurant but the restaurant next to the hotel is great. The penthouse has the best sunset view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel ruined by poor service

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The retro styling
Cons: The service from the breakfast staff and the bar tenders/waiters.
Location: Paragliding The V&A waterfront Shark Cage Diving (Great White) Fantastic pubs Hussar Grill (Wow)
I decided to surprise the better half with a week away at the Bay Hotel. The hotel is lovely, it has a really cool retro styling and the location really couldn't be better. Very chic. Thank goodness for online reviews, this saved me from having to put up with a poor breakfast that charges separately for Cappuccino. Instead we went to the Kuai or Vida e' Cafe for a little something. I will say that on the day we checked out we had a breakfast at the hotel and my suspicions were correct, surly waiters that you have to take with a pinch of salt. Very poor service. The rooms are lovely, the shower was powerful and the fittings are in need of an update. During our stay there was some maintenance being conducted and one morning we awoke to the lovely sound of drilling at 6 in the morning. That being said it wasn't every day and the room really was comfortable. I would say this is not a 5 star hotel, there is much left to be desired, although I enjoyed my stay despite these misfortunes. The best part of the hotel is the building and location and the history of the place itself. Stay there but don't expect too much.
3 out of 5
by Chantelle

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very poor service