Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, California USA

Shhh.... Secret place

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly, and couldn't be better. Whether there as a family, on a surf trip/ and/or for an adventurer or romance, the lodge is remote but at the fingertips of it all, .... And the chef is the best (best price also) with his special dishes for you! Don't pass it up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dislike their hidden charge of extra $25 / night !

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: Cozy 10 cabin lodge, loved waking up to the sound of bird song. Friendly fellow travelers with whom to share breakfast conversations in the common area. It was hot, so the pool is welcome. Cons: The lodge is isolated, it's 15 driving minutes from the nearest town and beach. I almost didn't book it because it has a hidden charge. Just as you're near the end of booking a room at the stated price, it says that El Sabanero will charge your credit card with an additional amount which added on about $25 extra dollars per night to the price of our room. I really dislike this trick and wouldn't have booked it except they're almost everything else was already booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff, nice location

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Staff became our friends, very relaxed environment
Cons: Rooms, bedding, hot water could use an upgrade
Location: Great location, close to many beautiful beaches to explore. Lots of local sodas (restaurants), markets, and tours nearby. Wildlife is abundant.
Awesome stay at this lodge/hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool and lodge area for hanging out. The food was awesome, above anything we have ever experienced. Very relaxed atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Marcello from New York, NY

Beautifully Rustic and Tranquil Oasis

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at El Sabanero. The rooms are actually beautiful and private little cabins set in the foothills of Canafistula. It is just a 10 minute drive to Tamarindo! The manager Harold and all of the staff were wonderful and It felt like home. We look forward to returning to this very special and unique Oasis in beautiful Guanacaste, Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
by Michael from New York

Thumbs up

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice staff and owners! Beautiful place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was a bit over priced.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Great owner, cool place, clean, everything you need. A bit hard to find and overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashland, Oregon

A Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, lodge
Location: Beach, surfing, restaurants
We stayed here for four nights at the end of a three week trip with our four and seven year old boys. The cabinas are rustic, tasteful and spacious and the grounds are beautiful. The infinity pool offers sweeping views of the valley and has a generous shallow end, which our boys enjoyed. Harold, the proprietor, was welcoming and helpful. We heard Howler Monkeys at night. This place is a gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

This place is a PARADISE!

Posted May 26, 2015
El Sabanero is a gorgeous place surrounded by nature. Harold is fantastic and very accommodating and the staffs too. The place is so peaceful and relaxing and that's what we needed. I would recommend 100% to stay on this place. There are no enough words can describe El Sabanero and to Harold. We will be definitely be back.
4 out of 5
by THOMAS from NEW YORK

Will Visit Again!

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
RESORT: Excellent! Based on previous Trip Advisor reviews we were not disappointed. The manager, Harold, went above and beyond to meet our expectations. His staff was equally as courteous and friendly. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are well maintained. We felt safe and secure. This location is laid back, perfect for romantic couples and mature adults. If you are looking for a relaxing tranquil environment this location offers that type of ambiance. Families with young children may also find this location suitable because it’s subdued. The pool is just enough to wear them out and give parents plenty of quiet time at the end of the night. The rooms do not have micro waves. If you find yourself craving to heat up a left over snack or meal, the resort will allow you to utilize the micro wave in the main kitchen. However, you will have to do so before the resort kitchen closes which is usually around 8pm. FOOD: The food was excellent and prepared fresh each day. Typically, we ate breakfast at the resort with no complaints. Definitely plan on simplifying a few meal decisions and enjoy a few meals at the resort. It’s economical and tastes better than some of the places we ate at outside of the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arkoman

A different experience..

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on HotelClub
This hotel/eco lodge is about 10 minutes. from Tamarindo. Tamarindo is a beautiful beach town but kind of loud and touristy. If you want to visit the beach but not experience the artificial surroundings, the El-Sabanero Eco-lodge is a GREAT choice. This lodge is completely in the country side. Each unit is a separately detached cabin with porch. In the evenings you can sit outside of your cabin and be serenaded by the sounds of dozens of different animals (including howler monkeys). What an experience!!! The whole complex (cabins, main buildings, pool) seem to all be build to a very high standard (a lot of stone used in construction). The surrounding land is also extremely well landscaped. My 4 day stay here was the highlight of my 2 week Costican adventure!!!