Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, California USA

Shhh.... Secret place

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly, and couldn't be better. Whether there as a family, on a surf trip/ and/or for an adventurer or romance, the lodge is remote but at the fingertips of it all, .... And the chef is the best (best price also) with his special dishes for you! Don't pass it up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff, nice location

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Staff became our friends, very relaxed environment
Cons: Rooms, bedding, hot water could use an upgrade
Location: Great location, close to many beautiful beaches to explore. Lots of local sodas (restaurants), markets, and tours nearby. Wildlife is abundant.
Awesome stay at this lodge/hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool and lodge area for hanging out. The food was awesome, above anything we have ever experienced. Very relaxed atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was a bit over priced.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Great owner, cool place, clean, everything you need. A bit hard to find and overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashland, Oregon

A Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, lodge
Location: Beach, surfing, restaurants
We stayed here for four nights at the end of a three week trip with our four and seven year old boys. The cabinas are rustic, tasteful and spacious and the grounds are beautiful. The infinity pool offers sweeping views of the valley and has a generous shallow end, which our boys enjoyed. Harold, the proprietor, was welcoming and helpful. We heard Howler Monkeys at night. This place is a gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

This place is a PARADISE!

Posted May 26, 2015
El Sabanero is a gorgeous place surrounded by nature. Harold is fantastic and very accommodating and the staffs too. The place is so peaceful and relaxing and that's what we needed. I would recommend 100% to stay on this place. There are no enough words can describe El Sabanero and to Harold. We will be definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Secluded hotel with beach close drive/bus journey

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: How secluded it was, there were howler monkeys nearby and an iguana that was on the roof of the hotel. It was so quiet at night too.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: There are several beaches a drive away, perfect for surfing, kayaking or just relaxing. We also did zip lining through the forest.
We stayed here at the end of August for 4 nights and had a great time. Harold looked after us. He booked us excursions and suggested day trips when we were unsure of what to do. We were so delighted with our stay! We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and we were both so happy with our meals. The continental breakfast that is included with your room was also amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful hotel, peaceful

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Unique experience in the mountains. Private cabin. Bus stop right down the hill, close to tamarindo. About 40 minutes from liberia airport. Supermarket 10 minutes away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Not too close - not too far from the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Quiet location and friendly staff
Location: The roads are now really nice in this area and it only takes about 15 minutes to get to Tamarindo from here.
We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was great. Unfortunately I became a tad ill and we had to end our stay here a bit early, but we loved the location that was just outside of busy Tamarindo, yet close enough to the beach whenever you wanted it :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renia from Pitt Meadows, BC, Canada

Cabins with Ambiance

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: We liked the rocking chairs, the pool and the honour bar.
Cons: The front desk person who usually operates the desk could be a little bit nicer, I think his name was Willy. Breakfast should include the omelette.
Location: There is nothing at this location as it is far out of town, but it is quiet and peaceful.
We loved the cabins that had rocking chairs on the porches. The rooms had large bathrooms with lots of shelf space and large showerheads. The beds were firm but not uncomfortable. The rooms came with desks, but no wifi. The wifi was located only in the lobby area. The breakfast was unsubstantial, as it was only fruit and toast. You had to pay extra for an omelette, which cost $5. There was a freezer filled with drinks, which you could take on the honour system and sign it on a sheet at the lobby. There was also a fridge in each room. We liked the pool as it was relaxing and clean. The location was far out of town, and we had to pay $20 each way both into and out of the town of Tamarindo in order to get something to eat. There was no food on the premises aside from the breakfast I have just mentioned. The jungle sounds were great around our cabin and really livened things up, especially when we had something thump onto our roof in the middle of the night. The birds were really loud and sounded like car alarms or something like it. There were horses down below our cabin also because a ranch was there. The dirt road leading to the hotel was really dusty and unpleasant. Apparently this is a government road which is slowly being paved, but may be years in the making. Overall, we enjoyed this hotel for the ambiance.
3 out of 5
by Nathan from Vancouver, wa

Meh. Good but not Great...

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The place was nice, green and good staff.
Cons: Humidity control.
Location: Nada.
It started out well but after hanging out there the first night we left the day after. It was very very humid in the room. The blankets were damp and my papers got wet by just laying on the bed. The lights also randomly went out at 2am when coincidentally I had to go to the bathroom. It was pitch black and the lights came back on all of a sudden. Other than that, breakfast was good and the place is actually kinda cool. Hear the monkeys during the day and night. A bit aways from anything and was a bit hard to find.