Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great lodge set outside of Tamarindo.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great little cabins. A quiet getaway from busy Tamarindo. Close enough to taxi to the beaches and the action, but quaint and lovely to enjoy Costa Rica at its finest. The owners are lovely and the food and property are amazing too. We had a wonderful time there and even made some good friends too. Highly recommend if you want something a little bit different.
5 out of 5
by Ray

Awesome place and owners

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful! So relaxing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, California USA

Shhh.... Secret place

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly, and couldn't be better. Whether there as a family, on a surf trip/ and/or for an adventurer or romance, the lodge is remote but at the fingertips of it all, .... And the chef is the best (best price also) with his special dishes for you! Don't pass it up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dislike their hidden charge of extra $25 / night !

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: Cozy 10 cabin lodge, loved waking up to the sound of bird song. Friendly fellow travelers with whom to share breakfast conversations in the common area. It was hot, so the pool is welcome. Cons: The lodge is isolated, it's 15 driving minutes from the nearest town and beach. I almost didn't book it because it has a hidden charge. Just as you're near the end of booking a room at the stated price, it says that El Sabanero will charge your credit card with an additional amount which added on about $25 extra dollars per night to the price of our room. I really dislike this trick and wouldn't have booked it except they're almost everything else was already booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff, nice location

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Staff became our friends, very relaxed environment
Cons: Rooms, bedding, hot water could use an upgrade
Location: Great location, close to many beautiful beaches to explore. Lots of local sodas (restaurants), markets, and tours nearby. Wildlife is abundant.
Awesome stay at this lodge/hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool and lodge area for hanging out. The food was awesome, above anything we have ever experienced. Very relaxed atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Marcello from New York, NY

Beautifully Rustic and Tranquil Oasis

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at El Sabanero. The rooms are actually beautiful and private little cabins set in the foothills of Canafistula. It is just a 10 minute drive to Tamarindo! The manager Harold and all of the staff were wonderful and It felt like home. We look forward to returning to this very special and unique Oasis in beautiful Guanacaste, Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
by Michael from New York

Thumbs up

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice staff and owners! Beautiful place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was a bit over priced.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Great owner, cool place, clean, everything you need. A bit hard to find and overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashland, Oregon

A Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, lodge
Location: Beach, surfing, restaurants
We stayed here for four nights at the end of a three week trip with our four and seven year old boys. The cabinas are rustic, tasteful and spacious and the grounds are beautiful. The infinity pool offers sweeping views of the valley and has a generous shallow end, which our boys enjoyed. Harold, the proprietor, was welcoming and helpful. We heard Howler Monkeys at night. This place is a gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

This place is a PARADISE!

Posted May 26, 2015
El Sabanero is a gorgeous place surrounded by nature. Harold is fantastic and very accommodating and the staffs too. The place is so peaceful and relaxing and that's what we needed. I would recommend 100% to stay on this place. There are no enough words can describe El Sabanero and to Harold. We will be definitely be back.