Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, California USA

Shhh.... Secret place

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly, and couldn't be better. Whether there as a family, on a surf trip/ and/or for an adventurer or romance, the lodge is remote but at the fingertips of it all, .... And the chef is the best (best price also) with his special dishes for you! Don't pass it up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dislike their hidden charge of extra $25 / night !

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: Cozy 10 cabin lodge, loved waking up to the sound of bird song. Friendly fellow travelers with whom to share breakfast conversations in the common area. It was hot, so the pool is welcome. Cons: The lodge is isolated, it's 15 driving minutes from the nearest town and beach. I almost didn't book it because it has a hidden charge. Just as you're near the end of booking a room at the stated price, it says that El Sabanero will charge your credit card with an additional amount which added on about $25 extra dollars per night to the price of our room. I really dislike this trick and wouldn't have booked it except they're almost everything else was already booked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff, nice location

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Staff became our friends, very relaxed environment
Cons: Rooms, bedding, hot water could use an upgrade
Location: Great location, close to many beautiful beaches to explore. Lots of local sodas (restaurants), markets, and tours nearby. Wildlife is abundant.
Awesome stay at this lodge/hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool and lodge area for hanging out. The food was awesome, above anything we have ever experienced. Very relaxed atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Marcello from New York, NY

Beautifully Rustic and Tranquil Oasis

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at El Sabanero. The rooms are actually beautiful and private little cabins set in the foothills of Canafistula. It is just a 10 minute drive to Tamarindo! The manager Harold and all of the staff were wonderful and It felt like home. We look forward to returning to this very special and unique Oasis in beautiful Guanacaste, Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
by Michael from New York

Thumbs up

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice staff and owners! Beautiful place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel tranquilo y bonito

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: el lugar
Cons: si pueden mejorar las camas
Location: el paisaje muy bonito y fuimos a correr en la mañana.
Me gusto mucho, muy tranquilo y las cabinas muy acogedoras.
3 out of 5
by Ernesto from Heredia

Experiencia no muy buena

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
El concepto eco-lodge a veces es llevado al extremo en algunos lugares y creo que este es el caso aquí. Las instalaciones son bonitas pero parece que tuvieron mejores tiempos. Lo primero es que la administración solo habla ingles asi es que vayan preparados. El control del A/C no funciono y cuando pedimos ayuda se nos dijo que hasta el dia siguiente llegaría la persona que sabia como reprogramarlo (era uno genérico). Para coordinar la cena hay que pedirla con dos horas de anticipación pues deben ir a comprar los ingredientes (primera vez que escucho esto en un hotel, y eso que su menú era super limitado, creo que 3 o 4 opciones nada mas). No hay TV (pero eso esta anunciado en la pagina, solo lo menciono por el tema de expectativas). Y bueno, finalmente, el primer dia cuando quisimos usar la piscina al atardecer, tuvimos que competir con los sapos que también decidieron ir a darse un chapuzon. En resumen, tenia reservación por 4 días, pero como entenderán solo nos quedamos un dia y perdimos los otros, ni modo, lo mejor es no pagar por adelantado.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was a bit over priced.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Great owner, cool place, clean, everything you need. A bit hard to find and overpriced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Great swimming pool. The place is generally very nice and has its special atmosphere. The only disturbing thing is the noise from the nearby road that you can hear in some of the lodges.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashland, Oregon

A Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, lodge
Location: Beach, surfing, restaurants
We stayed here for four nights at the end of a three week trip with our four and seven year old boys. The cabinas are rustic, tasteful and spacious and the grounds are beautiful. The infinity pool offers sweeping views of the valley and has a generous shallow end, which our boys enjoyed. Harold, the proprietor, was welcoming and helpful. We heard Howler Monkeys at night. This place is a gem.