Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location, friendly staff, a little noisy.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
I stayed here only one night, while on a solo motorcycle trip through Turkey. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful -- finding me a safe spot to park my motorcycle, helping me print boarding passes, and even moving my room at the last minute (more on that in a second). The hotel itself is historic, quaint and charming, overlooking one of the streets near the waterfront in Canakkale; the architectural style and the wrought-iron balconies overlooking the street give it almost a French Quarter/New Orleans feel. The breakfast was tasty and expansive, with fresh-baked breads and pastries. The only downside -- the balcony rooms overlooking the streets are VERY noisy. I was getting up early the next morning and needed to turn in early (before midnight), but the traffic going by on the street was very loud. I normally sleep with earplugs, but even those weren't enough. However, I asked the staff if I could move to a different room, and they moved me to one on the other side of the hotel, overlooking the smaller street in the back. There are restaurants, cafes and nightclubs on this street, and some of that noise filtered in, but it was not nearly as loud as the noise from the street itself. If you are an extremely light sleeper or turn in early, you should definitely enquire about quieter rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Historical place with taste

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Family owned small hotel. Very friendly, nice , and sociable people. Bfast was made customized for our own preference. 200 year old hotel and the very first hotel in canakkale.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location!

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Good location, nice staff, clean room! We loved the breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melb, Aust.

Pleasant decor, helpful staff

Posted Aug 9, 2015
The staff were very helpful - they changed our room to a larger one to better suit us, for a small fee. We were well placed in a room with a balcony that was charming if not a little loud at night. The breakfasts were wonderfully presented & we were very well catered to - I felt bad for not eating half of it. It is very close to the ferry terminal & hundreds of shops, bars & eateries. Car parking is literally across the road in a public park for a reasonable fee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Interesting quaint hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the decor was interesting.
Cons: Places to put your bag in the room
Location: Ferry to Gallipoli, shopping and restaurants all with =in walking distance.
Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. The hotel and room were clean and recently renovated. The room was very noisy until about 0100 and there was no hot water on the first morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel near to the sea

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast and helpful staff.
Cons: Reduce noise in the rooms.
Paid car park opposite. Sea facing rooms over the street so quite noisy but comfortable bed so we slept well anyway!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2013
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sfeervol hotel nabij veerboot

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Leuk, sfeervol hotel. Goed ontbijt, aardige service.
5 out of 5
by NJC from Brisbane, Australia

Rest and relief in Canakkale

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Pros: Very well lit room - no struggling to read at night! Wonderful linen.
Cons: Room a little noisy at night.
Location: Ideal - close to ferries.
This charming little hotel was a welcome sight after the six hour bus trip from Istanbul. It has a great location only minutes by foot from the ferries and one street back from the foreshore. I had booked a deluxe double room for three nights which was spacious and, like the entire hotel, very well presented - recently completely refurbished. My room had cute little balconies and could I even see across the Dardanelles from one of them. Staff were very friendly; although only the charming young man, who was the night manager, had good English. This was not a problem and I managed very easily. The breakfast was excellent. Shops and points of interest, such as the military museum close by. There are only stairs and this could be a problem for some travellers. The only two little issues for me: my room at the front of the hotel overlooking the street could be a little noisy at night and there was no kettle for making a hot drink. Overall, though, had a wonderful stay.