Ratings based on 1,243 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

nice place to relax

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: great location great views and room , a washer dryer helped out
Cons: that staircase ..... scary
Location: coffee shops shopping tattoo shops and the normal tourist trappings it's amsterdam walk everywhere !
located close to the fun stuff in amsterdam , bars and coffee shops right outside your door. my room had its own balcony to smoke on , full kitchen , mini keg of beer , and a large window that opened to a busy street, i attempting to book this hotel on my next trip to Amsterdam but it was booked solid. the hotel staff was friendly and help mail stuff back to the states for me . i didn't enjoy the hotel bar, it felt a little shoehorned into the lobby but the surrounding places took care of that need easily. i will warn you the studio is accessible by a narrow staircase only but the staff offered to help carry by backpack up so I'm sure luggage transport won't be an issue. the best part , they had a washer and dryer to do laundry in the room. if your trying to stay in amsterdam for a while i strongly suggest this stop, not to bad of a walk from the train station if your traveling light
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel, excellent location

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Everything about this hotel was perfect. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean and modern as well as spacious and the hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to everything. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and will stay here again when we return to Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
by Grazyna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from phila.

Great choice

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location location location
Location: Rembrandt sq.,Waterloo market, Rembrandt museum, bloomenmarket, purse museum, red light district, central station,
No complaints, modern hotel great location tram right outside short walk to Rembrandt sq hot a hot nightspot and another tram line staff very nice room was comfortable would stay here again for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Spacious room, great rain shower with powerfull hand held. Staff are excellent too, very polite and attentive
5 out of 5
by Graeme

Amazing Quality hotel, Great decor in Rooms

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Wow. Amazing hotel, a step up from the places I usually stay. It was a little more expensive than my 'usual' hotel when working in amsterdam, but what a difference. The room was more like a suite and unbelievable. Very contemporary design and amazing decor. Comfortable bed and two TVs !! The restaurant was very expensive and offers very umarket food. I chose to eat elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by Wendy

Not a preferred hotel to stay due to noise

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Room is nicely updated but TINY. The front desk folks were all very nice. The thing beside the room being so small was the noise on the street until 2 AM was extreamly loud. If we didn't know better you would have thought the windows were open!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location and staff, but can be noisy.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location near to sites and restaurants. Friendly staff, nice inviting lobby and bar. Elevator in hotel (many boutique hotels don't have them).
Cons: Sound insulation from street noise. More towel hangers in the bathroom. Smaller rain shower head in the shower. Luggage stand in the room.
Location: Flower market, torture museum, nice restaurants and cafes, within 5-10 min walking distance of major sites in Amsterdam.
Room was functional and comfortable but 4 star is a stretch. Location was very good, close to sites and the the Flower Market. The street facing room we were in on the 4th floor was quite noisy at night with traffic noise, honking car horns, and loud voices from the bars down the street carrying easily through the windows. A full night's sleep without being woken a few times was not possible - in hindsight perhaps we should have asked for a room with windows facing the back of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and assisting with booking of tours and restaurant reservations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Unhappy stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Dear Gurvinder, Thank for getting back to me regarding our anniversary stay at The Albus. Yes the hotel eventually put us into the correct room and we had complimentary breakfast and other small gifts of food and drink. Unfortunately, this cannot take away the fact that we had half of our stay in rooms that were detrimental to our city break, I had no sleep in the second room due to the excessive noise from the street below and we had to move into rooms three times! Completely ruining the start of our stay. They not only got our booking wrong but the way it continued to be handled was completely neglectful to our stay and special circumstances that I'd informed them of. I did not find that this hotel lived up to its claims on the website 'experience a service that's out of the extraordinary and personalised' Instead it failed to provide the appropriate attention to our booking until it had gone wrong twice leaving half of our stay ruined. The Albus we go on holiday to make special memories and have wondered times, I ask you, please do not play with people's limited time away from busy lives styles. You obviously do not, completely realise how important a position you hold looking after people's bookings and how they can leave a mark on your guests time with you . Regards Jacquelyn Emmanuel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels