Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Spacious room, great rain shower with powerfull hand held. Staff are excellent too, very polite and attentive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location and staff, but can be noisy.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location near to sites and restaurants. Friendly staff, nice inviting lobby and bar. Elevator in hotel (many boutique hotels don't have them).
Cons: Sound insulation from street noise. More towel hangers in the bathroom. Smaller rain shower head in the shower. Luggage stand in the room.
Location: Flower market, torture museum, nice restaurants and cafes, within 5-10 min walking distance of major sites in Amsterdam.
Room was functional and comfortable but 4 star is a stretch. Location was very good, close to sites and the the Flower Market. The street facing room we were in on the 4th floor was quite noisy at night with traffic noise, honking car horns, and loud voices from the bars down the street carrying easily through the windows. A full night's sleep without being woken a few times was not possible - in hindsight perhaps we should have asked for a room with windows facing the back of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and assisting with booking of tours and restaurant reservations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Unhappy stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Dear Gurvinder, Thank for getting back to me regarding our anniversary stay at The Albus. Yes the hotel eventually put us into the correct room and we had complimentary breakfast and other small gifts of food and drink. Unfortunately, this cannot take away the fact that we had half of our stay in rooms that were detrimental to our city break, I had no sleep in the second room due to the excessive noise from the street below and we had to move into rooms three times! Completely ruining the start of our stay. They not only got our booking wrong but the way it continued to be handled was completely neglectful to our stay and special circumstances that I'd informed them of. I did not find that this hotel lived up to its claims on the website 'experience a service that's out of the extraordinary and personalised' Instead it failed to provide the appropriate attention to our booking until it had gone wrong twice leaving half of our stay ruined. The Albus we go on holiday to make special memories and have wondered times, I ask you, please do not play with people's limited time away from busy lives styles. You obviously do not, completely realise how important a position you hold looking after people's bookings and how they can leave a mark on your guests time with you . Regards Jacquelyn Emmanuel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

TWIN room is actually a DOUBLE BED, not twin!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Had an espresso machine that was refilled daily.
Cons: There was hair and stains on the mattress, should of been better cleaned. If advertised as a twin room, have 2 beds, 2 mattresses and 2 duvets!!!
Location: Good location, near to the centre.
There were two beds, but they were pushed up together and shared a mattress and duvet, so it was a double bed really. Please have 2 mattresses and 2 duvets if you advertise the room as a TWIN room!!! That was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia

Modern Hotel with all amenities

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It had a lift, very modern décor and a restaurant & bar.
Cons: A little noisy if windows left open as on the tram route
Location: Central location & close to restuarants, transportation etc
We enjoyed our stay at The Albus Hotel. We were on the 8th floor in the Attic Room which was very spacious and well appointed with coffee making machine, bathrobes, flatscreen TV. desk etc, It had airconditioning but also 2 windows which opened and had views over the city skyline.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Clean and inviting, the hotel was a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing getaway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel-Aviv

Very nice hotel, great stuff, excellent location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
What we will remember especially is the warmness of the stuff and their hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amsterdam repeat

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Everything from the staff, my room, hotel location.
Cons: Nothing that I saw or heard off during my stay
Location: Located 2 km from Central Station, a bit of a walk with luggage. You can take public transit to front door. You can walk to Ann Franks House Dam Sq
Super hotel and Front Desk Staff. Great location, Great service even if you have checked out hour earlier.Very nice and efficient rooms. Did not take the breakfast option but the food looked appetizing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexplicable indifference

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The hotel is ok, but. As I entered the room I noticed the wifi is problematic. Wanted to call reception, but there was no indication which number to dial. In the shower, nowhere to put soap & shampoo except on the floor. And other small annoyances. However, that's NOT the main problem. In the room was a card/note inviting guests to post reviews on TripAdvisor, including feedbacks for improvements. The next time I passed the reception, I left a note with a list of all these annoyances. NO RESPONSE Whatsoever.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hip convenient spot

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The Albus provided us with a comfortable spot, well located to explore every which way. An older building given a fun face lift There are many good and reasonable restaurants around the corner.