Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

A great Amsterdam experience

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The location of this hotel is superb, located near the major museums, concert halls, good restaurants, shopping and the essential city tourist venues. The Herengracht is one of the most elegant locations in the city, and the building is an historic (renovated) residence. The rooms are relatively small but efficient, with large beds and fine bathrooms. Those facing the canal have a charming view. Staff is not only professional but also very personally helpful. There is a bar and upscale restaurant. (Full) breakfast is à la carte. The hotel is excellent for couples and the private traveller, either on vacation or business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Great Bar and Restaurant. Room right on the canal and very nice. Really helpful staff. Great art
Location: Location is great, walkable to so many things. Very cute with little shops and restaurants near by
Great Bar and Restaurant. Room right on the canal and very nice. Really helpful staff. Great art
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shepperton

Wow!!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
You will not be disappointed with this hotel, location, friendliness and comfort. Loved it !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by femke Kettenis, Hotel Management
Dear Graham, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you loved the Ambassade hotel. We hope to welcome you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Beautiful hotel, amazing location and great staff.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
We can not say enough to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. We arrived to a friendly and helpful staff and a gorgeous hotel on the canal. Our room wasn't ready, it was only about 8:30 AM, but they let us change and kept our bags for us. When we came back from exploring the city our room was ready and our bags had been taken up for us. They were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Hopefully we can return to Amsterdam and this is where we would stay !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Femke Kettenis, Hotel Management
Dear Matthew, thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again when your travels lead you to Amsterdam! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Great elegant hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Wonderful hotel, very accommodating staff, top location. Highly recommended for a tourist stay in Vienna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Linde, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Ed, Thank you very much for your kind feedback, sir. We are pleased to hear that you will reccommend our hotel. Please do inform them we are in Amsterdam, not in Vienna ;). Yours sincerely, LInde Regoort Hotel Ambassade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada

Lovely hotel - central but on a very quiet canal

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We were in room 94 which faces a small interior courtyard. It would have been nice to have a view of the canal but we were in a less expensive room in a very expensive city. The location is perfect, the staff were lovely and the food (2 buffet breakfasts with made to order eggs/crepes, and one lunch) were very good. No complaints and no real suggestions for improvement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Linde, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your kind words. It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying at the Ambassade Hotel. For a possible next stay, we shall of course do our utmost to have a nice room reserved with a beautiful canal view. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Linde Regoort Hotel Ambassade
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Georgia

Upsetting

Posted Sep 6, 2017
I stayed at this property previously, I place a lot of my clients in it, When my client posts a video of the hell they went through just to walk into a "Attic" its not cool for me or my recommendations to clients. Every time I reach out to the property they are upset I book them through Expedia and not direct, This time the video was horrific. It was like the movie "The Shining" that my clients walked through to get to their room. They need a refresh and a new attitude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Linde, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, We are very sorry to read that your clients were not quite satisfied with the location of their room. Unfortunately, we are learning only now about their dissatisfaction, if we would know before, we would perhaps be able to move them to another room with a more easy access. With ten seventeenth century canal houses in a row, the hotel is indeed quite unique and therefore some rooms can be difficult to reach. Please note, there are plenty of rooms that do have an easy access and/or are accessible by elevator. For a future reservation, please do inform us about any preferences for a room location so we can make sure that your clients are satisfied with the room. Our staff is always happy to help in any possible way! We hope to be able to accomodate you and/or your clients better on a future occasion. With kindest regards, Linde Regoort Hotel Ambassade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Charming Hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
A charming hotel with a very professional and friendly staff. Hotel is centrally located and accessible to many points of interest. Rooms are well appointed and they have a warm library/bar. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Linde, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review and most kind words. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the professionalism of our staff and the atmosphere in our Library Bar. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon, sir. Yours sincerely, Linde Regoort Hotel Ambassade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful, historic hotel in excellent location.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Beautifully furnished, Bulgari bath products, excellent location.
Cons: carpeting on stairs to unit could be cleaned.
Location: In the center of everything....
This gorgeous historic hotel was fabulous. The staff was extremely nice and went out of their way to be helpful with suggestions, reservations, etc. You can't go wrong staying here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Linde, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, amenities and the location of the Ambassade Hotel. We shall definitely forward your feefback withr regards to the stair carpeting and appreciate you mentioing this. Once again, thank you very much for staying at the Ambassade Hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Yours sincerely, Linde Regoort Hotel Ambassade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent stay in Ambassade Hotel!

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Cons: The only thing is that we wish the bed is not a 2 twin beds put together and the mattress is super too soft.
Location: The van Gogh museum is easily accessible by the tram, walking distance to Ann Frank and many canal cruise. Walking distances to great restaurants.
We absolutely loved our stay at Ambassade. The location is superb, close to Ann Frank, public transportation like Museum Square, walking distance to shops, flowers markerts, and great restaurants. The lobby is charming with the library, the staff at the Concierge is super helpful and right on in the recommendations for food, tour and shops. The only thing is that we wish the bed is not a 2 twin beds put together and the mattress is super soft. Thank you. The Brasserie is extra bonus to have a gourmet restaurant with beautiful Decor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Linde, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for your extended review on Expedia! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location, our staff and brasserie. For a future stay, please inform us on your wishes with regards to the bedding. All room typed can either have two twin beds, or a large double bed in it. If we know about your preferences in advance, we are pleased to arrange this accordingly. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon, we remain, Yours sincerely, Linde Regoort Hotel Ambassade