Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good position

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Hard by canal and very close to tram stop to Centraal station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable hotel. Friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Hotel very central for all amenities with a nice bar as well as tram stop just outside at the canal. Will definitely go back to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Souterrain = Basement

Posted May 31, 2017
A very mixed review of this hotel. Good points. Ideally located near Rembrant Square, tram stop outside the door to Amsterdam Centraal, although a nice easy walk too. Modern, clean hotel, generally a pleasant stay. Cafe bar next door with reasonable priced breakfast so no need to get up too early. Helpful map and discount cards. Bad points. No where on the booking website could I see an explanation that 'souterraine' means basement!! There was no greater disappointment to find our window was high up inside the room but at pavement level outside. Very dark room but we couldnt dress without the light on so obviously had to have curtains closed most of the time. And NO VIEW! When we complained we were told "thats what you booked". We asked to change room and were told no others available, although quite clearly from the websites there were other rooms 'with canal views' available. One receptionist was quite helpful, the other was plain rude and sullen, didnt take her eyes of her phone when I asked for my key. Although the rooms are very small they are modern, but I felt unsafe with the bathroom which was more of a wet room that you had to step up to, and there was nothing to stop water running down into the room, had to put a towel down to mop it up. Also felt like we had to ask for things that were routine provisions, body wash one day, hand and floor towels 2nd day, no replacement toilet roll 3rd day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, on the canal, centrally located

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The staff primarily.
Location: Two minutes from the Rembrandtsplein, 15 minutes to the Dam Square and RLD area. Walked around a lot and enjoyed it all.
The hotel itself was good, kept clean and centrally located. What made the stay very good was the reception staff (Annie and Roberto are just wonderful (there was a third gentleman, but he was primarily on the night shift, so there was little inter-reaction with him), who solved problems, explained matters, helped out with anything and everything, and all in all made the stay in the hotel a very good one instead of a just OK one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Convenient and quiet city centre location. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Kana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great value for money

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, great staff and good rooms
Location: Everything - it is located at the heart of the old city.
Great location, great staff and good rooms especially for that price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kelowna Canada

You know your in Europe lifestyle!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Quaintness, quiet, on lovely canal, was perfect little start to our Europe vacation. We are campers, hikers, so don't require bars or restaurants.
Cons: Get us bigger room next time.
Location: Close to Rembrandt square, loved the canal quiet atmosphere.
Older s style hotel, attic room so small no room for two suitcases, lower floors may have been bigger ,bathroom not glamorous but clean, was all about location location so could overlook size, bed was comfy not saggy, we spent enjoyable time on bench by canal, at the outdoor cafe and view from our attic so perfect made my friends back home jealous! That's the best part right!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Liked it but wish it was cleaner.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
I really liked the location of this hotel. It was close to Rembrandtplein (aka Rembrandt Square) where there were several bars and restaurants. The trolley that takes you to the Central Amsterdam train station also stopped right in front of the hotel, too. My room was actually in the apartments next door to the main hotel. There wasn't an elevator, but the woman who worked the front desk actually carried my luggage up the stairs for me (she insisted). Unfortunately, I don't think they did a great job cleaning my room--when I pulled the covers back, I did see a few hairs, so I'm assuming they didn't change the sheets. Gross. The room was spacious and did have a good view of the garden in back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good.location

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing