Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Made the trip special for us. Great staff. Great room. The restaurants are excellent as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Glorious

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Incredibly attentive staff. No hotel in Europe can compare. 13 nights, and each one a delight. Make sure to enjoy Freddy's. It's an Amsterdam must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas and Brasil

Most Excellent Experience!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Location and VERY friendly, homelike atmosphere.
Cons: Honestly, I can't think of a thing!
Location: In the center of it all!
This has to be one of the Top Five hotel experiences for us of all time. Strategically located in the heart of everything Amsterdam has to offer, this hotel and staff offer a quiet, calm and superbly appointed refuge from all of the hustle and bustle of a vibrant city. This was my first trip to Amsterdam. It will NOT be my last and when we DO come back, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: concierge team were outstanding. wonderful surprise when we checked in we had been upgraded! the hotel canal tour was also a great little feature.
Cons: only snag was one of the members working at the lobby bar really wast pleasant and seemed to be in a bad mood for the 3 days we were at the hotel
Location: fabulous location and Amsterdam is small enough that everything was about 20-minute walk.
2 nights at this fabulous hotel and the 5 stars did not let us down. great front of house team at reception and concierge desks. Brasserie served great food and fantastic wine. Spa was brilliant too. The rooms were spacious and well stocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel smack in the Center

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Fantastic hotel people very friendly. Hotel very clean. Food excellent. View of canal very nice. Boats, swan, ducks. Pasteries out if this world. Enjoy your stay as much or more than we did. That will be hard to beat though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Wonderful Hotel. Great Location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Lovely grand hotel overlooking a Canal. Spotlessly clean. Delicious food at indoor and outdoor restaurants. The staff were absolutely lovely and so helpful. The Concierge helped us get some Anne Frank tickets without having to que. Loved Freddy s Bar. Book it !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

a cheaper hotel could have done a better job

Posted Sep 12, 2017
A beatiful extravagant hotel close to amenities, the room was gorgeous but it felt the hotel was trying too hard....a bed that was 'too' big, a very expensive coffee machine that caused so many frustrations we prayed for a kettle. The cold water tap scalded you if you had just had the hot tap running, even though the spa area was open at 8:30 in the morning there were no staff (at all) on hand to give advice. I had emailed asking whether breakfast was included to be answered with 'yes' to be told when we checked in it would be another €42 each every morning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant Celebration Weekend

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We stayed at the De L'Europe for a family celebration weekend for my husband's special birthday & couldn't have picked anywhere better, it was a surprise for my husband & he was delighted with the hotel from as soon as we arrived. The staff were all brilliant & attentive. The location was perfect and the setting ideal. The perfect place for our first trip to Amsterdam & we would definitely go back & stay at the De L'Europe again - thank you to everyone who made this special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very kind feedback! It is a great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay, highlighting the staff and location. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future, With kind regards, Jacqueline - Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel, right in the centre!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Brief, one-night stay, booked at the last minute. Was a bit uncertain about the Hotel, as we'd never stayed there before. But I must say, the place was fantastic. Check-in was fast and efficient, staff were all very pleasant, informative and helpful, and the room was brilliant! If you are in Amsterdam - stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay and hope you will have the chance to stay with us again in the future. With kind regards, Jacqueline - Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Walking distance to almost every attraction Amsterdam has to offer.
Situated right in the heart of Amsterdam, I couldn't fault this fabulous hotel! Staff couldn't be more courteous and helpful. Upgraded to a sensational room with balcony overlooking the Amstel river on arrival for an extra 80 Euro and it was well worth the cost! Brilliant bathrooms equiped with everything you would ever need. Only complaint I would have is both breakfasts and drinks on the expensive side however when you stay in such a great hotel you don't really mind. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Amsterdam.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear John, We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time, highlighting the staff, room and location. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, with kind regards, Jacqueline - Guest Relations Manager