Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Convenient location, comfortable room

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect.
Cons: English skills of front desk staff.
Location: The hotel is literally a few feet from the tram stop (#1, #2, and #5 trams). Stef's excellent bakery is nearby, as is a laundromat.
My room was quite spacious and I was comfortable throughout my week-long stay. The air conditioning was great to have on warm days. But this hotel, contrary to the amenities list published on various hotel sites, does NOT have room service. That was a huge disappointment for me. Also, the front desk staff speak a bit of English, but are definitely not fluent. They don't seem knowledgeable about basic Amsterdam facts and just kept referring me to the tour/ticket business across the street. I didn't feel like they were a resource for me at all, so do your own research before you arrive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Excellent location

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff and a fantastic location. Three tram lines are right at the corner and so much is easy to walk to. The shower curtain smelled a little, but the room was kept very clean. Would stay here again definitely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Very convenient to museums, restaurants and trans.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room had a canal view and was very comfortable. Excellent choice for a non chain hotel. I would stay there again upon a return to Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Better than expected!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Originally chose it because it was close to friends. Literally up the street from them. A frequent visitor to Amsterdam. It was conveniently close, walking distance, to everything I needed. Museums, shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again. Service was nice and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Really nice hotel! Great view, great location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We loved our stay here. All the staff were great and helpful. Good location next to a bunch of bars, clubs and restaurants. Good view of the canal. Definitely staying here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

Loved the closeness to canal and shops and volder

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Dikker & thijs Hotel was Great to help us just drop in on Amsterdam life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Perfect location - overlooking the canal!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast!
Location: Near the canal for the "hop on canal boats", and many cafes around the corner. Just down the road from the Anne Frank house, and museums.
We arrived early in the morning and although check in wasn't until 2pm, our room overlooking the canal was ready for us by noon. The staff was very helpful in storing our luggage until then. Our room was large and light and had the best view! Beds were comfortable, and the lovely deep bathtub was just what I needed after an 8 hr. flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel close to all the main museums

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Our stay at the Dikker and Thijs hotel was pretty much perfect. It is a super friendly place. Very clean, beautiful view of the canal, within a short walk to the museum plaza, boutiques, beautiful cafes. Tram stop right outside which will take you to dam square in minutes. Bike rental from the hotel was good value and so much fun. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Close to restaurants, canal, tram stop, shops

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Room was ready when we arrived (at 11.30am) Friendly staff, helpful kept luggage at hotel till 6pm for us Nothing too much trouble
Location: Central for seeing Amsterdam highlights
A great city for walking around, eating, canal tours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and on a main canal.

Posted May 31, 2017
Nice smaller hotel on a main csnal. Get the larger canal-view rooms. Other rooms are small and dark i think.