Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything; good if you dont mind dirty

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Very friendly staff and central location. Extremely steep and narrow stairs. Smelly rooms that have curtains that have cob webs. Bathroom was very good and neat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire england

Brill hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Would definitely stay there again central to every where comfortable cosy and made to feel very welcome
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PRT

A nice single room at Singel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Smoking allowed in the Balcony of the Restaurant!
Cons: Instead of have all rooms with Carpets its better to have them tiled and say a small rug in prevents dust and dust mites from accumulating
Location: Centraal-30to45 mins walk CoffeeShop Amenisia -8 to 12 mins walk Dam Square (Trams&Metro) -12 to 22 mins walk Gift shop and cafe below the hotel
Since I had reached early morning, was allowed to store my luggage in the hotel, I wish I knew before hand that the hotel reception is situated on the first floor, via a narrow set of staircase (image attached), which were a real task to go through and my room was on the 3rd floor with an amazing view and a balcony attached and a single bed with TV and pvt bathroom, again via narrow set of staircase, which was my cardio workout everytime I had to go out and return back, All in all is was a good stay at a good price and very close to the Centraal Station, a good place for students if they do not want to stay in hostels, but keep in mind no lifts in the building! Breakfast was included with Oats / Jams / Breads and Spreads and Ice cold water / coffee / tea / milk and juice, smoking allowed in the Restaurants Balcony Area.
4 out of 5
by nicholas

Cosy room

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are two to four stories above ground level by stairs only. Single room was tiny (perhaps the smallest hotel room I have ever rented anywhere in the world) with sloped ceiling (fourth floor). Built-in bedside light made it impossible to prop myself up to read in the usual fashion but bed is next to wall so I made do. Location is excellent. Supermarket within 100 meters. Breakfast was minimally ok--at a similar hotel in Germany you would get better quality but it would not be free. Given the price and location, the hotel was good value.
2 out of 5
by Ryan

Great location, poor hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Firstly, I stayed in the smallest room, which was up 74 of the most ridiculously small steps and small corridors known to man. The fridge did not work, the balcony was littered cigarette butts and the table was wonky. The shower did not keep temperature and when I took it off the head I cut myself with the broken head. The bed was not comfy. However, the breakfast, had there been more of a range of juices and cereals, would be great, and the location is perfect if you don't mind a little stroll of 10 minutes or so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Great location. Very functional for what i needed it for. And would recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
by Sophie

Do Not Stay Here

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
I do not recommend this hotel for many reasons and I have left a previous review before but if you do stay here, pay in cash. We stayed nearly a month ago (2 rooms, 3 nights) and they charged my card 50 euros per night without permission due to the fact that I had only used one booking number from hotels.com. They believed that we had not checked-in for the second room, despite already paying for two rooms in full when we checked-in. I sent email after email trying to get this sorted and I thought I had finally got somewhere when I received an email saying they would refund me the money plus card fees. The same day I received a text from my bank saying my card had been used abroad. I knew at once what it was. I checked my bank and I was right. Instead of being refunded 156 euros, they had taken it. So now I am out by 312 euros plus more card fees. I have had to find other means of paying bills in this time - of which they have not once apologised for or offered compensation. I am appalled by this service. This is not a good end to a holiday. Stay at your own risk.
1 out of 5
by nouri

Bad experience

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Room was small soda not double as I booked double size room , room wasn't clean n was dirty , food was average and wifi was weak
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Steepest stairs in Europe

Posted May 23, 2017
The hotel's location at this price point is unbeatable. The stairs leading up to reception is a beast! Kilamanjaro beast. Travel light. Had a single room with a quaint terrace. I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

200 bucks for a hostel

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
You have to walk up 2-4 flights of steep narrow stairs with your bags to get to your room. Its a dump and way overpriced, you are better off at a hostel it will be cleaner.