Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Excellent location. Friendly staff, very helpful. My husband needed a pair of pants washed and he happily did so for us. Yes as others have said the stairs are steep--but should be expected. You are in the Netherlands! Stairs are steep! Will happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Feels like staying with your new Dutch family

Posted Nov 30, 2017
A great little hotel that feels like you momentarily moved into someone’s Amsterdam home. The staff are great - passionate about Amsterdam and seem to go out of their way to get to know you personally. On a canal and a small street which is super quiet after about ten (save for the Westerkerk you can hear go off from everywhere). It cannot be understated about the stairs - they’re ridiculously steep. They keep getting steeper the higher a level you go too. Had a canal view room on level 3 which was stunning but the stairs kill your knees. Also the bathroom is freezing. There was only thin curtains in there so the cold came in. Not so much fun at 3am on a freezing November night. Would recommend the same thick curtains in there as the ones that keep the cold back in the bedroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Paulo Moura., Hotel Management
Dear kate, Thanks for your review about our property and staff we're glad to hear, as well some possible improvement to be made. the suggestion will expose to the direction. Thanks for choosing or hotel. Regards, Hotel Hegra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

Excellent location close to Anne Frank House.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: Stairs were an issue but these buildings can’t easily accommodate elevators.
Location: Easy walk to Anne Frank. Nice bar next door and easy walk to good restaurants.
Small hotel with great staff. Stairs were an issue but our bags were deposited at our door which certainly helped. This is a hotel for young, agile travelers. Room was small but adequate and the shower was hot! Best of all was the location right on the canal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Stairs a challenge

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Top floor room was clean and fairly modern but a tight fit for 3. The stairs are a challenge but it is a classic Amsterdam building. They have a unique way to get your bags to the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Small, Quaint and Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Location: Literally at the heart of the city and close to most everything
My partner and I stayed at the Hegra Hotel for 3 days and had a wonderful stay. The owner, Robert, who is nice and welcoming, is an active member of the staff and also makes the morning breakfast. The breakfast is better than most other continental breakfasts, and the rooms and small, but comfortable, clean, and functional.
5 out of 5
by Alton

Authentic Canal House Experience

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Super convenient location, friendly staff, excellent customer service, and lovely hotel. Just the fact that the hotel was built 400 years ago was fascinating! We got to experience the true merchant house lifestyle! Upon arrival, the front desk staff was super friendly, and helped us get our bags to our room on the top floor... using the pulley outside the 4th floor of the building! It's truly amazing to see that in action! He strapped our bags onto a hook and pulled it up the 4th floor using the remote-controlled pulley. Talk about authentic dutch way of handling bags! The bathroom was the most surprising thing, it's fully remodeled and very nicely decorated. It's nothing you would expect in a 400-year old house! The location was very nice, central to everything by walking or by bike. A supermarket was only 2 blocks away, and there are plenty of restaurants in the area that open late. Overall a very decent experience, we're lucky to be able to stay there since they're fully booked until the end of the year!
4 out of 5
by Thuy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England uk

Lovely little hotel really friendly staff.

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Being in the centre of Amsterdam.
Cons: A bit of cleaning under the beds maybe.
Location: Near everything walking distance to most attraction.
Loved our stay for 3 nights my 3 sisters and I had a pleasant stay even though its small it doesn't matter the staff really helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: We like the location, the ambiance and the service.
Cons: I am not sure. We didn't have any problems.
Location: We were centrally located and it was easy to get to all of the places that we wanted to visit. There were cafes and restaurants all around.
We stayed at the Hotel Hegra for 4 days in September 2017 and we were absolutely delighted with our stay. The location is wonderful. Not only is it conveniently located in the city center, it is on a quiet, pretty canal-lined street. We chose not to stay in large chain hotels on most of our trips and this boutique hotel made us feel more like locals than like tourists. Our beds were comfortable, the room was sunny and just large enough for us to spread out. The staff was helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels