Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly and good location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Friendly staff, good location (few minutes walk from no 4 tram at Fredericksplein stop), basic but clean and roomy. Stairs a bit steep but to be expected in an old canal fronting building. Bonus of nice views of the canal!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy in Amsterdam

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfy beds. Steep stairs, but to be expected. Lovely staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No complaints.Steep stairs, but that is typical.

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel close to tram stop or metro. Lovely garden space in back to relax.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, England

Somewhere to sleep

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Room overlooking garden and close to river
Cons: Reception in a better location
Location: Lots of bakeries and cafes
Room was very small, didn't have much room to move around, toilet door had to be left open as so small, couldn't use safe as broken and no replacement, funny place to have reception
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Bathroom is not convenient
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utica, Michigan

Convenient location

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: location, nice and helpful hotel staff and pretty courtyard area Cons: no new towels provided during our stay, dirty carpet, bed linen was dirty and stained and it did not appear that the room was cleaned during our stay. What they could have done: changed the towels and linens and vacuumed the carpet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel 20 minute walk from city centre

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Personally, I liked the location of the hotel because it was a bit outside of the city centre, I like to be able to unwind and have a quieter setting after being out and about all day and in our case til 5 am! haha whoops! Heineken is about a 15 minute walk, which then leads you close to the "main action" but in our direct area there are still many little shops and delis to explore. There was a delicious cafe/restaurant with an outdoor seating area called "Carousel" which was a 2 minute walk from the Heineken Brewery, great way to fill your tummy before drinking your free beers! The staff was friendly and helpful for what we wanted to do. They have beers to purchase and a breakfast in the morning for 9 euros (that we didn't do but seemed good if you didn't have time to go find somewhere to eat). Our shower did not have soap and we asked for them to fill it and I guess they forgot...so three days with no soap in the shower, but hey we are pretty ok with just the hot water and it allowed for a quicker shower! (we are easy going....) Overall, good place, right on the canal so a few rooms that overlook the canal (maybe you can request)....It was just a magical experience to be in Amsterdam, so who really stays too long in the hotel anyway?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Small hotel with small rooms, the location is a 20 minute walk from the main tourist areas with little in the way of bars & restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean & the staff were helpful. Good value for hen/stag do's but wouldn't advise it for couples.
4 out of 5
by Noelle from California

Liked this hotel, even with the stairs

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in an old, classic building. We loved the character of it and would stay here again. Yes, the stairs were steep and narrow as others have said, but I think that's normal for these old buildings. We did not mind doing all our sightseeing on foot, but note that was about a 45 minute walk from the central train station for us. What we liked--neighborhood was not too loud or crowded, there's a grocery store (Lidl) almost across the street/canal, the room was bigger than we expected for Amsterdam (ours was a room for 4), and we had our own bathroom. Not so great--the drains were slow (either need drain cleaner or just the natural result of being on the top (4th) floor), there was an odd smell around the sink (maybe from the drain), there was nowhere to hang a towel by the sink, and the trash can looked large but only had a small bag inside (strange). Reception is in the basement, and they really should get a slot for keys for early check out. They had left a sign to leave keys on bed and close the door, but that meant a climb all the way back to the top room, from the basement!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2016
First room we stayed in was clean walls were thin and had people banging on walls. Second room was very dirty had bed bugs