Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel... pity about the staff

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: The rooms are large and spacious and well-equipped.
Cons: The staff are obnoxiously rude.
Firstly, I never waste my time writing reviews... BUT The hotel is in a great location, is an amazing building and beautifully decorated. Pity about the people who run it. Especially the people at the main desk. There is this weird key policy. I felt like I was a boarding school. You don't actually have your key... they keep it and threaten you with a €250 fine if you lose it. I'm 48... I've lived in a house for 15 years and never lost the key. I was there for work, I was interviewing someone. I had a suite and yet was not allowed to bring a guest to the room. The living area had seating for 6. What's the point of 6 chairs if you can't allow a guest. I had a very bad feeling when I left this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel with personalised service

Posted Nov 15, 2017
I cannot speak more highly of this hotel. Service was wonderful. The rooms were great and they were very accommodating when I asked to move from the top floor to a room with less stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Location. Atmosphere -- liked that it wasn't a typical modern impersonal hotel. Felt like we were guests at a grand mansion.
Cons: We didn't need to use the air conditioner much but it when we did it was very noisy.
Location: Excellent location. One quick tram ride or nice walk to Anne Frank House and all the major museums. Also close to many wonderful restaurants.
Stayed here with our children (ages 16 and 22). We all loved the hotel. Located right on a canal in a great part of Amsterdam. Easy walking distance to everything including tram so entire city accessible. Hotel is a converted canal house that is modern while still retaining lots of charm. (Lobby is converted former living room.) We were in Rooms 2 and 4 which were huge. Both had great sitting areas and beautifully furnished with antiques. The staff were very helpful and provided excellent customer service. Will definitely stay at Hotel 717 again.
4 out of 5
by Bill

A great boutique experience

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were fantastic and helpful in all requests--from heavy bags up and down the steep stairs to arranging reservations for meals and private boat tours. Food was fantastic taste and quality. We had a maintenance issue that was promptly addressed and resolved. Cute boutique. I stayed in Picasso Suite which is spacious and beautifully appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Unique and amazing!

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Orbitz
This boutique hotel was a very unique and an incredible place to stay in the canal district of Amsterdam. Central to almost everything, it has the best Amsterdam has to offer in terms of location, eateries and shopping. We would highly recommend this hotel!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by Amisha

Awesome location + helpful staff

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great experience. Very helpful staff- helped us book the local canal boat at short notice and get museum tickets to beat the queues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

wonderful, relaxing stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: staff; location
Cons: coffee/tea machines in the rooms
Location: hotel is right in the centre of things, yet very quiet
truly outstanding atmosphere, and service was out of this world. Everything was stylish, and designed to please
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an original

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Great staff - lovely house but older guests need to be aware of steep stairs
5 out of 5
by Peter from Emsworth

Superb venue in wonderful city.

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 day break convenient for museums and galleries.Could walk almost everywhere if not Tram stop 100 meters away. Staff superb,curteous and very informative. Highly ,Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2016
The hotel was amazing! I stay in corporate chains for work, so when I vacation it is a treat to stay at a boutique hotel. This one was awesome. I was there 3 nights, the staff was great, the room quiet, the location perfect for exploring.