Ratings based on 1,523 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall, UK

Good situation

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: It's situation
Cons: Rather drab and boring
Location: Muntplein is a good location for first time visitors. Tram outside the door, an easy walk to Dam Square and Canal boats.
Centrally situated hotel which enabled us to get around the city very easily. Helpful staff on reception. Did not eat in the hotel - no attempt was made to offer us breakfast or dinner. Did not see any porters.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Rude front desk people

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The hotel rooms are quite run down. The carpets are filthy, I would not stay here again. Especially silly for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally Located Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Located in a great area in Amsterdam, clean facilities and a friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Great experience in a centrally located hotel. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly and helpful. I am the type of person who uses a hotel to strictly sleep while exploring the city and this hotel was perfect for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Nice hotel right off the Rembrandt Platz

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Proximity to everything
Nightlife is just a few steps away. Rembrandt Platz has many restaurants, bars, nightclubs, and a coffee shop that'll keep you entertained all night. Once you've experienced that, the city opens up and there are hundreds of places and things to do. This hotel is a great stop off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Location is bad staff were not welcoming Don't recommend it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Delhi, India

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location, front desk staff, room size (after an upgrade).
Cons: House keeping and speed of front desk query handling.
Location: Rembrandt square and flower market are walking distance.
Good room (paid extra for an upgrade), terrible house keeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Central location and comfortable

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I've stayed here at least five times previously. Comfortable hotel with bay window and the windows open and let the wonderful breeze flow through the room. This keeps the air clean if you understand why this is necessary in a city of great smoke. Plenty of restaurants and stores nearby so one doesn't have to travel far to satisfy needs and desires. I'll definitely book this hotel again. I especially love the rooms with balconies on the seventh floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Misleading photos and reality

Posted Aug 8, 2017
On arrival they couldn't find my Expedia booking, eventually found after 20mins waiting but room wasn't ready. Waited another 20mins, went to room and it smelled musty and stale smoking of weed. Went back to reception, changed room, supposedly a superior room as I booked, room smelled slightly less, but tired and just wanted to stay by this time. The decoration and style of the room was dated and looked tatty, wallpaper ripped in places, carpet covered in staines, chairs dodgy stains, tea coffee facilities similar to a 2star hotel, the Wifi was so slow it couldn't even cope with opening Facebook, upgraded to the advanced wifi (payable) and it connects and then disconnects and even when it did it was slow. The room door locks don't work well, the card keys are erratic and generally had to use the key 5-10 times before the door would open! Complained to the reception and was offered free breakfast which was actually the only good thing about the hotel. All in all, totally over priced and badly in need of total renovation. Do not take the description and hotel / Expedia pics as standard, they are misleading.
1 out of 5
by Paul

Unhappy customer

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was in a good location. Disappointed with losing out on my 50euro deposit as I didn't have a receipt surely when I left a deposit the hotel should of had a record of this. Not sure if they confusion came from swapping rooms with my cousin but he never got the my deposit back and I also had to pay the hotel charge for him.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent Location But.........

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The Location---within walking distance of just about everything.
Cons: The rooms need a total renovation and the housekeeping staff should all be fired.
Location: Every major attraction is near by and the public transportation system is excellent.
Truly a great location and the staff at reception were very helpful. This is a pretty pricy hotel even by Amsterdsm standards and the horribly dated and dirty rooms were just not acceptable. Housecleaning did the worst job I have encountered and I have really travelled a great deal. A few examples: the dirty and stained carpet was never vacuumed during our stay, dirty glasses were just left on the dresser, toilet paper and Klenex were never replaced ( had to contact the front desk to replace, coffee station not refilled after the first night, bathroom floor never even swept - let alone mopped I could go on -- but I think that gives a pretty clear picture. Also, the hotel is situated on a very busy street in the evening with lots of party goers etc. The first night th AC did not work and we had to open the windows to plent of street noise unti 4:00am. Bottom line -- stay somewhere else.