Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield. England

Luxury hotel perfectly situated

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: The situation on the canal side and proximity to all the main sites of the city. The staff welcoming and incredibly helpful and obliging.
Beautiful rooms, smallish but only as a result of the age and history of the building. Spotlessly clean and immaculately renovated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Oct 19, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights. Room was nice and clean with great view of the city. Turn down service was great and staff were pleasant. Great location in beautiful building. We didn’t choose breakfast as we wanted to eat at local shops. We asked the Concierge for recommendations on a canal tour but he only gave us two choices. Either an over crowded boat with audio tour for 7€ or private tour for 180€. There are others out there so do your research.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Marije Veenhoven, Hotel Management
Dear sir, Dear madam, Thank you for sharing your experience at NH Collection Doelen. I am happy to see you have rated your stay with 5 stars and that you have enjoyed your time with us so much! I want to thank you for your generous compliments and will share them with the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. Should you ever wish to return in the future, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back! With kindest regards, Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director NH Collection Doelen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Very central and comfortable

Posted Oct 16, 2017
A great hotel in the middle of everything, which unfortunately means it can get a little noisy outside late at night. Breakfast a little expensive, but absolutely fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Marije Veenhoven - Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear Annie, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at NH Collection Doelen. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, even though the street noises could get a little louder during the weekend. Should you ever wish to return to Amsterdam, please do not hesitate to contact us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back! With kindest regards, Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director NH Collection Doelen
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst good hotel ever.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Read about my experience and you will have the list.
I paid too much for a room so small and so cramped. Then, in Sept., the AC had been turned off, the heat was on, and the room was too hot. So... they suggest open the windows. That's great except that the streets are noisy through the night, making it impossible to sleep, and mosquitoes are everywhere. And if all that isn't bad enough, I had no hot water for my last night and morning before leaving. Oh one more thing. No one asked at checkout how I enjoyed my stay. No one cared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Natasha, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for informing us about your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. As the review is left anonymous I would like to ask you to contact us via nhcollectiondoelen@nh-hotels.com. We sincerely would like to investigate this matter as this is definitely not according our standards. Hopefully we will get in touch with you. With kindest regards, Natasha
5 out of 5
by Shaina

Wonderful Amsterdam Experience

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
My Boyfriend and I had a layover in Amsterdam on our way home to the US from Italy. The hotel accomdated for an early check in so we were able to get settled and go out to see the city. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained, and the staff and service was superb. The location is central along a beautiful canal but also set just out of all the busy tourist areas. I highly recommend hotel Doelen for a wonderful Amsterdam experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017
Dear Shaina, Thank you for your lovely review in regards to your stay at the NH Collection Doelen! Nothing but praise from your side, which makes me very proud. I am pleased to read that you and your boyfriend have had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that you had such an amazing time in Amsterdam! I will make sure to share your lovely compliments with the staff. We would be delighted to welcome you again at the NH Collection Doelen. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly, should you desire to make another reservation. Warmest Regards, Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director NH Collection Doelen
4 out of 5
by Fawziah

Feels like home

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing with great staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017
Dear Fawziah, Thank you for your lovely review in regards to your stay at the NH Collection Doelen! Nothing but praise from your side, which makes me very proud. I am pleased to read that you have had a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff did their utmost best to make sure your stay was memorable, I am really glad we made you feel welcome in our hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you again at the NH Collection Doelen. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly, should you desire to make another reservation. Warmest Regards, Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director NH Collection Doelen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoeva

Excellent location

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Hotel staff is amazing! Perfect location, spacious room, comfort beds. Hotels breakfast was a must have!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you kindly for your lovely review in regards to your stay at the NH Collection Doelen. Reading about your experience makes me truly proud! I am pleased to read that you have had a pleasant and comfortable stay. That the staff did their utmost best to make sure your stay was memorable. We hope that we may welcome you again at The NH Collection Doelen. Warmest Regards,
4 out of 5
by Ahmad

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017
Dear Mr. Ahmad, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay at NH Collection Doelen. I am happy to see you have rated your Amsterdam experience with 4 stars. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director NH Collection Doelen
5 out of 5
by James

Great Hotel at NH Collection Doelen

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is beautiful, service was great, they couldn't do enough to make us happy. The breakfast room was so pretty and on the canals. Breakfast was wonderful, even could order special breakfast food, had a lot of choices in the chafing dishes which was great. Even serviced wine at breakfast if you wanted. At nite had a happy hour with wine and cheeses and some meat choices for free, which was lovely. The hotel also made last minute reservations for us, which was really helpful, because we had to go to a cheese and wine cruise at a certain time and was able to get us seated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017
Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the NH Collection Doelen on TripAdvisor! I highly appreciate this. It gives me great joy to read you have had such an amazing experience! From the Wine and Cheese tasting, the beautiful breakfast up to the tender loving care of all our staff. I will for sure share your amazing compliments with the entire team. It was our pleasure to welcome you at the NH Collection Doelen Hotel and we look forward to doing so again in the future. Should you desire to make another reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, my team will be happy to assist you. Warmest regards, Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director NH Collection Doelen
4 out of 5
by Jaime

Great location

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in town walking distance to almost everything in the city,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017
Dear Jaime, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the NH Collection Doelen Hotel. I am very happy to read you have had an excellent time! If you ever return to Amsterdam, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again! Warm regards, Marije Veenhoven Hotel Director