Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from King of Prussia, PA

Great Location for a monk's cell

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
The rooms are only 7'x12'. A double is really just two twin beds separated by a door. There isn't even room to put your suitcase on the floor. There is no air conditioning.
5 out of 5
by Donald

convenient and pleasant

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly and well situated hotel with easy walking distance to everywhere I wanted to go
4 out of 5
by Catherine

Fairly priced for Amsterdamn,friendly staff

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
excellent location, close to trams, museums, restaurants . Very nice, helpful staff, could not ask for more in that regard. They let me stay an extra hour in my room. Average but generous breakfast, all the basics provided and served until 11AM on weekend. But the small and stuffy room is problematic if you're sensitive to smell. Two single beds crammed inside and a strong odour old smoke obviously from the building's long history. They attempt to mask that with a strong air freshener. As you can imagine, a lot of people would find that objectionable, although I got used to it by the second day. Night one was harder. The smell is in the old carpet, should be ripped up. Obvious they are selling the room as a double during busy season, so beware. The room is barely big enough for one person to move around. Hardly anywhere to put luggage. The bathroom was spanking new and completely renovated, was very nice with a good shower and all new facilities. I'm also sure there is no aircon in the rom, and one tiny window, so hot weather, yikes. . Otherwise, it is quite a good option and reasonably priced if you don't mind the smell of stale smoke.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Good location on a quiet canal.

Posted May 12, 2017
Closer to museum quarter than to center, but still within walking distance to Dam Square. Paid for superior king room overlooking canal. Got room 508 (actually the 6th floor since ground floor is not counted in Europe) is on the top floor and too high to see the canal unless you are in front of the window. King bed was comfortable, but furniture is a little tired. The best feature Of this room is the bathroom with a great double shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Ideal Location

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Location Location.
Cons: We found the duvet too heavy and hot but this is a small price to pay for everything else being fine.
Location: Galleries, shopping, and places to eat, we love the Carosel Pancake house and found a Italian Restaurant close by we took trips on two days.
This is the second time we have stayed here, the staff are very helpful and friendly, the breakfast is very good and the location is ideal for the galleries and trips out, lots of restaurants only a short walk away and although we are not young find we can walk from the main railway station to the hotel without any problems.
3 out of 5
by Jorge Eduardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Erica

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
I would recommend Princengracht Hotel. It is in a great location, bike/walk to all the main sites. Not walking distance to central train station with luggage, but the local train/tram has a stop one block away which will get you to/from central station. Hotel is clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. They assist with bike rental and luggage storage. Room was small and basic but comfortable. A little noisy with thin walls. Breakfast was delicious.....coffee, huge selection of meats/cheese, eggs, bread/pastries, cereals, and fruit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
On the canal, south facing, easy walking to museums and town centre, yet not surrounded by other tourist shops or hotels. It felt like we were amongst the Amsterdam locals. Friendly staff, good buffet breakfast. Room was a little on the small side (but the m2 dimensions were clear in the expedia booking process)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Bathroom shower water flowed out onto floor. Toilet seat too high Otherwise great