Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful hotel near canal

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The hotel was charming with every modern convenience. The staff were very helpful and professional. The room was spacious and clean. The location was excellent. We felt safe and could walk to the city's attractions. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would return without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great hotel with amazing location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Everything, service, rooms and location.
Cons: Breakfast buffet was a bit expensive but worth it.
Location: Great location you can walk everywhere we didn't use one single taxi, near hotel theres great shopping area and great food.
The staff is really helpful and the hotel is great, breakfast is worth it and the garden is great to have tea and snacks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Villanova Pennsylvania

Oasis

Posted Jul 5, 2017
It is hard to believe that such a calm environment to be experienced in the middle of any city but this hotel exceeded every expectation. From the minute we pulled up in our taxi, services first rate. We never touched a piece of luggage, everything was handled for us with speed and efficiency Distributing the bags for a long trip into two rooms for our family. Check in was seamless. Soon as we were settled we were able to relax in the courtyard garden with a drink. It felt more like a resort than a city hotel. A wonderful touch was the availability of fresh flowers, already arranged, to pick up in the lobby for your room. I usually buy flowers at the beginning of a long trip to put in the hotel rooms, but have never seen a hotel do this, and it makes so much sense in Amsterdam. Room decoration was stylish and unique, a great mix of contemporary and classic furnishings and decorative items. It was a very unusual bar cart with crystal glasses displayed , both practical and beautiful.after the elevator we had to take a few steps to reach our room, may be an issue for is with baby strollers or any physical impairments. The hotel has a tour boat, more like a small beautiful yacht, for cruising the canals so if you are arranging a canal boat tour in advance, reserve this rather than one of the many companies who give boat tours in the canals. The hotel cruise is longer. There is a full-service breakfast at the beautiful restaurant, but we tookadvantage of Quick Continental
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

An Absolute Pleasure

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Overall, a positively delightful experience and it was impossible to fault any aspect.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Located on the Prinsengracht, the Pulitzer is very centrally positioned; all of Amsterdam’s major attractions are within walking distance.
We stayed four nights at the Pulitzer, and our party occupied two rooms. From the moment we stepped through the entrance until we, somewhat reluctantly, departed the experience was an absolute pleasure. Located on the Prinsengracht, the Pulitzer is very centrally positioned; all of Amsterdam’s major attractions are within walking distance, or for the less energetic, a short tram/bus or taxi ride; Indeed, there’s a tram stop not half a block away. The hotels itself is created by connecting several canal house on both Prinsengracht and Kaisergracht via a delightful central courtyard garden. This means that there’s the occasional change of level and a few more twist and turns than you’d find in a modern (read: sterile) hotel. However, this should in no way be interpreted as a negative, and if anything, adds to the charm. While not huge, the rooms are well-sized and extremely comfortable and well appointed. Similarly, the bathroom provides plenty of room without being overly large. The bed was very comfortable and provided great sleep quality. Our rooms faced the internal courtyard and the nighttime noise level was surprisingly low for an inner city location. Nice touches include a writing desk that incorporated USB charging ports, complimentary bottled water, highly effective build-wide Wi-Fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

First Rate Hotel, Tranquil Location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Modern facilities in 17th Century framework. Superbly done. Cannot fault.
Cons: Addition of Spa facilities
Location: Located within canal network. Very tranquil. Close to main Dam Square/shopping & 'must see's' plus the Red Light district. Cannot fault at all.
Stayed here end June 17. Excellent hotel in tranquil setting by Amsterdam's canal network. Food excellent, staff welcoming & efficient. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great location, great staff, beautiful hotel. Room service menu a bit limited, but good. Room was quiet and staff attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in a quiet area

Posted Jul 2, 2017
We had a great trip to Amsterdam people really friendly hotlel Pulitzer was lovely staff really helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful hotel on canal

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The hotel was a gem . Very close to the famous 9 streets shopping , lots of cafes close by , u can walk to main street . The staff was extremely helpful and courteous.the hotel has a certain old world charm perfectly blended with modern comforts . Loved the place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

I will never stay anywhere else

Posted May 31, 2017
Cons: Nothing. Just fabulous.
Location: Excellent part of town and easily accessible to other neighborhoods.
Excellent service, experience and luxury. From the moment our taxi pulled up to the hotel until we left- so professional, beautiful facilities, wonderful food, great amenities that make it special (Le Labo products, stropwaffles, coffee, etc.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful, central hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The facilities are impeccable and the staff are classy and helpful.
Location: Hotel is in the Canal District. Anne Frank House is up the street. Half hour's walk to the Museum Quarter. Lots of cool neighbourhoods close by.
This charming hotel is a great way to experience Amsterdam. Pretty much everything you want to see is within walking distance. The staff are very kind and classy. The room is a bit on the small side, but very old-world with the great wooden beams. You can eat in the hotel's big restaurant or have a nice breakfast in the café. I recommend eating at Bussia, around the corner.