Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - Shame about the room!

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Decor, cleanliness, service, courtyard
Cons: The room we had could have been more accurately described!
Location: Great location, lovely walking around the canals, and within easy reach of Dam square and other areas of interest,
Overall, this Hotel is lovely, and the service was great. However disappointed with the room, not as advertised - The picture when booking showed a bright room with a large window and view onto the courtyard, however, the room we had was fairly dark and had a window on an angle that you could not look out of easily, and if you bothered to crick your neck to look out the window there was no real view of the courtyard! Also we were expecting a shower/tub combo but got shower only. I really wished we had said something, and certainly would have had to if we had been staying more than one night. The hotel was well decorated and cosy throughout, with great service, and I feel that if we had of complained about the room they would have done their best to resolve the problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Very nice hotel along a canal

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Very nice example of Amsterdam canal life. Good location with everything within 30 mins walk. Beautiful inside court. Good food. My room was looking in a small inner court. So the view was nothing special. So it was a bit pricey for the view but then again it was on a weekend in Amsterdam. Always full. Great hotel and will look it up next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC USA

I would stay again

Posted Nov 30, 2017
The Pulitzer is a beautiful hotel, right in the middle of all the action. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Our room was not huge, but very comfortable, with all the amenities (fridge, safe, TV, etc) Lots of outlets and USB ports for charging electronics, which is unusual with an older hotel. The bathroom is spacious and very up to date. Loved the walk-in shower. There is a casual restaurant and a formal restaurant, Janz. We really didn't take advantage of either on this trip (next time). The Pulitzer bar is very comfortable with a great staff, was a daily stop for us in between our travels. I would definitely book this hotel the next time we are in Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Funky hotel right in the heart of a great shopping

Posted Nov 24, 2017
We loved the Pulitzer. It was a perfect location to walk everywhere around Amsterdam. The hotel is made up of converted houses and is really funky and unique. Canal view to boot...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful buildings close to it all

Posted Nov 23, 2017
The Pulitzer is very close to some of the best tourist attractions while being secluded and quiet for sleep. We had the extra pleasure of being surprised by a free bottle of champagne in our room the first night after we quietly stated we were visiting for our honeymoon. Overall, a great experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham

Function more important than guests

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Had a bad experience on the Friday evening after arriving. Was told that I could not have a drink in the hotel bar as it was being used for a function and was full. Was not allowed to stand in the bar and have a drink and was escorted out of the bar. There are two other bars in this hotel which remained closed despite there being guests who could not have an evening drink. Not 5star treatment very disappointed. Reported this to the duty manager who did not know how to deal with complaints. My trip was ruined by this and I will never stay there again. Spent the remainder of my trip in the city and only coming back to the hotel to go to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Alex van Gastel , Hotel Management
Dear Trevor, Thank you for sharing your Pulitzer experience online! First of all, we are very sorry to read that you had an bad experience on the Friday evening. One of the Duty Managers spoke with you upon check-out and gave you a business card to contact us directly if you want us to give a second chance in the future. Please know that your feedback is valuable and has been shared with the involved departments. We cannot turn back the clock to change what has transpired, but we truly hope that we can show you the true Pulitzer experience in the future. With warm regards, Alex van Gastel General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Service staff are exceptional. Check-in was enjoyable. Location is great - easy walking distance to entire downtown. Hotel was very expensive for the size of the room but I guess that is normal for Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Splendid hotel, well located

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: The staff, the lovely room, close to everything.
Cons: During our stay everything was fabulous.
Location: Centrally located. Very many cafes & restaurants of all price points nearby. Close to great shopping & the tourist sights.
We decided to celebrate a big anniversary in Amsterdam & as we had always wanted to stay at The Pulitzer we booked it for this occasion. We were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely. On check-in, during our chat with the guest assistant, it was mentioned we were celebrating & later that day, on returning to our room, we found a complimentary care package of champagne, nibbles & gifts plus a card from the hotel. We were so touched at this thoughtful gesture. With regard to the hotel, the rooms are cosy & comfortable - the decor is just the right mix of masculine & feminine - & everything is spotless. We didn’t use the restaurant or bar but both looked great. The staff are friendly & welcoming, & well informed. The location is great as well & very close to all the sights of interest. We will definitely be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely peaceful hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2017
This hotel is almost perfect. If it had spa facilities it would be!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Simply stunning Would recommend and love to go back for a return visit
Location: Close to Anne Frank house, excellent dining and shopping. Museums all within easy walking distance.
The hotel was beautiful and unique. Loved my experience there as it was comfortable and had wonderful restaurants and bars. My niece had her wedding at the hotel and they did an outstanding job. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was also so accessible to all of the major attractions and shopping in Amsterdam.