Ratings based on 3,775 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Loved the feel of this hotel. Everything was good. Would have liked to have a few more healthy options for breakfast. The staff was amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Mids

Good to town centre

Posted Feb 12, 2018
It was noisy, needed updating as bathroom not in great condition. Long queue and wait to check in at 2pm, tried earlier but no check to see if the room was ready. Fire alarm went off a couple of times during the night, no communication and treated like a fool for evacuating. We had a twin room with tea and coffee facilities, but only 2 sachets of coffee. The room was nice and cool with a window that opened so that was a bonus. Breakfast was ok but no fresh fruit and full English had been sat there a while. I won't be returning
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Needs updating

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Reception overwhelmed as hotelnopppsite had overbooked. Could have dealt with customers with bookings separately but had to q for good half hour. Decor and facilities in rooms in desperate need of upgrading. VERY dated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Nice for one night. Good breakfast . The decoration was tired and dated
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2018
The hotel should do better. Rooms are terrible -- needs updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Amazing and close to everything!!

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Hotel upgraded us to an amazing room for my birthday and it is so close to everything, our room was huge and the beds were so comfy would deffinitly stay again.X
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at!!!!

Posted Feb 4, 2018
My fiancee and I stayed at this hotel in Manchester last night. I have travelled all over the world and have to say it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! I have listed most but not all of the issues below ;- When I booked the hotel I was advised by the hotel staff to park at a car park 'a few minutes away'. What a joke it certainly was not 'a few minutes away'. The car park was in fact in a back street which was unlit and completely not safe. After walking around trying to find the hotel and asking a local some directions was advised that it was not a sensible place to be leaving our car. We then decided to move it to the NCP car park close by and paid £24 to park overnight! The room itself was fifthly, cracks in the walls, some of the lights didn't work nor did the TV remote. The walls are paper thin so you can hear people all around clearly talking and other things! If that wasn't enough we were woken up at 1am by some guy staying next door banging and kicking his door trying to get in his room. This went on for 20 minutes until I went out and dealt with it. When I tried speaking to a member of staff about our issues she just pushed a piece of paper with an email in front of me and said 'you need to speak to them if you are not happy' Shockingly bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Business Trip

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: location, and value for money
Cons: updating of carpets in room or at worst good clean
Location: China Town 2 minute walk. Plenty of pubs and eateries within walking distance.
Chosen for it's central position within Manchester. A very grand looking hotel on entrance. Good quick check in and non-smoking twin room on 5th floor as requested. Room and ensuite fine although carpet stained and TV a little small. Did not have breakfast so unable to comment. Pleasant bar downstairs offering normal range of offerings reasonably priced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Hyperthermia

Posted Feb 2, 2018
This is my 2nd visit to Britannia hotel. I came again as the location wasn’t too far from either Piccadilly or Victoria station and I only needed a few hours of shut eye to carry on home early next day. Well, apart from the creepy portrait of what can only be described at The Women in Black. I covered it with my jacket, which was a mammoth task in its self. After that I thought about relaxing and going to bed, although it thought like my final resting place, I felt a shudder of cold race through me. This continued, so I got up and searched the room a thermostat, I did find one. But it did not change the heating, it a display thermostat. Not connected to any of the utilities, just a novelty. It’s was okay as I’d prepared for any eventuality, I wrapped up with 3 layers of my own clothing and tried to drift away. Woke to large bangings in other rooms I may add. Alas, my plan had failed. So being the detective I am, I boiled the kettle and brought that close by. Only with 100• of boiling water, could I drift into the unknown. You may ask why I didn’t go to the front desk, the entire place is a labyrinth. Corridors straight out of a scooby doo story, but with stench of death straight out of a Agatha Christie novel. I’d not slept in over 19 hours having just come back from London, I wasn’t in the mind frame for a discussion. That being said, I must compliment the front desk staff. Helpful and warm on all occasions! Would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveleys

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Room was clean and the shower was fantastic, bed was okay not maximum comfort