Ratings based on 1,034 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Great hotel, beautiful room. Bit noisy because of roadworks outside but only noticeable in the morning. The nearby Bloom Street and entire gay village area is lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, well-sized room, wonderful staff

Posted Sep 5, 2017
For my one-day stay, I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Not only was the rom well-sized with a comfy bed but hotel staff was more than helpful - I felt welcome from the minute I walked into reception and got great advice on how to best spend the limited time I had in the city. Should I be returning to Manchester, which I hope I will, the Townhouse Hotel is definitely where I would want to stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Go elsewhere!

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We arrived Friday afternoon, checked in, went to our room and it was lovely. Quickly got showered and ready to go out.  Walked back to the hotel, fella grabbed a subway, took it back to the room, I laid on the bed watching a film whilst partner sat up against the headboard eating his subway, he then got up to put his rubbish in the bin, next thing WHACK! The headboard fell off the wall and hit me on the head with some force! My partner checked I was ok then went to the reception to find out what we should do. The fella came up had a look at the headboard and said it looked like it has been pulled off the wall and to grab the stuff we needed for that night a for that night and leave everything else in the room as it was gone midnight.  Took us to a new room just round the corner. The bed was soft but the pillows were like they were made of rocks! The sink plug was constantly down so didn't empty, toilet seat was broken, there was no tea or coffee facilities (only a coffee machine and capsules), The shower had pubes in it and smelt musty and dirty. This morning I was getting dressed when in walked the cleaner?! Luckily I was behind the wall and my partner shouted hello so she ran out saying sorry. Went to other room and it was being cleaned!! We were then told we shouldn't still have a key! Spoke to blessing on reception who wasn't interested what so ever. Didn't ask to make a note of the accident or anything just told us she would pass the details to manager!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with history right in the city centre

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Booked last minute for a weekend visit; admittedly the price was more than I would usually fork out for but...you get what you pay for! Large, clean bedroom and immaculate bathroom. Shout out to the amazing housekeeping team who did a great job and remained smiley and approachable despite being very obviously busy on bank holiday weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel is nice except for a few things our breakfast was not nice at all on the second morning we walked away from it. The room we stayed in over all looked very nice until we sleep in the bed, it was two single beds pushed together one side bring comfortably with the other so hard! This left our sleep very unpleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Lovely hotel really enjoy the stay

Posted Aug 26, 2017
All staff were lovely and helpful, never had a problem, rooms were perfect the Mrs and I had a great time and would 100% come again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derry, NI

Good staff, good room, very noise

Posted Aug 3, 2017
It is a beautiful hotel with nice staff, located centrally. Since it is a listed building there is hardly any sound isolation. Be aware of this if you are a light sleeper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Business trip. Bed, bar and that wad about all. Comfy and suitable for what was required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great location on the fringe of Chinatown. Three pods for the Nespresso machine was a bit stingy in an executive king room and the road noise was loud so the windows could do with an upgrade. Otherwise a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with big rooms and centrally located.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Big room with space to open your suitcase!
Cons: A little more compassion and more staff to help with luggage perhaps?
After walking to the hotel from the Picadilly train station and wheeling our awkward luggage we arrived at the hotel only to find a dozen or so steps to reach the reception desk. The lift wasn't working so I had to lug my luggage and that of my 67-year-old travel companion up to reception. The staff person at reception wasn't very apologetic about the lift not working and there was no one else around to help. Then there were more stairs to negotiate to get to the lift to access the rooms. It wasn't a great way to start our three-day stay.