Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great Staff!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness.
Cons: Mattresses.
Location: Chosen because it was near to relatives, but it is a short drive to Columbus and its attractions.
My first visit to Ohio and I was completely lost! I called the hotel to make sure they held the room and they were so pleasant! Room was very clean and had the necessary amenities. Good TV, refrigerator, microwave. The only thing I would change is mattresses a little firmer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas Visit

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I should not have had to call the front desk about the brawl, there is no way they could not have heard it. Nor should I have had to ask for a refund.
This hotel appears to have been recently renovated, however the ceiling above the tub/shower had water damage and was peeling. The 2nd morning of our stay, my wife and I were awakened by the sound of water pouring into our bathroom. Someone in the room above of was taking a shower and water was literally "pouring through the ceiling into our bathroom. The clerk promptly moved us into another room and was apologetic. However, what caught my attention was her saying "I thought they had that fixed." So this was obviously a known problem and they should not use that room until they are 100% sure that it is fixed. THEN, on Saturday night/ Sunday morning, at 3 am we woke to the sound of a drunken brawl in the hallway. I called the front desk and complained and the ruckus subsided, briefly. At 4 am I called again and said that if they didn't call the police, I was going to. They apologized and finally it settled down, but my wife and could not go back to sleep. If we weren't checking out that day, we would have left the hotel. With the way things are in today's culture, my wife and I were seriously concerned someone might start shooting. I told the front desk clerk that I was not paying for this stay and she said she would see what she could do since we booked through Expedia. We did get a refund for which we are appreciative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overnight

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Just spent one night enroute but the experience was great. It's not to far south of 70 if you're just passing through. The staff was very helpful and the price was excellent. Room was clean, spacious, had everything we needed including mini fridge and microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Springfield, PA

Hotel in Columbus Ohio suburbs

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The location and proximity to stores and restaurants.
The Best Western in Canal Winchester was adequate for a three night stay. It was very well situated for dining and shopping options, also it was on near good roads and highways for travel to and from the city. I could easily see staying here again if need be. Not a lot of amenities, but a decent stay, good breakfast options and nice staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phx

Kind of a dive for $80.

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: It's canal Winchester... nothing around but it was the location we needed for family.
Squeaky floors, awful bathroom, could hear neighbors.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Overnight Stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
After an amazing day hiking at Hocking Hills, this hotel was a bit farther away than others, but was less expensive and well-worth the extra drive. The check-in by the friendly desk attendant was super quick and our second floor room was very clean and very comfortable. The typical hot breakfast was a time and money-saver and it was served by another very friendly staff member. The best thing about the location is that dining and shopping of all types is literally across the street. The only thing preventing 5 stars was that the hot tub was out of order.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms need to have renovations done...for cost of room...shower was encased with plywood, trim on refrigerator area fell off, but after closer look had only been taped on. Door to hallway had about a quarter inch gap on the side at the lower half of the door and being across from the breakfast area picked up on all the noise in the hallway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Close to Cbus and Hocking Hills some noise Did not use pool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you in the future for another stay away from home!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
I did not like that fact that there was no elevator at the hotel. That rooms were not clean. I had to change rooms due to the fact that someone was smoking previously in that room. That linens were not fresh and the sheets were not changed on a daily basis
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review for our property! I apologize that you did not have a wonderful experience while staying with us. We are a non-smoking hotel but unfortunately sometimes guests do not follow policy and smoke in our rooms we then put the room down and ensure that all odors are out of the room. I apologize that the first room you were placed in had an odor in it. Also, our linens are not changed daily for someone staying for more than one night unless requested. Every check out sheets are changed and fresh sheets are given for each new guest. Thanks again for your candid review.