Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great Staff!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness.
Cons: Mattresses.
Location: Chosen because it was near to relatives, but it is a short drive to Columbus and its attractions.
My first visit to Ohio and I was completely lost! I called the hotel to make sure they held the room and they were so pleasant! Room was very clean and had the necessary amenities. Good TV, refrigerator, microwave. The only thing I would change is mattresses a little firmer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas Visit

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I should not have had to call the front desk about the brawl, there is no way they could not have heard it. Nor should I have had to ask for a refund.
This hotel appears to have been recently renovated, however the ceiling above the tub/shower had water damage and was peeling. The 2nd morning of our stay, my wife and I were awakened by the sound of water pouring into our bathroom. Someone in the room above of was taking a shower and water was literally "pouring through the ceiling into our bathroom. The clerk promptly moved us into another room and was apologetic. However, what caught my attention was her saying "I thought they had that fixed." So this was obviously a known problem and they should not use that room until they are 100% sure that it is fixed. THEN, on Saturday night/ Sunday morning, at 3 am we woke to the sound of a drunken brawl in the hallway. I called the front desk and complained and the ruckus subsided, briefly. At 4 am I called again and said that if they didn't call the police, I was going to. They apologized and finally it settled down, but my wife and could not go back to sleep. If we weren't checking out that day, we would have left the hotel. With the way things are in today's culture, my wife and I were seriously concerned someone might start shooting. I told the front desk clerk that I was not paying for this stay and she said she would see what she could do since we booked through Expedia. We did get a refund for which we are appreciative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overnight

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Just spent one night enroute but the experience was great. It's not to far south of 70 if you're just passing through. The staff was very helpful and the price was excellent. Room was clean, spacious, had everything we needed including mini fridge and microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Springfield, PA

Hotel in Columbus Ohio suburbs

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The location and proximity to stores and restaurants.
The Best Western in Canal Winchester was adequate for a three night stay. It was very well situated for dining and shopping options, also it was on near good roads and highways for travel to and from the city. I could easily see staying here again if need be. Not a lot of amenities, but a decent stay, good breakfast options and nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Close to Cbus and Hocking Hills some noise Did not use pool
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

The hotel is nice, good location.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Again, good location. Indoor pool, which is good on the days that it rains, especially if you have kids along.
Cons: THE BEDS!!!!!!! Those things can kill a person. The Food, this really needs to be better.
Location: Location was great, close to the freeway, very close to lots of other places to get food. Even close to the grocery store as well as a Walmart.
The staff was great. Very nice and easy to work with. I had a couple of issues that were resolved very quickly and pleasantly. The location was good for what we were doing while there. The room was clean. However, the beds were like sleeping on concrete. WOW, really it was difficult to get any sleep. I will say this, I have had back surgeries and knee replacements, so I knew it was going to be a stretch to get a lot of sleep. But these beds were not even remotely comfortable. The breakfast left a bit to be desired as well. Don't get the sausage gravy, ever!!! Not good at all. If all you want or need is a bagel and some juice then it is going to work for you. With that said, I am glad there are plenty of other place very close to get something to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review of your stay, Tim. I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay while you were here with us and you did not enjoy your beds! We have pillow-top mattresses and flip them on a regular basis to prevent hard or soft spots in the mattresses. I am happy that you enjoyed our location and staff, we love to provide superb customer service for every guest that comes through our doors. We would love to have you back here anytime you are in the area!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Read above
Check in was slow and unprofessional! Rooms was OK, but not worth the money. Breakfast was OK. Better options are a lower price available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that you did not have a quick and smooth check in. We appreciate all feedback as we try to ensure that our guest experience is superb every time they stay! We would love another chance at making your stay the best that it could be!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

A hotel, that's about it.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: Someone needs to use the rooms like a guest and actually experience the condition.
Location: Eat at Panera bread or get gas. The area is growing a bit but it's about a half hour to Columbus where the closest real activities are.
Parking lot is a roller coaster ride. There's some extreme dips and bumps right in the front that can't be avoided. The staff is nice, but the rooms are a wreck. I found it almost impossible to sleep with a fridge that cycled loudly and rattled constantly and an AC unit that slammed like someone had kicked the room door when it came on then rattled loudly also. The clock was poor also as it had a night light on it that was bright and in my face. I prefer dark and quiet when I'm sleeping so everything but the AC was unplugged. Better, but I was woken every 10 minutes by the AC slamming. Luckily I was there only one night so I could come home and actually sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel and leaving a review about your stay. We thrive on perfecting our service and your review helps us ensure we are providing the best service we possibly can. I apologize that you had so many issues with your room during your stay. We will take care of the issue that you have made us aware of through your review. We would love to have you here again for another chance on providing you superb service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay to visit kids...motel only 5 min away.

Posted May 16, 2016
The motel is close to many restaurants and shopping. The only concern was the fridge did not stay cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I am glad that you enjoyed our location while you were here at our hotel! I apologize that your fridge did not stay cold enough for you we would of loved to take care of the situation while you were here! We hope that you will stay with us while in town to visit your kids again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for us. Dotie was amazing!!!!

Posted May 2, 2016
This hotel was a perfect base for our recent family wedding. The staff were fantastic!!! Dotie was amazing! We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review Sarah! I will pass along the wonderful message to Dottie and we would love to have you again at this hotel!