Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, PA

Hotel in Columbus Ohio suburbs

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The location and proximity to stores and restaurants.
The Best Western in Canal Winchester was adequate for a three night stay. It was very well situated for dining and shopping options, also it was on near good roads and highways for travel to and from the city. I could easily see staying here again if need be. Not a lot of amenities, but a decent stay, good breakfast options and nice staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Close to Cbus and Hocking Hills some noise Did not use pool
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

The hotel is nice, good location.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Again, good location. Indoor pool, which is good on the days that it rains, especially if you have kids along.
Cons: THE BEDS!!!!!!! Those things can kill a person. The Food, this really needs to be better.
Location: Location was great, close to the freeway, very close to lots of other places to get food. Even close to the grocery store as well as a Walmart.
The staff was great. Very nice and easy to work with. I had a couple of issues that were resolved very quickly and pleasantly. The location was good for what we were doing while there. The room was clean. However, the beds were like sleeping on concrete. WOW, really it was difficult to get any sleep. I will say this, I have had back surgeries and knee replacements, so I knew it was going to be a stretch to get a lot of sleep. But these beds were not even remotely comfortable. The breakfast left a bit to be desired as well. Don't get the sausage gravy, ever!!! Not good at all. If all you want or need is a bagel and some juice then it is going to work for you. With that said, I am glad there are plenty of other place very close to get something to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review of your stay, Tim. I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay while you were here with us and you did not enjoy your beds! We have pillow-top mattresses and flip them on a regular basis to prevent hard or soft spots in the mattresses. I am happy that you enjoyed our location and staff, we love to provide superb customer service for every guest that comes through our doors. We would love to have you back here anytime you are in the area!
5 out of 5
by Donnate from Baltimore, MD

Very Great Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay. Rooms were very comfortable and got the peace that I was looking for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review of your stay, Donnate. I appreciate you mentioning that we had comfortable beds along with a quiet night for you! We would love to have you here again when your in town again!
3 out of 5
by Nancy from Canal Winchester

Canal Winchester get-away

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was nice. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. Hot tub same temperature as the pool but overall the stay was very relaxing and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review on our property, Nancy! We hope that we will see you in the future for another stay away from home!
4 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of our property and we would love to have you back to our hotel!
3 out of 5
by Kathryn Joan from Ann Arbor MI

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
the desk clerk was not very friendly and if there was a breakfast room staff person, I didn't see them. I probably wouldn't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that you had an unpleasant experience here at check in. We would love for you to stop in again and give us another opportunity to wow you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Read above
Check in was slow and unprofessional! Rooms was OK, but not worth the money. Breakfast was OK. Better options are a lower price available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that you did not have a quick and smooth check in. We appreciate all feedback as we try to ensure that our guest experience is superb every time they stay! We would love another chance at making your stay the best that it could be!
4 out of 5
by Marc Olivier

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Marc for leaving a review for our property! We appreciate you staying with us and would love to have you back to stay with us again!
1 out of 5
by Amy from Michigan

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was hard. The hotel seemed more fitting as a motel. Was not worth $120 a night. More like $70 to $80 a night value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We apologize that you did not believe you received your moneys worth while staying with us. I would of loved to do anything I could for you while you were here to make your stay that much better. We would love to have you back to provide superb service when you are in the area again!