Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular view, sadly it's obscured by...

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Overall good. We had a handful of concerns: - checked us into what must've been the wrong room, as the "Valley View" we'd booked was not visible anywhere.. certainly not from the terrace, which faced into the grounds and not onto the valley. This room 404 was part of a totally separate Villa building, very strange as we had booked to be in the main Castle section and not 5min walk away over a road. - on querying this at front desk, we were advised to just wait til the morning to check with other staff, as "there are no other rooms available tonight".. on pushing back, and asking to speak to management, we were shown straight to an available room (room 1). Didn't appreciate being fibbed to like that, but at least our insistence resulted in a better room (still only a limited View through trees and only accessible on tiny balcony, but definitely an improvement on 404). - of the 2x pool areas, we only had time to try the one in the Castle. Unfortunately this pool is very crowded, 10-12 people in that small space which in adverts had been shown with just 4 loungers. You are crammed in with lots of other people; sadly there were some loud fellow guests who spent much of the time talking to each other. Not peaceful. There's also a big railing obscuring the view. - head waiter has habit of pulling up a chair to chat during meals. Not appropriate! Could see fellow guests being made to feel very uncomfortable. - there's a billiards room, yay! but cues have no tips and table worn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much improved!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, varied menu for dinner and good value.
Cons: Problem with the air con in our room so quite hot. Technician came but made little difference. Stop the music by the pool!! Very repetitive.
Location: Top of an Umbrian hill with great views and sunsets. Not much locally without driving down the hill.
Fabulous location though away from local amenities. Very relaxing stay. Much has improved since we came 9 years ago. Better maintenance of garden and food improved. Only down side was music piped to poolside. Why do they do this when people have their own music on phones etc? The same tracks were repeated endlessly...very irritating.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Woody Creek, Colorado

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Greatly exceeded my expectations! Staff rolled out the Red Carpet with a smile! The menu each evening was outstanding, with a variety of main courses, and the service was spot on. Dining on the patio was the place to be with late evening views from our hilltop location of the rolling countryside and stunning sunsets, every night . Breakfast was huge every morning. Fresh EVERYTHING! Quiet peaceful days and quiet restful evenings on a very comfortable bed. The beautiful, clean, swimming pool was a bonus! Terrific Hotel Resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Outstanding views across Umbrian countryside are stunning at this very pretty hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and the excursions advised were brilliant. Really enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Childs from West Midlands UK

Great location

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels
Comfortable, relaxing with attentive staff. Breakfast restaurant needs a more efficient and faster toaster and a table tidy on each table for the tea bags. More rustic ( local) bread would be far better than the small tasteless squares offered. Hotel amenities good and the quality of service very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in beautiful countryside

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: This was a small village converted into a hotel. It has a real charm, and the food is very good, evening meal and breakfast.
Cons: Standard room a bit basic, if we stay again we will go for a superior room.
Location: Only used this a one night stay, but the surrounding area is beautiful with a lot of pretty villages.
Nice hotel, standard room a bit basic or rustic. Good restaurant although wine very expensive. We used it a one night stop and it was fine for that.
4 out of 5
by Vadim from Australia

Exceptional location

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel and the surrounds are great with romantic and picturesque views over endless rolling hills and fields. A really nice resort style hotel. There were only 3 problems: Towels were not replaced when the room was made. Internet wi-fi reception in the room was poor. We really like the place and decided to have dinner in the hotel’s restaurant. The terrace with fantastic views, the sunset and great weather couldn’t compensate disappointment about the food choice (only one set menu), size and quality of the meals. Wouldn’t recommend to dine in the hotel. Just walk out of the hotel grounds and in front of the hotel gates you will find a small restaurant which turned to be ONE of THE BEST in Europe! It was a real discovery. From house wine, “home-made” style, delicious and generous size meals, warm atmosphere and service to as great views from the terrace. The hotel and the surrounds are great. Very romantic and picturesque
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels
wonderful time great service amazing views. Will go back in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ItalianisfunIan from Luton

Relax in the Umbrian countryside

Posted Jul 22, 2012
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: Spa
Location: The hotel is set in the Umbrian hillside in a medieval small village - it is delightful
This is a good 4 star hotel set in the wonderful Umbrian countryside with a great view from the pool, the balcony where meals are served and from the majority of rooms. The staff were fabulous and made our 2 weeks very enjoyable. Facilities are good, pool lovely. Food was good. Spa facilities are ok too