Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Robert from Woody Creek, Colorado

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Greatly exceeded my expectations! Staff rolled out the Red Carpet with a smile! The menu each evening was outstanding, with a variety of main courses, and the service was spot on. Dining on the patio was the place to be with late evening views from our hilltop location of the rolling countryside and stunning sunsets, every night . Breakfast was huge every morning. Fresh EVERYTHING! Quiet peaceful days and quiet restful evenings on a very comfortable bed. The beautiful, clean, swimming pool was a bonus! Terrific Hotel Resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Outstanding views across Umbrian countryside are stunning at this very pretty hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and the excursions advised were brilliant. Really enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Childs from West Midlands UK

Great location

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels
Comfortable, relaxing with attentive staff. Breakfast restaurant needs a more efficient and faster toaster and a table tidy on each table for the tea bags. More rustic ( local) bread would be far better than the small tasteless squares offered. Hotel amenities good and the quality of service very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in beautiful countryside

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: This was a small village converted into a hotel. It has a real charm, and the food is very good, evening meal and breakfast.
Cons: Standard room a bit basic, if we stay again we will go for a superior room.
Location: Only used this a one night stay, but the surrounding area is beautiful with a lot of pretty villages.
Nice hotel, standard room a bit basic or rustic. Good restaurant although wine very expensive. We used it a one night stop and it was fine for that.
4 out of 5
by Vadim from Australia

Exceptional location

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel and the surrounds are great with romantic and picturesque views over endless rolling hills and fields. A really nice resort style hotel. There were only 3 problems: Towels were not replaced when the room was made. Internet wi-fi reception in the room was poor. We really like the place and decided to have dinner in the hotel’s restaurant. The terrace with fantastic views, the sunset and great weather couldn’t compensate disappointment about the food choice (only one set menu), size and quality of the meals. Wouldn’t recommend to dine in the hotel. Just walk out of the hotel grounds and in front of the hotel gates you will find a small restaurant which turned to be ONE of THE BEST in Europe! It was a real discovery. From house wine, “home-made” style, delicious and generous size meals, warm atmosphere and service to as great views from the terrace. The hotel and the surrounds are great. Very romantic and picturesque
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels
wonderful time great service amazing views. Will go back in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ItalianisfunIan from Luton

Relax in the Umbrian countryside

Posted Jul 22, 2012
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: Spa
Location: The hotel is set in the Umbrian hillside in a medieval small village - it is delightful
This is a good 4 star hotel set in the wonderful Umbrian countryside with a great view from the pool, the balcony where meals are served and from the majority of rooms. The staff were fabulous and made our 2 weeks very enjoyable. Facilities are good, pool lovely. Food was good. Spa facilities are ok too
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for romantic getaway

Posted Apr 22, 2011 on Hotels
Location is very beautiful but a little isolated. Staff is very attentive and personable. Emanuelle is adorable and very sweet. Hotel was empty when we were there so it probably will be more fun further into the season when more people are there and the pool is being used.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, England

Relais Il Canalicchio

Posted Oct 25, 2009
We cannot fault the hotel location or the quality of the rooms, although the size of our room was smaller than we had expected. However, we were extremely unhappy with the food. Having been told the food was good, we booked on a half board basis. We then discovered the main chef was not working due to the lack of customers, there being only two rooms occupied on the two nights we were there. That meant there was an extremely limited and uninspiring menu on offer when we went into the dining room. This was particularly irritating because we had seen the menu on display outside the dining room earlier. This looked to be very good but was not the one on offer. Breakfast was also very disappointing compared to other places we stayed, as it was limited and the hot drinks machine was out of order. In addition the bread on offer was terrible, with no prospect of toast. As already indicated, the other facilities in the hotel were good and our room comfortable.