Ratings based on 3,314 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Estonia

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Everything was as we expected. Very good and highly recommended
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Cons: Food was terrible. Also not made clear online that gym costs extra - this was the only reason I booked this hotel.
Food was terrible. Also not made clear online that gym costs extra - this was the only reason I booked this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Would go again

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Convenient, clean and hotel staff friendly.
Cons: Room temperature - could not get to a good setting.
Location: Close to stations and easy to get into the city.
Been to hotel a couple of times and experience very good. Room was very hot last time even when temperature setting changed. Had a late checkout, but cleaner wasn't aware and knocked on door when had the "do not disturb" sign on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Terrible hotel in need of a completely revamp

Posted Oct 6, 2017
This place is dirty and smells Staff have no customer service and the housekeeping is terrible
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Awful

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Everything needs a lick of paint or a good clean. Swimming pool was filthy... black finger marks and smudges along the inside of the pool. Someone needs to have a word with housekeeping
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Will be my last time at a Brittania

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Very disappointing and website pictures overstate hotel significantly. Were there for a bisiness trip and booked due to slim availability in Canary Whary. Rooms were extremely dated, wallpaper peeling, towels were shredded or old, lobby sofas were ripped and falling apart. Was clear the ownership has no interest in refreshing the hotel to even basic 2-3 star standards. Next time I would stay out of area to avoid such an experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

very disappointing.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: 1. not much
Cons: 1. please see comments above
Location: 1. did not have time to visit anything
1. room temperature could not be reduced below 23.5C & windows could not be opened to get some fresh air. 2. water temperature (shower & hand basin) was either boiling hot or icy cold 3. the person at the desk in the restaurant (breakfast) was quite rude & dismissive. 4. the chairs in the room looked rather dirty - I had to use a towel to cover it before sitting on it. 5. I don't think I will go back there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Out dated and overpriced and shocking room service

Posted Sep 27, 2017
It was not worth the money. Staff poorly trained and ignorant. Nice exterior but inside out dated poor 80s decor and exceptionally worn facia and furniture. The room service far too expensive and food quality worse than supermarket due date offers. Sandwiches were dried out. Suspect this is due to an inhouse indian restaurant staff trying to do 5 star hotel menus with no experience of the level say Malmaison and Claridges have.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Nice hotel if you like old ladies!

Posted Sep 27, 2017
This is a convenient, gracious old hotel that sadly and badly needs a face-lift and renovation!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Conned into booking a room with no window,

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Who swells a room with no window! Hit with upsell at further cost! That shows their tactic Don't book based on price for this hotel Better to go to nearby Novotel or hilton