Ratings based on 3,280 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

The worst stay I have ever experienced.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
This hotel from beginning to end was a disaster. The customer service did not even exist. I paid for a pass to access the “spa” ... the sauna was covered in mold with broken wooden benches and bugs crawling on the floor, the steam room was out of order, the hot tub was out of order and when I approached 4 different members of staff to get refunded for the passes, I was told to call a number to which I still have yet to be refunded. Room service was disgusting and the food was poor quality. The beds were barely sleepable with springs popping every which way. The window wouldn’t close all the way and it was freezing temperatures outside the whole stay. The entire room was not clean. I have never been so disgusted with a hotel. I do not typically write reviews and am a very simple guy, but I highly discourage anyone considering a stay at this establishment.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room upgrade

Posted Dec 13, 2017
We booked a room without a window. Hotel said they had upgraded our room. The shower had mixer taps it was impossible to control the temperature. The shower would have scorched you!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Cheap, not really cheerful.

Posted Dec 6, 2017
I’ve stayed here a couple of times as a last resort when stuck in London overnight. It’s cheap and walking distance to Canary Wharf which are the two main things to say. If you’re expectations are realistic and all you need is a bed for the night then it’s fine. If you’re expecting much more then pay a bit more. It’s clear the hotel hasn’t had any major money spent on it for a few years. Check in quick, staff all nice, friendly and helpful and there’s a bar and room service. Shower in my room had two settings - freezing and so hot it flays the skin from your back so not the best, however the other couple of times I’ve stayed that’s not been an issue. Summary: you can’t expect more in London at that price. The odd night if all you’re doing is sleeping is fine but not one for a long stay or holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not great

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Room looked old and a little dirty in some places. Furniture needs replacing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Good location

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Only stayed one night and had no problems. Staff were friendly room was clean. Bit old fashioned but would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Very good location and atmosphere

Posted Dec 4, 2017
I never been this hotel before but used to live only 5 min walking distance from it but I experienced something today unforgettable which I called everything is excellent and perfect well done hotel Britannia. thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is about 25 years out of date.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: See above.
Disaster. If you want room service, you are to deposit £50 per night, only on a credit card not a debit card. There is no landline from the hotel rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel and brilliant views.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
I was down visiting family and the hotel was 5 minutes away from the underground. There is also a shopping mall located nearby if you aren't the adventurous type. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Great location for our stay

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Overall a great stay at this hotel,friendly helpful staff,great location.Will be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Tired & too hot in room

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Build a new hotel
Rooms with no window not made clear enough. Tired decor & rooms Too hot in room and unable to turn it down Airless